We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Barclay Guest Houses

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Barclay Guest Houses
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 53: English reviews
Burton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Really sorry that I can only say adequate. Location absolutely brilliant Owners were friendly and helpful and breakfast good - freshly cooked you pre order the night before but only orange juice available. The décor in our room was brownish with poor lighting so quite dull. We stayed 2 nights and while there was plenty of tea milk coffee etc... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RBM65
Barclay20014, Owner at Barclay Guest Houses, responded to this review

Sorry you feel that way We put the spray in all the bathrooms it was NOT left by anther guest. We did not empty bin as it was a little bit in there We make beds if it was unmade No we don't have lifts as its a small bed and breakfast not a hotel More 

Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We stay here 2 years ago for our honeymoon. So we came back with our 14yr son. Another fantastic stay they even gave us the same room. Very clean and always made to feel very welcome . Breakfast it plentyfull and always ask you if theres anything else they can get you. The bed is so comfy. Wood highly recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank lana H
Barclay20014, Owner at Barclay Guest Houses, responded to this review

Thank you More 

Hayes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Have just come back from a really great stay here with Helen and william, lovely clean b & b , nothing was too much for them. Great location Very homely feel about the establishment, will definetly be coming to stay again. Thank you Helen and William

Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and had a lovely relaxing stay. Helen and William were very welcoming. Excellent quality and value breakfast. Even went out of their way to provide me with decaff coffee. Very helpful about information on the local and surrounding area. Plenty to do extremely close to town centre, beach, numerous activities for families. Would definitely stay... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
Barclay20014, Owner at Barclay Guest Houses, responded to this review

Thank you so much More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Bed and Breakfast five-ten minute walk from the train station - easy to find. We arrived early and were not sure if we could check in but we were greeted by Helen and told that our room was ready and we could take out luggage up to the room. The room was spacious and clean with ensuite shower facilities. Complimentary... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan S
Barclay20014, Owner at Barclay Guest Houses, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2016

I stay here with my wife for 2 weeks, we were very surprise because it was the cheapest in the road. But a lovely guest house. Great value for money. very clean house. Plus en-suite free shower gel and shampoo loads of teas and coffee in the room with no frills ( no water bottle or biscuits ) they say... More 

Helpful?
Thank heather t
Barclay20014, Owner at Barclay Guest Houses, responded to this review

Thank you More 

1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed in room 5. Helen and William are fantastic hosts. They are so accommodating. They make you feel like part of the family. Our kids felt so at ease there and our youngest is autistic so things can get stressful but they were so helpful and nothing was to much trouble. Beds were comfy. Great breakfast. Just next to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
Barclay20014, Owner at Barclay Guest Houses, responded to this review

Thank you so much More 

Saltash, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Helen and William are the most friendly and lovely people you could ever meet! They can't do enough for you! Nothing is too much trouble!Really wonderful people. Myself and my boyfriend stayed at The Barclay for 2 nights for our Anniversary weekend. Lovely B&B, perfect location and excellent value for money, Our room was extremely clean, bed was very comfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank JosieAlfie
Barclay20014, Owner at Barclay Guest Houses, responded to this review

Thank you More 

Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

My daughter booked this guest house as it was one of the cheaper ones but to my surprise I would have paid a lot more for this. William and Helen are a lovley couple who made us feel very welcome, making my grandson feel very special. This is somewhere i will certainly be staying in the future, we have already... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan C
Barclay20014, Owner at Barclay Guest Houses, responded to this review

Glad you liked your stay More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

The hotel is run by a fabulous couple very friendly and very welcoming. Nothing was to much trouble. The breakfast was all locally sourced and cooked to order. I was away with my partner and her 2 boys and we all loved our stay and will definitely be back again.

Helpful?
Thank Warren G
helen-william, Owner at Barclay Guest Houses, responded to this review

Thank you so much More 

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.0 km away
The Cherwood
The Cherwood
#8 of 20 in Paignton
175 reviews
0.0 km away
Roslyn Guest House
Roslyn Guest House
#32 of 101 in Paignton
52 reviews
0.0 km away
Garfield Lodge
Garfield Lodge
#56 of 101 in Paignton
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Birklands Guest House
Birklands Guest House
#30 of 101 in Paignton
62 reviews
0.1 km away
Bristol House
Bristol House
#63 of 101 in Paignton
40 reviews
0.0 km away
Seahaven Hotel
Seahaven Hotel
#92 of 101 in Paignton
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Parking is available at local car park for a fee Checking in times are 2.00 Pm till 7.00 Pm no late arrivals please we have a cat in the guest house ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barclay Guest Houses

Address: 28 Garfield Road, Paignton TQ4 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Price Range: $62 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Barclay Guest Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Barclay Guest Houses staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are 3 floors but no lift(not surprising as an old house)”
 of 5 bubbles RBM65, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Great value for money with no frills”
 of 5 bubbles heathert466, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 4, Lovely room and lovely view!”
 of 5 bubbles JosieAlfie, 16 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the front of the building has better views of the street”
  • Room 9 under main window
  • Bathroom shower room 9
  • Bathroom shower room 9
 of 5 bubbles JeanBedfordshire, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Wifi doesn't reach third floor”
 of 5 bubbles Kateewithak, 31 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay