Bowburn Hall

Bowburn Hall

Traveller (286)
Room & Suite (62)
Garlic mushrooms - delicious!
Dining (26)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#9 of 21 hotels in Durham
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Bowburn Hall Hotel is an excellent choice for staying, dining, meetings, conferences, functions, civil marriages and wedding receptions. Extremely popular with local residents and visitors alike, we're conveniently located for Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle, Beamish Museum, Gateshead Metro Centre, Newcastle and so much more. Set in 5 acres of landscaped gardens we offer a personable service, no matter the reason for your visit.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Room service
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
789Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 369
  • 201
  • 114
  • 59
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sophie M wrote a review Sep 2020
Washington, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Tucked away in amongst housing estates is this wonderful hotel set in beautiful garden grounds. The room was immaculately clean, got hours decor and the copper free standing bath was a lovely luxurious touch. From entering the hotel the service was second to none, covid safe sanitising stations and notice boards enforcing the regulations too, we felt very safe. Table service in the cosy conservatory bar was brilliant we always had full glasses and felt very looked after. The food was delicious and perfectly cooked. We really enjoyed our stay and will without a doubt be back. The only negative thing was just due to room positioning, we were room 30 closest to the exit door and because of this we heard the door start opening and closing quite early in the morning with everyone getting up for breakfast. Never the less we will absolutely be back in the future!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tom Pallister, General Manager at Bowburn Hall
Responded Oct 6, 2020
Hi 311sophiew, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback from your stay - I am overjoyed to see that you had a brilliant time and referred to our venue as a hidden gem! Most importantly, I am delighted that you felt safe with us, particularly throughout these turbulent times, and I will make sure your lovely comments are passed back to our staff and kitchen team. I do apologise for the noise you encountered from the door - please be assured this has now been rectified, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future King Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Abihud12 wrote a review Feb 2020
Wokingham, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed over the Christmas holidays whilst visiting family in the nearby area.
We were on the top floor in a very small room. Heating was unbearable so you will need to open a window. The walk in shower was not powerful and we never felt clean. You will also need extra bath mats to keep the floor dry.
On Christmas morning there is no licence to serve alcohol so you won’t be able to have a nice glass of champagne to celebrate. (This is a tradition for myself and my partner so we were very disappointed).
You won’t find an iron or board in the rooms so after travelling we had to roll around in creased clothes.
After receiving money gifts on Christmas Day we had no where to hold it safely as there was no safe in the room. This also made us feel uncomfortable leaving electronics.
The waitress serving breakfast Christmas morning and Boxing Day deserves a medal. Atmosphere was weird and not welcoming in the bar. There were no bar stalls so didn’t look at all like the pictures.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ebony C wrote a review Aug 2020
Castleford, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed over for the night on the stay and dine deal and it was brilliant. We were greeted by a friendly member of staff who also waited on us at dinner and breakfast (i wish i could remember his name as his service was excellent). Our room was very quirky, clean and cosy at the same time.
The grounds are maintained to an great standard with a great park for anyone visiting with children (secure too), beautiful flowers everywhere, ample parking and very relaxing overall. The food was absolutely delicious and felt like we waited no time at all for it to come out to our table.
We decided to visit here to view as a potential wedding venue and so glad we did. We spoke with Tom, the general manager, about booking our wedding here and he was so helpful and informative.
We wouldn't hesitate recommending Bowburn Hall for an overnight stay, it was lovely. We will be returning and hopefully bringing family members to enjoy the stay too next time.
Thank you to all the staff for their attentiveness, especially Tom and the gent who checked us in etc.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tom Pallister, General Manager at Bowburn Hall
Responded Aug 29, 2020
Hi Ebony, We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the homely vibe that we strive to create in the hotel. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest standard of quality food we can, so the chef will be overjoyed at your feedback. I remember speaking with you the next morning and its wonderful to know that it won't be the last time we speak! I will ensure that the service we have provided thus-far will be maintained throughout your journey with us. Thanks, Tom.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JB_Author wrote a review Aug 2020
Preston, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 2 nights with my girlfriend. The hotel itself is very beautiful looking. The room we stayed in had amazing decoration and features. However, when you look beyond that is when the cracks appear.
The water pressure in the room was rubbish. The beautiful waterfall shower was useless with a lack of full pressure and the free standing bath in the room took over 30 minutes to fill.
After our first nights stay, we went down for breakfast and placed our order with friendly staff. We waited for over an hour to get our breakfast and we were the only ones left in the dining room when the waiting staff realised that we hadn’t eaten. The waitress was very apologetic and we were provided with a breakfast once they had realised their error. However, this delay took its toll on our plans for day trip with the amount of time we had to wait. We were asked ‘Why didn’t we say anything?’ We had heard another table receive their food with the comment of ‘sorry for the delay’ upon hearing this we assumed that there was a backlog in the kitchen and didn’t want to add any unnecessary pressure to staff. Little did we know that our order had been ‘lost’.
