We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Durham

Show Prices
#6 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge Durham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

457 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 454: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge Durham
 Click to rate
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

stayed here with a party of 6 for a weekend out in Durham. easy free parking near the room, good security nice clean tidy rooms with tv and plenty of electric points. would have been better to find out that hairdryers could be borrowed from reception before getting out of the shower to find there wasnt one in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Purplebeth
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Arrived at 6pm on thursday 20th to a friendly and efficient check in to our 3 rooms, all of which were allocated together. This was much appreciated. First impressions were really good, all of the public areas were clean and smelt lovely - I take this as a good sign that the rooms will be the same. We were not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michaela D
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The location was a bit far from the station and up a hill so it would have been helpful to have been told to get a bus to a stop close to it. The views of the city however made it worth staying in. Though there were four of us to a room, it didn't feel cramped in the room...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 536yl
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

By no means the best location if you are coming into Durham by train or need to be close to city centre. The hotel is located outside the centre next to a roundabout and about 10-15 minutes walk from the city centre and a further 10 minutes to the rail station. However if driving, the hotel is easily accessible and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philstephenrichards
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Pull out bed was like concrete, resulted in aches and pains the next day. Worst sleep ever. Location pretty reasonable, good parking, room clean and it was the usual travel lodge experience nothing exceptional

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Durham, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review. We're sorry to hear that you found our pull out beds to be uncomfortable. After extensive customer trials and research, these beds were selected as being the best fit for our family rooms and once again we would like to apologise this was not the case on this occasion. Following our recent guests feedback,...

Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly and helpful reception staff. Plenty of parking. Travelodge is well placed and just a short walk from Durham Centre and there is a lovely walk along the river to the centre. Big room and hot shower. Our room was situated in the "annexe" and was really quiet and peaceful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 280fionap
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room a bit like a hen coup and floor boards of room above so creaky a good nights sleep was not possible. Okay for one night. Good location though and plenty of parking. Would use again but would request a room which was not in the rear annex

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme P
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Durham, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We’re sorry to hear that your experience with us was affected by noise. We strive to provide a comfortable night’s sleep for all of our customers, and we sincerely apologise that on this occasion we did not meet our standard level of service. We hope that there will be another occasion to welcome you again...

GLASGOW
Reviewed 1 week ago

we have stayed at this travelodge many times however on this visit we were very disappointed to find a broken unusable shower, horrible strange mark on the bath making it also unusable, broken fixtures within the bathroom itself, dirty / stained tea spoons in the tea cups, dirt and dust around the edges of the carpet which did not look...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NETHERPLACE
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Durham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your feedback to...

Great Yarmouth
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at this establishment and found it very light and airy the room was very big, the one fall back was the bath it was very slippery in fact my wife had a fall. We approach the staff and they didn't have any bath mats but left extra towels to put in the bottom of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stuart E
Lofthouse, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean converted railway station. Great Italian restaurant next door. Steady walk by the riverside to city centre. Friendly staff, great family room, excellent price. Would stay again.Durham beautiful. Great leaving times, perfect for tired children.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikki M

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
1.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.7 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
8.4 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Durham

Address: Station Road Gilesgate, Durham DH1 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Price Range: $69 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Durham 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Durham Hotel Durham
Travel Lodge Durham
Durham Travel Lodge
Durham Travelodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Durham staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
York, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Braintree, United Kingdom
11 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Durham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 210 in the annexe was very quiet”
280fionap, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“get a room near to the reception as the annex is further away, get ground level no lift, difficult with heavy cases on upper level”
NETHERPLACE, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room at the end of a corridor”
Tracynico64, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do not book here if you are unable to walk.”
miketr2016, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the annex. (less noise).”
capothree, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5