Farnley Tower Guesthouse

Farnley Tower Guesthouse

Traveller (181)
View from our room in the morning
Room & Suite (77)
Breakfast buffet
Dining (21)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#4 of 19 B&Bs in Durham
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
On the outskirts of Durham City Centre sits Farnley Tower Guest House, a prominent Victorian mansion renowned for its architecture and history. This elegant manor boasts an impressive 17 en-suite rooms, each individually designed to provide a unique experience. A selection of rooms offer impressive views of Durham Castle, Durham Cathedral, and the surrounding picturesque countryside. A range of single, double and family-friendly rooms are available, providing the perfect home away from home. Farnley Tower also provides a freshly cooked breakfast with your stay, and continental, gluten-free and vegan options are also available. Guests are welcome to bring along their well-behaved dogs, enjoy the complimentary Wi-Fi, and access free on-site parking (subject to availability). An outside patio area reveals stunning views of the city and is a special place to relax after a day exploring the quaint winding cobbled streets and river walks that Durham offers. Enjoy an evening meal with an extensive selection of wines, cocktails and draught beers at the onsite restaurant and bar, Holi and Bhang, specialising in authentic Indian cuisine. Only a short walk to the historic city centre, guests can appreciate the dramatic Durham skyline crowned by the imposing Castle and Cathedral World Heritage Site. Arguably one of the most stunning city panoramas in Europe, this centre of history is now home to Open Treasure, Durham Cathedral’s world-class exhibition experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Paid public parking nearby
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Outdoor furniture
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to VisitEngland.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
City View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

The Avenue, Durham DH1 4DX England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 79 out of 100
79
Newcastle Airport
30.1 km
See all flights
Durham Tees Valley Airport
30.7 km
See all flights
Oval
5 minUnderground
589Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 179
  • 183
  • 120
  • 65
  • 42
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Hawklord_pxr5 wrote a review Aug 2020
Galashiels, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for a couple of nights and have to say the experience was somewhat mixed.

We’d booked the “Shower in the Tower” room and were aware that the shower/toilet was separate from the bedroom. What isn’t clear from the description is that it’s along a little landing which also leads to 3 other rooms so, although we were the only ones with access to it, it was still pretty awkward. The room itself and shower room were both really nicely decorated but the bedroom is very small with sloping ceilings and no real view from the skylight.

Also, there were none of the promised toiletries (only shampoo) in shower room. We had to ask and the young lady from reception supplied us with some little bars of soap. When we asked if there was any shower gel she went and rummaged about and told us there was none and there must have been a mix-up with housekeeping. Just buy some then, surely? Only one hand towel too and no face cloths.

Breakfast was arranged with social distancing in mind, which was fine. The choice of cooked breakfast was good but there were no clues as to what else might be available. Had to ask for a (tiny) glass of orange juice and coffee. Also had to ask if anything like cereal was available. Same young lady (who was pretty much the only member of staff we saw in two days) got me some granola. Surely, just say what’s available when guests are seated?

We did like the building, which is pretty quirky, and the location suited us well - 10 minute walk to city centre.

One other concern is that the front door appears to be unlocked all night with no staff on site.

There’s an Indian restaurant underneath the guest house which we also tried and I have reviewed separately.

So, lots to improve on but really these simple things shouldn’t happen at all.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie E wrote a review Aug 2020
Dartford, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Farnley Tower Guesthouse for two nights to enable us to visit Durham. It was very easy to find and we were happy to find plenty of parking on site. The building is impressive and we were pleased with our large, clean room located on the ground floor, overlooking the attractive garden. The real bonus is being able to walk into the centre of Durham within 20 minutes (less for super fast walkers). It is set on a hill so walking into the city would not be suitable for those with fitness or mobility issues. The hotel was very quiet at night.
We also ate in the Indian restaurant which is part of the Guesthouse. We were very impressed and had a lovely meal. Social distancing was adhered to and most guests ate outside. It was lovely not to have to leave the premises to travel into Durham on our first night.
The breakfast was also great. The owner of the property/restaurant was very welcoming and friendly.
My only negative would be that the receptionist on duty when we arrived (and who also served in the restaurant) seemed quite glum and disinterested.
That aside, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms available on ground floor to avoid stairs; rooms at the top have an extensive view of the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynn wrote a review Oct 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived to have to wait ten minutes at reception as bell at reception wasn’t working and continued not to work throughout visit.

Room was tired and we were given two hand towels and then smaller hand towels as towel set for both guests. Room wasn’t made up for second night.

Beds not that comfortable. Have stayed in better three star accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
keith b wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I travel a lot and always try to stay somewhere other than the usual big brands, just to mix it up a bit. Met at reception by a very helpful man whom offered to help with my bags etc , the room was in very good order with a modern bathroom and very cosy and clean. Parking is provided which is great as Durham can be tricky with parking, 10 to 15 minute easy walk to town centre. I stayed in The Avenue room and had one of the best nights sleep I’ve had in sometime, I was greeted on arriving in the breakfast room once again very clean offered coffee and a selection of cereals etc but went for the eggs Benedict the coffee arrived straight away and breakfast around 10 minutes. Overall a very good experience and good value for money thank you
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve H wrote a review Sep 2020
Barry, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at Farnley Towers was unique in my experience and bore a startling resemblance to the more famous Torquay establishment Fawlty Towers.

We were greeted at reception by a very pleasant young lady who’s name I didn’t catch so for the purpose of this review we will call Polly.

Polly showed us to our room and after she left left my wife discovered that the hot water tap in the bathroom sink didn’t work, and I don’t mean that the water was cold but that there was no water of any temperature. The cold tap worked just fine and we are grateful for that.

I returned to reception and informed Polly of our problem – she came, she turned the tap but still not a drop gushed forth from the defective spigot. Polly told us that the tap was temperamental but there was nothing she could do as no other room was available, but she would inform the manager - Jaimie/Basil of our predicament.

She called sometime later and asked if the tap was now working, we tried but nothing came, she again said she would inform Jaimie/Basil but sadly no sight nor sound was heard from Jamie and following breakfast there was no life at reception so we left safe in the knowledge that that this defective establishment will be able to secure payment via Booking.com we set off on the final 320 mile leg of our journey home.

Jamie phoned while we were on the road but instead of the apology I was expecting he preceded to inform us that he went to the room after our departure and the tap worked perfectly well, all we had to do was turn it until it stopped and them turn it some more and water flowed. He cast doubt on our ability to operate a tap and offered no apology but not wishing to waste any more of my time on listening to this clown I simply advised him that I would just leave a review based on the reality of our stay at which he suggested I was threatening a poor review if he did not give a discount on the price, that the tap was working when he tried it and he didn’t appreciate threats of a poor review.

Now as luck would have it Jamie claimed that when he tried to process payment my card was declined. Not sure why that was, my card was working fine the day before and I have checked since and there are more than enough funds to cover the payment so all I can think is that Jaimie was incapable of operating the payment machine – perhaps he didn’t turn it far enough. Cheque will be in the post.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roopal Naik, Owner at Farnley Tower Guesthouse
Responded Oct 1, 2020
Hi Steve, Thanks for your review. I do apologise for the tap being temper mental and that this didn't work for you. I did speak to "Polly" about your tap and the last thing I heard after advising is that she would ask you if this was okay for the night and for you to speak to me directly the next day, I didn't get a response from this so presumed this was going ahead as you had mentioned to her about taking money off your bill for the fault. This is something that "Polly" can't approve and I would have to deal with. I did ring you as there was an issue with your payment, during our phone call I did also mention this could be card details that have accidentally been entered wrong which does happen and nobody is at fault - it's just one of those things. Immediately you mentioned the faulty tap and yes I did explain that I had checked it and it did work for me when I went in the room, I also did explain all I could do was apologise as this was a recent issue that we had just been made aware of - at which your response was "well I will just have to leave this in the review". I did say this was fine and you went silent and I asked what exactly did you want me to do apart from apologise and again you explained "well I'll just have to leave a review". Yes I did say it felt like a threat of a bad review unless I did something except apologise in which you agreed and said "you should do something for us out of generosity, but it's not about the money". So the fact you had already mentioned to "Polly" about discount on your bill and rather than just openly asking me and accepting my apology you did in fact try to back me into a corner and threaten me with a negative review to get this. I also see you marked our cleanliness as a 1 star - considering if it was this bad - nothing was mentioned. I would love to know what these issues were and don't worry I will be sure to have words with "Manuel" about this and make sure it won't happen again! Also thank you for the "Fawlty Towers" comparison, very unique and it was a very popular programme. All the best, JAMIE
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
UKUK-Traveller wrote a review Sep 2020
Nottingham, UK
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is so not a four star.......