The next comment comes as we entered the bar area for a drink in the early evening, I was holding a glass of wine in my hand and was reaching for my back pocket containing my face-mask as I stepped into the bar. All of a sudden, a barman/part time security guard (or thought himself so) threw his arms open wide in an attempt to physically block my way And stood in front of me and told me that I could not enter the room until I had my face-mask on. This was not done discreetly and in my opinion respectfully. This was done whilst other customers were in the bar and in my opinion was an attempt to show me up for something that is a very new thing in hotels and quite a simple error had I not been already trying to rectify it before I was being ushered back out of the bar until I had it on, especially as I was reaching to grab my mask to wear. Although, there appeared to be one rule for one the customers and one for the staff as on a number of occasions I had walked past a reception staff member not wearing a face mask AND upon my return last night after an evening in Durham, the same gentleman who refused to let me past him in the bar was stood behind reception talking to another member of staff without his own face-mask on? Hardly the best example to set when he was so willing to make an example out of me.

The stay was by no means ruined. However, do not be fooled by the lavish exterior and interior decoration and features.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
millysent wrote a review Aug 2020
SOUTH YORKSHIRE ENGLAND
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here a few times, rooms have been refurbished, however shower was a joke, all lovey and new but only a drizzle of water not enough to even wash the shampoo from my hair. Then to dry my hair, no over desk mirror or full length mirror only one in bathroom with no plug to do my hair. No phones in room so had to walk to reception to ask for batteries for remote. Food was poor, during the Covid times we were told to sit anywhere and then had to go to bar on three occasions for drinks and food. Will not stay again, looks beautiful from outside but staff and inside let it down.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a larger room, the one we stayed in was quite tight.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shona Tong wrote a review Aug 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed last night for a birthday treat and was disappointed with the room as it was tiny, I felt very claustrophobic and actually woke up through the night in a panic, so didn't sleep well at all. You couldn't swing a cat in the bathroom,the shower wasn't fixed to the wall properly and the water came out very slowly which made it difficult to wash. Drinks and food were expensive and the breakfast was on par with weatherspoons except it was double the price. I doubt I would return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tom Pallister, General Manager at Bowburn Hall
Responded Oct 6, 2020
Hi ShonaTong1 Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay. I am deeply saddened to hear that you didn't enjoy the room you had been booked into - if these issues had been brought to our attention we would have certainly tried to have find a different room more suitable to your requirements. I would like to assure you that these maintenance issues you mentioned have been rectified. I am shocked to hear that you were disappointed with the breakfasts and that you felt this was on par with 'Weatherspoons' as all of our produce is fresh, locally sourced, and cooked to order on the day and normally receives brilliant feedback. We will take your comments on board. Kind Regards, Tom Pallister
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jackie L wrote a review Sep 2020
Warrington, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
stayed 5th and 6th Sept. Felt very safe as Covid rules were being strictly followed. The hotel although looked a bit tired in places was very relaxing. It had a lovely atmosphere. The staff were great, very attentive. A special mention to Caroleen who worked like a trouper all weekend and Lucy was very professional.
The food was excellent on the Saturday night. We chose the special board. Sea bass and prawns and mussels with lobster bisque and followed by cheese and biscuits. Plenty of choice and cooked well. Sunday wasn't so successful. Chose the steak and wine for 2. Unfortunately the steak was overcooked and I don't believe yhe young waiter passed on my comments to the chef because a professional person would have done something about it, and sadly the wine was like vinegar, not even a glass was drunk, but no offer of a refund on the wine was offered. The male manager on duty this night did very little to apologise for both thexsteak or the wine. Whether this was due to being quite young, I don't know. For that reason there was no tip for the staff
Breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice, again cooked to perfection.
Will definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tom Pallister, General Manager at Bowburn Hall
Responded Oct 6, 2020
Hi Jackie Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your stay. I am delighted to see that you found our hotel had a lovely atmosphere and you found the staff to be great. I will make sure to pass your lovely comments back to Lucy and Karlene also. I'm pleased that you enjoyed the food on the Saturday night, along with the breakfasts, and please be assured I will be looking into the issues that you encountered on the Sunday to make sure these situations are resolved accordingly. That's great to hear that this has not put you off from visiting again, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Tom Pallister - General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rach wrote a review Aug 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I visited Bowburn for the first time last month. We were politely greeted by the manager Tom who provided us with all of the information we needed for our stay. My boyfriend requested a bottle of Prosecco for the room as it was our anniversary and it was left in an iced bucket by our gorgeous free standing bath. We had a fabulous meal, all staff were extremely accommodating. At one point people in the beer garden were really noisy and singing at the top of their voices and Tom dealt with it immediately. We were only meant to stay one night and loved it so much we ended up booking in another night the next day. We both felt really relaxed and chilled, and couldn’t have faulted the staff one bit. We will definitely be going again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tom Pallister, General Manager at Bowburn Hall
Responded Aug 29, 2020
Hi Rachel, We are delighted to hear that your stay was so enjoyable that you extended your stay with us. We try our hardest to accommodate as many requests that will enhance your experience with us, so your recognition of this and subsequent feedback is very valuable to us. We always aim to create a relaxed and chilled out environment that is enjoyable for all and the staff will enjoy hearing that their work has not gone unnoticed. We can't wait to have you back with us again! Thanks, Tom.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Juedrop70 wrote a review Oct 2020
Stanhope, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved the fact the hotel offers a Sunday lunch service until 8 pm and although the lunch was delicious we were let down on the experience. We entered the building and stood a long time waiting to be greeted, despite having a reservation and pressing their buzzer. The young waiter eventually greeted us and asked where we would like to be seated, there was a thermometer in the doorway and we took our own temperature, but he did not check this. We said we had a reservation, but he did not take our name or any track and trace information. It was our first visit to the hotel so we chose a seat in the conservatory which overlooked the garden, right alongside double fire doors which was a huge mistake. He asked what drinks we would like and we asked if there was a menu to choose from as both myself and daughter fancied a cocktail. He replied we don’t do cocktails and it was up to us what meats we would like on our Sunday lunch as the menu was on the wall. We settled for soft ‘run of the mill’ drinks as we had no idea what was on offer and a red wine. I asked what reds were on offer and he said the house red tasted a bit like riocha! We asked what meats were available and eventually settled on our choice. Service of the lunch was quick and the vegetables were so very tasty, a delicious choice and the quality was super . The big problem for us was a large group sat on the raised area who had 4 children and were just letting them run riot. There were 3 other tables occupied near us who all eventually gave up and left as they were nearing the end of their meal. The children were running in and out of the garden using the double doors directly behind us, blowing out candles on all the other tables and being noisy and almost ‘wild’. I know children have to be children but in these times when we are supposed to restrict movement it is extremely unnerving when they are allowed to run around touching surfaces, opening doors on a cold day and shouting loudly. At one point I actually asked one of the children to please use another door as it wad really annoying whilst we were trying to enjoy our late lunch. The children were aged around 6-10 and it destroyed the whole experience. At one point one of the children covered his face in wax and had to go to try wash it off, but despite this his family completely ignored him. On exit the temperature gauge had been pushed to the ground and the children kept running between the garden doors and around to the entrance to the hotel and back in again. On the whole a really disappointing and scary experience in these strange times when adults have to restrict movement and wear masks, when not seated. These children were just left to run amok. Such a shame as the food was very good, but the whole experience left us rushing our meal to leave as quickly as possible
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mtd82 wrote a review Jul 2022
Stockport, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a 1 night stay as we're were attending a funeral in Durham the next day. On booking I specifically asked for a first floor room as I have mobility and cardiac problems
This was agreed and we booked on this offer and agreement
On arrival I was concerned to find the first floor room had been given to someone else, even though I had notified them of our time of arrival,and we had been given a very small,hot and humid second floor room up a narrow staircase
The small window had obviously been closed all day (30 degrees) and was overpoweringly oppressive. The room was very small and cramped
There was no mirror on the dressing table so I had to dry my hair without being able to see what I was doing. There were no glasses for water in the room
I thought we could cool off by having a shower. More concerns, as due to inadequate pressure? Only a trickle of water could be obtained
I requested a fan at least. as the humid air in the room was affecting my health
Although the young man on duty tried to find a fan, apparently none were available
I had no option other than to try to maintain my health in this atmosphere or sit in the car
This room. was £110 a night which should warrant a better service than this
The bathroom was very small, shower pressure useless and flush on toilet broken
I reported all this to the manager before leaving in the morning ,(after being told nothing could be done the night before)
The breakfast was good but the room was not truthfully represented
A refund was begrudgingly given
Avoid at all costs
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
666StevenR666 asked a question Dec 2018
Morpeth, United Kingdom14 contributions19 helpful votes
Does the hotel have any gym facilities?
Answer from ann t
Durham, United Kingdom33 contributions7 helpful votes
Hi, no it doesn’t which is a real shame.
Tracy C wrote a tip May 2024
Durham, United Kingdom356 contributions78 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check with hotel offer is on."
Read full review
ColinR1664 wrote a tip May 2024
South Shields, United Kingdom18 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The perfect wedding venue. "
Read full review
mooo c wrote a tip Jan 2024
teesside41 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try something off the specials board-the food is great. "
Read full review
Patricia C wrote a tip Dec 2023
Sunderland, United Kingdom39 contributions85 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"No good if you have mobility problems as twin rooms are top floor no lift "
Read full review
robwright2015 wrote a tip Dec 2023
County Durham, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Really lovely hotel and food very nice and staff are first class"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Durham area.
PRICE RANGE
C$112 - C$155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bowburn hall durham
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCounty DurhamDurham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Bowburn Hall - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Bowburn Hall
Which popular attractions are close to Bowburn Hall?
Nearby attractions include Escape Rooms Durham (5.2 km), Durham Climbing Centre (6.3 km), and Durham Cathedral (5.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bowburn Hall?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Bowburn Hall?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Bowburn Hall?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bowburn Hall?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rio Brazilian Steakhouse - Durham, Coarse, and The Neighbourhood.
Does Bowburn Hall offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Bowburn Hall?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Durham Cathedral (5.0 km), Crook Hall & Gardens (5.7 km), and Durham Castle (5.3 km).
Is Bowburn Hall accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Durham HotelsDurham Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DurhamHotels near Bowburn Hall
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars