We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Esplanade Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Bay Esplanade Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

468 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay Esplanade Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 468: English reviews
Lincoln UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very friendly staff, clean rooms and hotel. Good entertainment. This hotel must rate highly .Some people want to have 5 star treatment for 2-3 star prices. My wife and I were very satisfied. Would return.

Helpful?
1 Thank charlesdickens2
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear charlesdickens2 Thank you for leaving us a fabulous 5 star review, much appreciated. We are always happy to help wherever possible, and I’m glad this was the case with your wardrobe malfunction! Hope that you visit us again, and give us the opportunity to offer some more of our hospitality. Thank you Kind regards More 

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Didn't stay here but popped in for a drink as the bar and entertainment is open to the public from 8pm. Quiz is entertaining and as simple as it gets, entertainment hit and miss and the drinks a little expensive - however the public area is very tasteful and worthwhile dropping in if its quiet elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank Anthony P
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anthony P Thanks for popping in, non-residents are more than welcome to visit us, and take advantage of our entertainment & bars, as was the case with you. The public lounges, restaurant and entertainment room have all recently been refurbished, glad that you liked it. We do price source with similar venues to stay competitive regarding the drinks prices.... More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Will not stay here again. Downstairs was very nicely done but rooms small and bathrooms very small which we would not have minded if the shower head was not mouldy and unpleasant smell of drains in this room 118 and our friends room 114. The buffet breakfast was ok but having to queue three times for each thing means something... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank susanward1954
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear susanward1954 Thank you for taking the time to comment. We have checked the rooms that you mentioned regarding the unpleasant smell, and we couldn’t detect any odours. We do not have any reports to our maintenance diary regarding any issues. It would have been better to have informed reception immediately, and we could have looked into this for you... More 

Travellers are raving about these Paignton hotels

Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016

This was the sixth time with Shearings ,the hotel is ok until you enter the dinning room, breakfast is nothing short of organized chaos ,queues forming yes, but then tying to get back to your table with a plate full of food was like trying to cross the M1.the toaster is in a stupid place, again you get a build... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank brucebeckley
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear brucebeckley Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review us, and visit Bay hotels on previously on numerous occasions. Sorry to read that your restaurant experience was detrimental to your stay. We do try and stagger the times that guests come into the dining room, but if most guests come in at the same time it can be... More 

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We have just spent 4 nights at the Bay Esplanade Hotel with Shearing's. After reading some of the reviews we were a bit concerned, I must say that the reviews were right regarding the size of the rooms, especially the bathroom there really is no where to put anything not even your soap whilst in the shower, I just tossed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ches007
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ches007 Thank you for a nice review. We never hide the facts that our bathrooms are quite ‘bijou’ here at the Bay Esplanade, this is due to us being a Victorian building, and having the bathrooms added on years later to accommodate changing consumer requirement. Pleased to read that this wasn’t detrimental to your stay. I will pass on... More 

Level Contributor
134 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here when in business trip. this is an tidy and large hotel situated on the promenade. there is a large car park for cars and coaches the staff are very friendly and professional and there is also a bar and a large restaurant. My room was great. A large comfortable bed and large TV and coffee making facility is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andyshee1979
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andyshee1979 Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Glad to read that you were satisfied with what we have to offer here at the Bay Esplanade. We do receive many positive comments regarding our friendly staff, and we appreciate you adding to them. We always show the reviews to our staff, who are very pleased... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The hotel is very good value. It is being refurbished , all of the public areas are refurbished to a high standard. Many of the bedrooms have also been done. The meals are very good and the staff are always friendly and helpful. Good value for money holiday.

Helpful?
Thank june b
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear june b Many thanks for a fabulous review. It is always nice to hear that our guests have enjoyed themselves, we always strive to provide excellent service and good value here at the Bay Esplanade, and I’m pleased your review emphasises this. Certainly hope that you will be back to visit us again soon. Kind regards More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Just arrived back from a four night stay with my husband at this hotel and I was very pleasantly pleased. We stayed in a twin room on the first floor and I can honestly say that the room was really clean and a good size with a good size bathroom with a bath, overhead shower and toilet which was cleaned... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank juditpars
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear juditpars Many thanks for taking the time to review us. It’s always nice to receive a ‘pat on the back’ on Tripadvisor, and receive positive comments, so your review is really appreciated. Sometimes, this site can be used for people to air their grievances, and thanks to reviews like yours, helps give a more balanced view of our hotel.... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We made this booking following an earlier Shearings trip to a Bay hotel. This was not in the same league. The comparison would be between Champions League and Non-League but that would be disrespectful to Non-league. For our stay, we had 1 single and 1 double, both on the second floor. We had requested a bath for the single and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jayandmarts
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jayandmarts Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Disappointed to read that your stay with us didn’t live up to the experience of a previous Bay hotel that you checked into. I will look into the maintenance issue regarding your shower, but we always prefer it if it is reported at reception during your visit... More 

Wales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Having only just returned from yet another Shearings holiday, I think my Wife and I can now safely say that overall standards and perceived value for money are falling with this company. Being a Shearings regular customer for more years than I care to remember, over the years we noticed Shearings have cost cut in many various ways to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Booze C
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Booze C Thank you for taking the time to review us, I hope my reply will help clarify some issues that you have raised. As a company we do often make changes as you mentioned, however we feel that the majority of these are to benefit the customer. We do review all comments whether it be here on Tripadvisor,... More 

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.5 km away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 20 in Paignton
289 reviews
4.0 km away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#33 of 89 in Torquay
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
4.5 km away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#23 of 89 in Torquay
455 reviews
0.5 km away
The Cherwood
The Cherwood
#8 of 20 in Paignton
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Price Range: $98 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Esplanade Hotel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Hednesford, null, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Hednesford, null, United Kingdom
birmingham
3 months ago
Grimsby
4 months ago

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Esplanade Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room with a view.”
 of 5 bubbles johnp5066, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“In the summer I would possibly have gone for a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles NanWatford, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles jeang106, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles charlesdickens2, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room that has been refurbished”
 of 5 bubbles susanward1954, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay