We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clifton

Save
Traveller (113)
Room & Suite (156)
Storyboard
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good22%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“premier suite”(15 reviews)
“sea view”(53 reviews)
“snug bar”(5 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from The Clifton
Offers & Announcements: Package Deal
Offers from The Clifton
Offers & Announcements: Package Deal
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveller rating
352
114
20
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
352
114
20
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremier suitesea viewsnug barisle of wightshanklin chinethe clifflovely hotelexcellent locationold villagecold buffetshort breakpretty gardenfull englishcooked foodbreakfasts were excellentcoastal pathtop floor
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 498 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

For our short break my husband and I could not have found anywhere better. The staff, the food, lovely comfortable beds, fluffy soft towels and the little finishing touch of the toiletries in the rooms (eg toothpaste/brush, razor) that guests may have forgotten. Add to...More

Thank MarionAna1
Response from TheClifton, Front Office Manager at The CliftonResponded yesterday

Dear MarionAna1 Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. All our staff try and help wherever possible to ensure guests’ stays are as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, we try and...More

Hotel's Favourite
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

I have now visited the Isle of Wight for the third time with Steve and this is our first visit to The Clifton, we were very very impressed with the hotel as a whole. Steve on the other hand has visited the island many times...More

Thank sarah662016
Response from TheClifton, Front Office Manager at The CliftonResponded 4 October 2017

Dear sarah662016 Thank you for your recommendation. We are so pleased you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel. All our staff try and help wherever possible to ensure guests’ stays are as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. We are pleased that you enjoyed our...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

What can I say? Everything about this place was perfect. The location, staff, accommodation, breakfast, access, friendliness, it was all wonderful. We wouldn't hesitate to return if we were to visit The IOW again.More

Thank ian b
Response from TheClifton, Front Office Manager at The CliftonResponded 4 days ago

Dear Ian b Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, its nice to hear that everything here at The Clifton was perfect and that you enjoyed yourselves. We are very centrally located on the clifftop to the town and the beach,...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 2 nights in April. We had reserved 2 rooms...a small double and a Bay room, both with sea views. On arrival, we were greeted by Den, who was so friendly and offered to help us carry the luggage and mother in...More

Thank rachieUk
Response from TheClifton, Front Office Manager at The CliftonResponded 4 days ago

Dear rachieUk Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are pleased that you all enjoyed yourselves at The Clifton. We have some spectacular views for our position on the clifftop it was a shame the weather was not better for...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this is a really lovely hotel on the cliff with brilliant sea views, staff could not have been more helpful and breakfast was fab, lovely rooms and very clean, short walk from shanklin and its restaurants, beautiful place for walkers.More

Thank megs c
Response from TheClifton, Front Office Manager at The CliftonResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear megs c Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do indeed have lovely views across the bay from our clifftop position, we are very central to the town and...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Beachfront
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$91 - US$200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$91 - US$200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (113)
Room & Suite (156)
Dining (41)
Pool & Beach (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
neilhenke
6 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TheClifton | Property representative |
Hi Im sorry we do not accept dogs
0
Votes
wiltour
20 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from TheClifton | Property representative |
Hi we have 15 rooms all with en-suite
0
Votes
Babs2004
22 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from TheClifton | Property representative |
Hi we have our own car park at the side of the hotel
0
Votes
Room Tips
"choose high for sea view."
Read review
"Balcony rooms well worth the extra cost"
Read review
"Choose a room with a view"
Read review
"Family room (kids over 10) was great as it was two separate but adjoining rooms."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing