We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Visit hotel website
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in the heart of historic Durham, United Kingdom, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. Starbucks situated on the ground floor of the hotel serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Paid Wifi
Paid Internet
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wheelchair Access
Conference Facilities
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Public Wifi
Meeting Rooms
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Babysitting
Breakfast Available
Sauna
Show more
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
River View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Family Time in the UK
Hotel deals
Location
Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
172Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
34Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews & more
1,780Reviews
384Photos
27Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 546
  • 658
  • 344
  • 155
  • 77
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Had a lovely weekend in Durham visiting the Cathedral and looking around town,whilst staying at the Marriott.
Staff were helpful, polite but not standoffish. The rooms were clean and comfortable with tea & coffee in the room. They even found earplugs for a friend who couldn’t sl
Read more
Response from DurhamMarriottRoyal, Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your great review of your stay and your valued comments about the service provided by our team. We very much hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards The Management Team
Read more
We stayed the weekend at the durham marriott while visiting our daughter studying at durham uni. We have been here a few times now as the hotel is very centrally located but each time we come the rooms seem to get worse. This time, even having advance booked as a Marriott silver
Read more
Response from DurhamMarriottRoyal, Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that your stay on this occasion was disappointing due to the Christmas party night disco and the condition of your guest room. The hotel is currently undergoing extensive refurbishment to all 150 of our guest bedrooms. This is a phased project which is due for completion early summer 2019. We do hope that you might reconsider your decision to stay with us again once this work has been completed and we look forward to being of service to you again. Regards The Management Team
Read more
Having stayed here on several occasions we had the best room which overlooked the river.
No problems with the room or service but breakfast was as disappointing as ever.
It was not up to a Premier Inn standard
.
Every time we’ve stayed we’ve hoped it would be better and it’s st
Read more
Response from DurhamMarriottRoyal, Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your stay. We are very sorry to read that you were disappointed with the buffet breakfast as on previous visits and we will ensure your comments are shared with our Executive Chef. Alternatively to the buffet breakfast, we offer an a la carte breakfast menu which has individually priced items, cooked to order, and our Starbucks store also has a great range of breakfast items, so this may be a consideration for any future stays. We do hope that you will consider staying with us again on your next visit to Durham and we look forward to improving your experience. Regards The Management Team
Read more
It is a bit tired but still comfortable with the usual high standard of Marriott service. Our room was large and suite style. We had a quiet room not overlooking the street. Breakfast was quite pricey at £16.50 and extra £4 for room service. Good selection of toiletries and tea a
Read more
We recently spent a few nights here and chose this hotel as its location is ideal for exploring Durham. Initially, the booking was a bit of a worry as we booked a couple of rooms but only had one confirmed - after two or three phone calls we established that their computer syste
Read more
Response from DurhamMarriottRoyal, Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read of your discomfort with your room. Unfortunately the Riverside wing of the hotel that currently houses all the hotels standard rooms does not have air conditioning, however we the hotel is currently undergoing extensive refurbishment to all 150 of our guest bedrooms. This is a phased project which is due for completion early summer 2019 and will include air conditioning in all rooms. We do hope that you will have the opportunity to visit again in the near future and look forward to being of service to you soon. Regards The Management Team
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementDurham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Guest room
Photo provided by managementDurham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Guest room
Photo provided by managementDurham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Guest room
Photo provided by managementDurham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Suite
Photo provided by managementDurham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Meeting room
Previous
Hi, Please can you advise if you have any interconnecting rooms available to book?
Thank you for your question. We do have a small number of interconnecting rooms in the Riverside wing of the hotel. Please contact our 'At Your Service' Team on (0191) 3866821 selecting option 1 and they will be pleased to discuss your room requirements. Regards The Management Team
0 votes
Can you provide overnight charging for an electric car in your car park? It only needs to be a 13amp socket close to a parking bay.
Thanks for your question. Whilst we are currently unable to provide electric car parking within the hotel car park, there are two 'Charge Your Car' spaces on the street opposite the hotel (subject to parking bay charges). Regards The Management Team
1 vote
Show all answers
Is there free parking at the Marriott Durham?
Thank you for your question. The hotel has a car park with a limited number of spaces. For any overnight residents there is a charge of £7.00 per vehicle, per night which is payable at Reception. For all other customer / visitors, there is a pay and display facility located in the car park. Alternatively there is street parking outside the hotel on Old Elvet which is charged by the hour during the day and is currently free between the hours of 6pm and 8am.
1 vote
Show all answers
Hello, We are looking at booking a stay here for 3 adults. The Superior room is noted as larger however the deluxe room note that it has two double beds and the Superior Room is noted: Sleeps 3 people Bed choices Double Bed or King Bed. Can anyone tell me if the third adult would have a real bed or is it a sofa bed? There is a note that rollaway/ extra beds are available on request. We are only staying one night, which room is the best option for us? Thank you in advance for any assistance.
Thank you for your question. For 3 adults you have a couple of options: a deluxe double double room with two double beds. If you also wanted an additional rollaway bed in the room this is possible at £15.00, however would compromise the space in the room or a supreme room which would be a double bed plus a sofa bed. For any further queries please contact our 'At Your Service' team on (0191) 386 6821 regards The Management Team
1 vote
Show all answers
Hello We are travelling with our 91 year old Mum who,is fit and healthy but would need disabled facilities . Can you help please Thanks
Thank you for your question. We do have accessible rooms here at the hotel. Please contact our 'At Your Service' team on 0191 3866821 (option 1) to discuss your requirements in more detail. Regards The Management Team
0 votes
Show all answers
Previous
"Room103, on it’s own wasvery quiet."
"Ensure when booking you let them know if you have mobility issues as the rooms can be a bit of a walk away"
"push hard for a suite the hotel is empty"
"If u want river view but Of a walk but much spacious and view is amazing"
"Don't ask the breakfast waitress"
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$89 - US$191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
marriott durhamdurham marriott
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDurham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing