We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rylstone Manor Hotel

#15 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
27/06/2017 28/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Rylstone Manor Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 177: English reviews
Start your review of Rylstone Manor Hotel
 Click to rate
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We've returned to Rystone Manor as it really is so relaxing and peaceful. A small hotel with a warm welcome and fabulous food. The rooms are beautiful. It's an old Victorian building which adds to the charm. We love it as each room is decorated differently to such high standards. Nothing is too much trouble for the hosts Carole and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A1Kat
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Best time ever, great food ( best ever ) great atmosphere and excellent owners. The rooms were the best quality I have stayed in. The hotel is set in stunning grounds and is a perfect location. We will be going back this year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nellac23
comical1, Owner at Rylstone Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review nellac23. It was a pleasure to have an experienced visitor to the island like yourselves here at Rylstone and hope we are able to see you again this year or next. We are just glad to hear you enjoyed the Rylstone experience, its nice when you know guests have enjoyed their stay. Thank you...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

The owner was a nice guy and very welcoming and I'm sure most of the rooms in the hotel were great. Unfortunately for us I think we had the broom cupboard as ours was tiny. The shower room could win the smallest ensuite in the world medal and I've seen better water pressure from a dripping tap! The bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NamFahBluewaterworld
comical1, Owner at Rylstone Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NamFah, This is an awkward review to answer but we are really disappointed that you did not enjoy your overnighter at Rylstone. The room you booked was a standard double room so it is not one of the bigger rooms we have at Rylstone but certainly not a "broom cupboard". This is a good reason for booking direct and...

Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Beautiful grounds, beautiful hotel with lovely decor, owners very friendly. Only couple of downsides we went beginning of season and as we were the only couple there hotel wasn't fully up and running i.e. Bar not open unless you ring door bell to request a drink which you felt a little awkward doing (probably our own problem) evening meals were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rottiejae
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2016

I loved my visit to this hotel - it was quite unique and unlike anywhere else I have stayed. The owners really made a huge effort to make you feel at home and the food was quite sublime. After dinner the owners would join you for further drinks and coffees. The rooms were quirky and distinctive and the location was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stelplage
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

The small hotel is situated next to the Rhylsone Gardens, Shanklin; it was built by Queen Victoria for her personal doctor and it has all the charm of that era. The room we had overlooked the rear gardens and was very quiet and comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious and plentiful and the evening meals most enjoyable. A small hotel with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank telforddave2015
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We went to Rylstone Manor to celebrate my wife's birthday, and stayed 2 nights in October. The approach to the hotel was a little surprising as we had to enter through the same entry as to the crazy golf! Having got there we found a delightful small hotel in the grounds of some public gardens. The public areas are full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony J
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016

The good things were the beautiful location, lovely old building and very nice staff. The disappointments included: a v small double bed with an ancient mattress and mushy pillows, leading to backache. The breakfast menu which included 'freshly baked croissants' as a cooked item... I.e. heated up, Surely, these are usually available alongside cereal/ fruit etc.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mcbeamy
comical1, Owner at Rylstone Manor Hotel, responded to this review

My first response was deleted because I identified you so here it is amended. Thank you for taking the time to write a review even though it would have been nicer to have been able to explain any problems you may have had with our service face to face. The room is one which you booked direct with us. We...

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

We have stayed in a few Country House hotels over the years, and this isn't one! It is really a B&B with a bar that you have to ask to open, and a restaurant that only serves evening meals if at least 4 guests ask for it in the morning. On the positive side the hotel is set in lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JerryDCooke
comical1, Owner at Rylstone Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Cooke, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TA. Some off the issues you have had would have been solved by booking direct with us. I have cooked for just two people only this week and will do so when anyone requests dinner at the hotel. We say to people that they can book...

Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We have just returned from a wonderful week at Rylstone Manor.This small hotel is situated in a lovely park in Shanklin and it's just the place for a relaxing holiday The food is wonderful.The rooms are immaculate and beautifully decorated/furnished. The owners and staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Just perfect!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda H

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
27/06/2017 28/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
4.4 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
792 reviews
0.2 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 km away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
441 reviews
4.1 km away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
336 reviews
3.6 km away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm friendly welcome awaits you in this award winning boutique period 3 star and silver award country house hotel (higher than guest accommodation). Featured in the Good Hotel Guide every year since 2006 and in Conde Nast Johansens. Hands on owners who care about the guests and ensure they spend a relaxing time here on the Isle of Wight.Winner of the IOW Chamber of Commerce Awards for excellence in Hospitality and Accommodation 2012. Call for more details. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rylstone Manor Hotel

Address: 10 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Price Range: $196 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rylstone Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Rylstone Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rylstone Manor Shanklin
Hotel Rylstone Manor
Rylstone Manor Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight, UK
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rylstone Manor Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Rylstone Manor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the rear of the hotel will be quieter and good for watching wildlife”
Exile42, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Study the room layouts on the hotel website, and discuss with the owners what would best meet your needs”
R0ssHill, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Contact the owners direct - maple is the most popular room”
C534, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Telephone your booking because the Hosts can help with your ferry travel and making sure the room has the facilities you require i.e. bath”
hanman2016, 8 May 2016 | Read review
“All the room are named after British trees, some smaller than others , but all are lovely”
E6055JUlindar, 23 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Orbitz.com
* /night
View Deal
Travelocity
CheapTickets
Hotels.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates