We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Kenbury

Certificate of Excellence
16/06/2017 17/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Kenbury
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 126: English reviews
Start your review of The Kenbury
 Click to rate
uk
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We booked this at the last minute after reading the good reviews, Property is in good location close to train station, beach and olde village. Hosts are very pleasant, rooms spotlessly clean and comfortable, has off street parking, breakfast is very very good. Only complaint and it's not about property or hosts is that it is quite an old building...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dooseyUk
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Next time we return to the Island the first place I'll try and book is the Kenbury, but I'll have to be quick or lucky to get a room because B+B's like this deserve to be full all year round. From the minute we walked through the front door to handing back our room key the customer service couldn't be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I didn't visit the Kenbury but was planning to do so. My partner asked me to call and enquire if they do dinner. I called several times on Saturday and emailed on Monday but got no reply. I called this morning 9th of May, a lady answered the phone when I enquired about dinner she answered in a very rude...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annale2013
kenburystaff, Owner at The Kenbury, responded to this review

Dear Annale We were very disappointed to receive this review from you, as we work extremely hard to give all of our guests the best possible customer experience. We are sorry that we didn’t manage to answer your calls on Saturday, we do endeavour to answer all calls but when we are busy this is not always possible. So that...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went to The Isle of Wight for the very first time and on speck. Booked into The Kenbury, how lucky. This B&B is absolutely Superb. Cleanliness is my thing and this sparkled. Best I've ever stayed in. Owners fantastic, room fantastic, breakfast fantastic. We will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
KenburyStaff, Owner at The Kenbury, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, we're glad you were pleased with your choice. We really appreciate you taking the time to write your review, and the very positive comments. Hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very friendly and clean place ideal location for attractions and such. Just a 5 minute walk from shanklin bus station, I'm going again next year we'll worth it. Breakfast was smashing. Complementary tea and coffee in the rooms and Karen the owner very friendly and professional. 5 stars.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richard c
KenburyStaff, Owner at The Kenbury, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, Richard, very good to have the feedback. We do hope that you will return again next year.

Southampton
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Stayed here with my Mum early September, we had the ground floor twin room which was spacious and clean, plenty of storage and nice bathroom. The owner was really friendly, happy to give recommendations of places to eat locally, and information on places to visit and buses (bus stop is literally 2 minute's walk from the B&B, very handy!). You...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen83Southampton
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

4 of us stayed at the The kenbury rooms clean made up each day and breakfast set us up for the day no complains and would recommend to any body looking for a good bed and breakfast and only 5mins from beach shops and restaurants

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trevor52-10
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Fantastic place for a short stay whilst on the Island. I enjoyed every aspect of my stay. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was exceptional with great variety... staff welcoming and friendly. Will recommend to others. Will definitely revisit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carrie G
KenburyStaff, Owner at The Kenbury, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind and positive review, Carrie. We really do appreciate you taking the time to write it and we hope to see you again before too long.

Ilford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Brilliant place to stay, very clean, great service and very welcoming. Karen and Bob were very friendly, the breakfast was fantastic and very accommodating. Can't wait to stay there again. The rooms were well equipped and very clean. Can't fault this place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S4M1R
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

The Kenbury was a very welcoming B & B. Rooms were very clean and restful. Karen and Bob made us very welcome especially our granddaughters aged 5 and 6. The breakfast was lovely and really set us up for the day. Over all if you want a lovely welcoming B & B, stay at The Kenbury. We will be going...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank aw462016

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
16/06/2017 17/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.6 km away
Roseglen Hotel
Roseglen Hotel
#31 of 52 in Shanklin
59 reviews
0.7 km away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 52 in Shanklin
380 reviews
0.6 km away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#33 of 52 in Shanklin
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#11 of 52 in Shanklin
168 reviews
0.6 km away
The Royson GuestHouse
The Royson GuestHouse
#16 of 50 in Shanklin
121 reviews
0.4 km away
Westbury Lodge
Westbury Lodge
#5 of 50 in Shanklin
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in its own attractive grounds, The Kenbury is the ideal choice for those in search of a peaceful break, whilst still having easy access to Shanklin beach, Shanklin town centre and local transport. We are a family run guest house that aims to provide a friendly high quality service to all of our guests. The Kenbury has a small car park and free WIFI, is non-smoking throughout and all rooms are en-suite with digital TV. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kenbury

Address: Clarence Road, Shanklin PO37 7BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Price Range: $102 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kenbury 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Kenbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenbury Shanklin, Isle Of Wight, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Kenbury staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The 2 rooms we had were looking out toward the sea front”
trevor52-10, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Family room was excellent size”
aw462016, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Any room here is good”
AndreaW2425, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great, no complaints at all”
U1565GXdavidl, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“all guests seemed happy with their rooms... so any ....”
E9146LGmartin, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Priceline
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates