We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Curraghmore Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Curraghmore Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Curraghmore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 51: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

The only thing good about this hotel is its location. It's very close to the Shanklin beach. Otherwise, it was a very disappointing stay for us here. The bathroom had no shower just a tub which was rundown and in need of a good scrub. We stayed 2 nights and our room wasn't cleaned for the entire duration of our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shabana A
211bernard, Owner at Curraghmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shabana Ansari I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. Firstly let me say that you were given the only room we had left due to the fact that you had booked a double room for two with Expedia and turned up with three people so we did our best to accommodate you in another room...

London
Reviewed 23 August 2015

I have stayed at the Curraghmore Hotel many times and would not stay anywhere else on the Isle of Wight. Bernie & Leslie are brilliant hosts and they make sure each guest is treated as an individual and they go out of their way to accommodate their guests. The food was exemplary and the service at meal times was excellent....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DBVICARLADY
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

We came to this hotel for 2 nights over a weekend for a short break and we're made to feel very welcome by the man that run the hotel, very nice friendly man that really made us feel at home and even had a chat here and there as it was our first time to the island, the rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryannnn91
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Just back from an excellent holiday in Shanklin, staying at this splendid and rather idiosyncratic hotel which has great views of the sea and is a five minute walk from the beach. Bernie and Lesley, the hoteliers welcomed us and made us feel very much at home. The family room was large and had everything we needed and if the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon H
Bernard L, Owner at Curraghmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simon & family Thank you for your review ,it was great to hear you had a good time with us. As you say we are not a Premier Inn we are a small seaside hotel which hopes to make our guests feel at home.We understand the children didnt want to leave but as we say to people you have...

Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from a three night stay but wish we could have stayed longer. It may only have a 2* rating but the service is 5*. We had a lovely spacious twin room with sea views and a bench outside the french windows from which to enjoy them in the evening. Our friends family room was equally lovely. Our hosts...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sponjmonki2
Bernard L, Owner at Curraghmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear George Thanks for your review as you say we are only 2 star but do try and make all feel welcome and comfortable . We are in an enviable position overlooking the bay so it is nice to know you could appreciate the view.We feel that if the children are enjoying themselves it makes the parents happy but we...

Reading, Berkshire
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from a weeks stay here. Bernie and Leslie are the perfect hosts always happy and eager to make your stay a good one. Location fantastic, just a few minutes walk to a long dog friendly beach, town centre, railway and bus station. Hotel is only a 2 star which is reflected in the slightly dated ensuites and some...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ladyberkshire
Bernard L, Owner at Curraghmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paula Thanks for your review We are both glad you enjoyed your stay with us.The room you stayed in had just been refurbished and literally finished on the day of your arrival, we were unable to finish the en suite so that just had a coat of paint,the new tiles and shower will be fitted in the winter so...

London
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Well as you can see back again cannot fault food excellent service next to none .Caters for every diet if nothing you fancy on the menu will accommodate you to your liking .dog friendly and child friendly

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Liz C
Bernard L, Owner at Curraghmore Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Liz Thanks for your review it was great to see you and Ted again dont the years disappear quickly it will be lovely to see you next year Regards Lesley & Bernie

Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

It was first time of us in Isle of Wight and was wondering to have something good and where we can relax. Well we came across this hotel and found it was just in front of sea cost and about 10 min walk from shaklin station. Well the staff who own business are very friendly and alow us to check-in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vijay M
Bernard L, Owner at Curraghmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vijay It was great to meet you and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us ,we look forward to seeing you again .

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We were so pleased to find this lovely dog-friendly hotel! Although the decor of the hotel was a little 'tired' the whole was exceptionally clean, which was great given that we weren't the only guests with four-legged family in tow! Bernie & Lesley were SO friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was substantial - always a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Baggysails
Bernard L, Owner at Curraghmore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review It is always great to hear guests have had a good holiday with us at the Curraghmore ,as you say some parts of the hotel are a little dated but as you saw in the main ares we are working to up date all the decor and have completed 15 of the 20 bedrooms the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were looking for a hotel in Shanklin with a good location, and came across this one with great reviews and pictures. However, even though the host was exceptionally friendly and polite, I can only suggest he stops asking friends and family to continue writing these reviews. Because this was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Kaye85
Bernard L, Owner at Curraghmore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are dissapointed that your stay with us was such a poor experience , however may I comment on one or two items, we do not ask friends and family to put reviews on tripadviser and as you can see we have a mixed bag of good, bad and indiferrent , your comment that the...

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
1.0 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.0 km away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
364 reviews
0.5 km away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#33 of 54 in Shanklin
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
406 reviews
0.3 km away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#34 of 54 in Shanklin
441 reviews
1.1 km away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Curraghmore Hotel

Address: 22 Hope Rd., Shanklin P037 6EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Price Range: $113 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Curraghmore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Curraghmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curraghmore Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Curraghmore Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“'Please do not book Curraghmore Hotel, unless you want a holiday from hell'”
 of 5 bubbles hazmarfauz, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles 761kayer, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at front have pleasant sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles 145dee, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Go and stay in the premier inn”
 of 5 bubbles Eskimo99, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“ask for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles cherylo495, 14 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5