We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Welbeck Hotel

View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Welbeck Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

369 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for The Welbeck Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 366: English reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed two nights on business and had a room on the top floor with a bay view. No criticism of the hotel as such but for its star rating it was fine, because l was so busy with late evenings didn't really use the hotel facilities at all apart from one breakfast which was nice and hot. Bedroom was okay...

Thank Tony W
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As you correctly state, our rooms are all well within the required size for our 3 star rating but guests who prefer a little extra space can quite easily pay a modest £10 for single occupancy or £15 for double occupancy to stay in one of our deluxe rooms which are bigger in size.

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2015

I arrived quite late on Friday night. Checked in and went straight to my room. Very comfortable and spotlessly clean. A little quirky (in a nice way) due to slight sloping of the floor, furniture wouldnt stand straight. I went down stairs, had a couple of drinks and sat outside. I slept very well, bed was very comfortable with lovely...

1Thank Jayne I
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this positive review but I apologise if the breakfast was not of our usual high standard one morning.

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2015 via mobile

I still here quite a lot for work. I cannot fault it rooms are clean but all different so you never know what you are going to get. Food is excellent particularly as I am not paying ! Staff are always very helpful. If you are coming to the island you could do a lot worse.

Thank ShuddaRunThat
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

I have stayed here many times over the past 25 years-and still keep going back. Spotlessly clean dining area, quiet comfortable rooms. Friendly, efficient staff. The new Vegetarian meal options were excellent....try them!

1Thank Malc S
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for coming back so many times.

Reviewed 30 September 2015

Room great size, interior furnishings wonderful quality, furniture a little tired but not to the detriment of the stay. Everywhere spotless. Everyone really friendly, breakfasts excellent: good choices, well cooked. We had dinner twice both times really nicely cooked, friendly service and any problems put right quickly and efficiently. Only downside was the tiny, tiny lift (never met one so...

1Thank carofw
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for the 5 stars. Unfortunately, we are stuck with the lift. The Welbeck Hotel was built as a Victorian guest house. In 1988 when we installed it, we only had the one building and it was the largest we could put in and remain viable. On the upside, it is...

Reviewed 26 September 2015

Clean and comfortable, with good beds, with friendly staff and a good restaurant. We had 2 rooms, 402 had a sea view over the roofs, whereas rooms lower down don't. Good wifi. Parking on the street can mean a steep walk. Would stay here again

1Thank Anne G
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

We have just had a weeks break at the Welbeck which was excellent in every way. We only booked Bed and Breakfast but after having Dinner there as well on the first night, we didn't bother going anywhere else the rest of the week. The menu changed every night and there was something for everyone including gluten free. All the...

1Thank Pam G
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

It is very kind of you to take the trouble to review The Welbeck Hotel & Restaurant. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Altrincham, Cheshire
Reviewed 20 September 2015

This hotel had many qualities way ahead of its categorisation and price. A friendly welcome from one of the owners and free wifi set the tone. We ordered a couple of sandwiches in our room that came quickly, were fresh and accompanied by crisp salad dressed with balsamic vinegar. The shower was better than in some London hotels costing three...

Thank StephenMB
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Having designed almost all the rooms personally, I'm quite surprised that you were unable to see the television from the bed, as I thought I'd managed to cover that and from the sofa as well in almost all of them, so I'd be...

Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

This hotel is not worth 105 pounds per night I was not disappointed even tho I changed rooms just felt cheated in all a fair price would be 70 pounds per night if I go again will go for one on the front with a sea view but I do recommend a trip to the I O M FAB TIME...

2Thank chapcol
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I'm glad that you enjoyed the Island as a whole. I'm sure you believe £70 to be a fair price. However, The Welbeck has been run by my family and me since 1978, and we are hoping to survive for at least another few years but unless we gain sufficient revenue from the sale...

Wishaw, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015

My husband and I stayed in the Welbeck for two nights on 11 September. We had a double room which was lovely. Every room has a little fridge which is a bonus. We were in room 105 which had five windows, some of which provided a sea view. One of the windows was actually a patio door that opened on...

Thank LCunningham2013
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for coming to see us once more. It is almost true to say that we have grown up together (notice I didn't say we'd aged or grown old ;) )

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (76)
Room/Suite (9)
Hotel & Grounds (44)
View from Room (1)
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (29)
Room/Suite (13)
Dining (6)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1.2 km away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
348 reviews
0.1 km away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
338 reviews
0.8 km away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.5 km away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
143 reviews
0.2 km away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#6 of 22 in Douglas
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Blending the style & elegance of a victorian property with all the modern facilities expected by the 21st century traveller, the Welbeck Hotel, Restaurant and Apartments is perfect for leisure and business. Number One Isle of Man Hotel on Tripadvisor since 2013 ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Welbeck Hotel

Address: 13 Mona Drive, Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LF
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Price Range: $129 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Welbeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Welbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welbeck Hotel Douglas
The Welbeck Hotel Douglas, Isle Of Man
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#2 Family Hotel in Douglas
#2 Best Value Hotel in Douglas
#4 Business Hotel in Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Welbeck Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Welbeck Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel is over four floors and there is a lift to all floors.”
gloriat735, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“It's worth paying for de luxe room, which generally has sea view”
  • Night view of sea from bedroom
  • De luxe room top floor
BirminghamRobin, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Get lower floor apartment as no lift.”
KMcArdlegy, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“If your budget allows - upgrade to a deluxe room.”
MarkyMark-Burnley, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Nice rooms ”
979adys, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
US$130* /night
View Deal
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates