We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Burlington Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Burlington Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 298: English reviews
Start your review of The Burlington Hotel
 Click to rate
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just returned from an Easter 3 night break at The Burlington Hotel. We were impressed with our stay. The room we were in was very clean tidy and appeared to have been decorated recently. There was plenty of room plus a sea view. The bedding and towels were spotlessly clean. An air dryer was available from Reception. There is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently spent a long weekend at this hotel , knowing it was only a two star and for what we paid were pleasantly surprised. Although it is desperate for an update the room was big and it was clean although the furniture really let it down as it was so old. The food was fine and there was plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie V
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. Essentially it needs a lot of work and TLC, the rooms and restaurant areas are all very tired looking. Things are kept clean, though. The food served in the hotel's restaurant was undoubtedly the worst part of our stay. Everything seemed to be tinned or frozen, then often cooked in the fryer. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GWC1990
Martin H, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time write a review following your stay at the Burlington hotel. Whilst we try and exceed all of our guests expectations sometimes we get it wrong and for that we apologise. If you had brought your concerns to our attention at the time of your stay we would have tried our best to rectify the...

hull uk
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we have just returned from a 3 night break.We cannot praise the hotel enough.The staff were friendly,helpful and very efficient.The food was reasonable with a good choice.The vegetables were fresh and nicely cooked.very efficiently served.The swimming pool,though small,was nice and warm and open all day.The hotel was a couple of minutes walk from a clean,sandy beach.Very clean hotel.Comfortable room with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david s
Martin H, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time write a review following your stay at the Burlington hotel. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you enjoyed during your holiday. We are well situated and I'm glad you made the most of what we have to offer. Thank...

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just got back from a five day break with Johnson's coach holidays. What a very poor and terribly run hotel this is!! When we walked through the door could see it all wanted updating and a good paint! Got to our room well..one of the smallest room we have stayed in, one lamp between us, wardrobe in a corner so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cheryl121
Martin H, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time write a review following your stay at the Burlington Hotel on your budget vacation. Whilst we try and exceed all of our guests expectations sometimes we get it wrong and for that we apologise. If you had brought your concerns to our attention at the time of your stay we would have tried our...

uk
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a lovely five day break over half term Stay here with national holidays and had good food and a nice clean room, clean towels the staff are very nice and helpful and the facilities were great It had entertainment on every night

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saca
Martin H, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time write a review following your stay at the Burlington hotel. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you enjoyed during your holiday. We are well situated and I'm glad you made the most of what we have to offer. Thank...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Stayed at the Burlington from the 13th of march to the 17th of march ,the hotel was spotless and very cosy we stayed in room 59 which was also spotless and very comfortable and warm we had everything we needed and if we needed anything else we knew we could ask at reception and they would sort us out (ie...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carol k
Martin H, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time write a review following your stay at the Burlington hotel. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you enjoyed during your holiday. We are well situated and I'm glad you made the most of what we have to offer. Thank...

uk
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We stayed at this hotel as part of a national Holidays Coach Holiday which was very inexpensive. I think most guests in the hotel are on a coach holiday. The staff are very helpful and friendly and we were quickly shown to our room. Our room was plenty big enough, clean and tidy. The bathroom had a bath and a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank i_tasker
Martin H, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time write a review following your stay at the Burlington hotel. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you enjoyed during your holiday. We are well situated and I'm glad you made the most of what we have to offer. Thank...

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Went on a 4 day break to the Burlington hotel no entertainment on the first night but Jon the barman did bingo and quizzes he kept us all entertained big pat on the back for Jon.the hotel was clean comfortable and very friendly staff,I made use of the swimming pool steam room and hot tub the food was nice too,another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bazzo44
Martin H, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time write a review following your stay at the Burlington hotel. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you enjoyed during your holiday. We are well situated and I'm glad you made the most of what we have to offer. Thank...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Went with national holidays, totally relaxing journey on the coach, long journey down to the Isle Of Wight but not a problem, comfortable coach. The hotel was spotless, food lovely with plenty of choice served by the lovely Gemma. My granddaughter loved the indoor pool and the jacuzzi , which was very reasonably priced at £1 for 15 - 20...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank albolton2016
Martin H, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time write a review following your stay at the Burlington hotel. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you enjoyed during your holiday. We are well situated and I'm glad you made the most of what we have to offer. Thank...

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
3.3 km away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#34 of 54 in Shanklin
458 reviews
8.4 km away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.1 km away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
295 reviews
1.0 km away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 31 in Sandown
723 reviews
0.1 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 31 in Sandown
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about The Burlington Hotel

Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Price Range: $65 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Burlington Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Burlington Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“no lift but we rang to ask for a ground floor room”
davidsF2786AF, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are good”
carolk55, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor if any problem with walking.”
albolton2016, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“qiueter room at far end of corridor”
paul-morgan25, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Note there is no lift in the hotel”
  • Blurry but shows dated furniture
  • Tiny shower room, with insecure toilet
  • Stains on bedding
Gorwydd, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5