Please read the poor reviews they are not lying everything mentioned is the truth

The room was very substandard
The bed was incredibly soft, quilt & bedding was very cheap... the bathroom needed some TLC, the door lock didn’t work & could only be pushed creating a vacuum which pulled off the bath panel.

Breakfast was very basic, staff rushed off their feet

Guesthouse ran by Amelia only & she was gone by 6pm every night! Not the most likeable person.

Location although at the top of a steep hill didn’t bother us but please if you are considering staying here DON’T there are plenty other hotels in Durham
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roopal Naik, Owner at Farnley Tower Guesthouse
Responded Sep 11, 2020
Hi, Thank you for your review as we take these just as serious as the positive reviews we get as this gives us chance to improve ourselves as a business. I do encourage others to read all the reviews they see before them, however we do have more than just poor reviews and it's a bit unfair for you to encourage people to read the negative before making a decision on staying with us. I do apologise that your personal preference on mattresses means you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Requests can be made for a firm mattress when you book your reservation and this is maybe something you should look at doing in future as our memory foam mattresses aren't to your taste. Again as for the quilt and bedding being "very cheap" I'm not really sure how you can make this judgement? We do use a professional company to order in all our bed linen so I will pass on your comments to them, again I do apologise if you felt this way. I have looked at the bathroom door and since I have had this issue sorted as it seems that the issue was the handle not bringing the latch fully in to open the door. As for breakfast being basic, again apart from the issue of our bread not being sourdough - again something which is personal preference and down to the company to decide, there was no complaint for breakfast so please feel free to give us some more information on what was wrong with our breakfast menu. I think you may want to check with the booking.com review that was also left by your party as your comment on my staff is quite different. If anything complimenting Emilia on doing her best to run the hotel in the absence of myself whereas you now say she isn't "likeable" - maybe compare your reviews and give a final decision on making comments on my staff? I see how you are encouraging the public not to stay at our guesthouse because everything at our guesthouse seems to be negative and nothing was positive. I think you should look at things such as our Covid policy to protect you,other guests and our staff and maybe mention positives like this whilst reviewing us. Everything negative is due to your personal preference, however I recently had a review from a guest which was very honest - even mentioning the mix of reviews and thought I should share this review with yourself. "I was a little worried reading other reviews but I didn’t need to be. Greeted efficiently on arrival. Room was clean, decor maybe not to everyone’s taste but didn’t affect our stay! Bathroom was obviously new, with shower gel, soap and body lotion provided. Breakfast was excellent. All measures taken in the current Covid climate. All I can presume from the bad reviews is that people were expecting champagne standards for lemonade money. Great value for the cost" I can only apologise for the fact you didn't enjoy your stay with us and not everything was to your taste or standard but I do suggest you think about the things you say and promote about businesses as these types of comments can severely damage a business name and reputation. I hope to see you giving us another try in the future. Best Regards, Jamie Briggs General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phil2828 wrote a review Nov 2022
Sardinia, Italy
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment we arrived Hotel was warm, friendly and inviting, Anna and her team were all happy friendly and helpful. Breakfast was table service with a large selection of both cold and cooked which was of good quality and plentiful, nothing was to much effort.
We had a room on the top floor “The Avenue “, it was in the room space but was well designed, I’m over 6 foot but it wasn’t a problem, room was clean and warm with good shower, as well as usual tea and coffee makings there was a small fridge and microwave with plates and cutlery.
There is an Indian restaurant attached to the hotel, eat there twice, good selection which was freshly cooked and of excellent quality and price.
Highly recommend and certainly will stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Free parking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roopal Naik, Owner at Farnley Tower Guesthouse
Responded Nov 25, 2022
Hi Phil Thankyou for taking the time to leave us such wonderful feedback from your stay here at Farnley we are very happy you had a great stay here in Durham, i will pass on your kind comments to the team it will be very much appreciated and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards Anna Manger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
louisewilson2612 wrote a review Feb 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
More like Fawlty Towers. First of all when I booked the room in November I was quoted £89. I was charged £105. When I spoke to the manager he said he would give us a discounted room next time we stayed. Well that won't be happening. I was told our dog wasn't allowed in onsite Indian restaurant then discovered he wasn't allowed in the bar or the breakfast room either. Dog-friendly I think not. The weather was horrendous the night we stayed so we literally sat in our room all night. Then had no breakfast in the morning as we were told to take dog back to the room. Believe me the room would have been in a sorry state if we left our sausage dog there whilst we ate our breakfast. I am utterly disgusted nobody gives a toss.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DianaM wrote a review Feb 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed 2 nights ago as part of an anniversary weekend away. I chose this hotel because it offered free parking, and breakfast was included in the price.

We were in room 5 which was clean and comfortable but in need of some updating.

We both enjoyed the full English breakfast. It was busy in the dining room and service a bit slow but we were not in a rush and didn’t mind at all. The glasses provided for the water and juice were tiny meaning many trips if you wake up thirsty like we did!

The location was good and another reason we chose it was that it is a short walk into town. The walk back up the hill after the pub got the heart pumping and is not for those with mobility problems - that said there were plenty of taxis in town.

Didn’t eat at the Indian restaurant so can’t comment on that.

I would return to this hotel and thought it was good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sam C wrote a review Aug 2020
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The building itself is nice but the management and housekeeping are pretty shocking by any hotel standards let alone 4*. The room looked quaint upon entering but the window latch was busted so the room didn't feel secure. We stayed three nights but could never fully relax; dirty mugs were not replaced, the bed was extremely soft and we returned after a rainy day to find our wet towels still in the bath. When we called up to ask for new ones - the manager was not concerned and hung up the phone while being asked a question. New towels arrived after 45 minutes. It was a rushed booking, more fool me. If you look at recent reviews you'll see we're not alone in our experience of this b&b. Expensive for what you get.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jenecomprendspas wrote a tip Jun 2024
Peterborough, United Kingdom6 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is available which is a huge plus."
Read full review
Ian1416 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom56 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free parking , on a hill so a bit of a trek into town . If you want to eat Indian the on site restaurant is nice but you should book before"
Read full review
Emma W wrote a tip Jan 2024
17 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are staying on a celebration night like new years eve pre book a taxi "
Read full review
staylor1415 wrote a tip Dec 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book at the Indian restaurant downstairs!"
Read full review
bug20142016 wrote a tip Nov 2023
Merseyside, United Kingdom46 contributions59 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel is an uphill climb if walking "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Durham area.
PRICE RANGE
C$226 - C$270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
farnley tower hotel durham, farnley hotel durham
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCounty DurhamDurham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Farnley Tower Guesthouse - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Farnley Tower Guesthouse
Which popular attractions are close to Farnley Tower Guesthouse?
Nearby attractions include Escape Rooms Durham (1.0 km), Durham Cathedral (0.9 km), and Oriental Museum (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Farnley Tower Guesthouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Farnley Tower Guesthouse?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a view of a nearby landmark.
What food & drink options are available at Farnley Tower Guesthouse?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Farnley Tower Guesthouse?
Yes, free parking, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Farnley Tower Guesthouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rio Brazilian Steakhouse - Durham, Coarse, and Turtle Bay Durham.
Are pets allowed at Farnley Tower Guesthouse?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Farnley Tower Guesthouse?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Durham Cathedral (0.9 km), Crook Hall & Gardens (1.4 km), and Durham Castle (0.9 km).
Does Farnley Tower Guesthouse have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Farnley Tower Guesthouse accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Durham HotelsDurham Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DurhamHotels near Farnley Tower Guesthouse
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars