We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Duke of Gordon Hotel

Hotels.comUS$126*
View Deal
GreenLeadersBronze level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$156*
US$126*
US$156*
US$126*
US$156*
US$126*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Duke of Gordon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

453 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 433: English reviews
Start your review of Duke of Gordon Hotel
 Click to rate
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed two nights at the Duke of Gordon, clean rooms, comfy beds and fantastic food. Our first meal was a buffet and it was superb, great breakfast as well. If your looking for a relaxing break you won't do better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is always nice for the team to know that our guests have enjoyed their short visit to us and that their efforts are appreciated. Thank you and we hope you will visit us again. Paul & Team Duke

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First visit to Duke of Gordon hotel and will definitely return. The ceilidh on Friday night was really good and, although we don't dance we enjoyed watching everyone else. The atmosphere was terrific and musicians very good. We had a lovely room on the second floor,very spacious and view out front of hotel. Food was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank morrock47
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. The Ceilidh Weekends are extremely popular and we hold several throughout the year. Many of the guests for these weekends are regular dancers and return several times during the year. I trust we will welcome you again to the 'Duke' in the future. Paul & Team Duke

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From start to finish the communication with the hotel was superb. They were very organise and very quick at coming back to us. We had a conference on day one with accommodation, a conference in the morning on the second day and then out for a site visit nearby. We had a bout 20 in our group. Rooms: My room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and in-depth review. The Duke is a small, family run hotel and I am so glad that you found our facilities suited your needs. We do our best to accommodate all our guest expectations and meet their needs. I do hope we will have the pleasure of your company again in the future. Paul...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well, firstly there were 3 different menus in the public lounge and the menu on thr outside had no relevance to what they were serving inside, so we didn't know exactly what was available. Starters were very poor. Pate was only just passable stuff. And then the burgers we ordered were just two very flat patties of no flavour, texture...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeffrey B
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit and for you constructive comments.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife & I had lunch here. Disappointing sandwiches on menu. Chicken & bacon sandwich was caked with mayonnaise and sent back. Ham & mustard was better but bread was from supermarket and squashed/pressed. Accompanying salad and chips were stale. Very disappointing. It does not take much effort to make a decent sandwich for £5.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kev K
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. Thank you for your comments and bringing these observations to my attention. I am sorry that you were unhappy with your lunch and that you did not enjoy your experience here. Having looked into your observations regarding the content of your lunch we have made alterations. I would be...

Rotherham
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Travelled to" The Duke" on a coach tour with Cairngorm travel. We have done lots of coach tours with other companies and have to say this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Hotel itself is clean and well presented. Our bedroom and bathroom were lovely. Only downside of the room 422 we only had a view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holidaylovingnan
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel and for you kind comments about the team. I have forwarded your review to the travel company for the driver to see. I trust you will visit us again in the future. Paul & Team Duke

Reviewed 15 April 2017

booked a family room to find out all the family rooms were located above the ballroom where nightly entertainment went on until upto midnight. you could hear the music louder in the bedroom than you could in the actual ballroom. who in their right mind puts family accomodation above the entertainment area??? this hotel is geared up for coach tours...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alli1968
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and review. I am sorry that you felt the need to air your views further following our conversation. The hotel provides live evening entertainment and dancing for all of the hotel guests every evening. The Duke of Gordon Hotel have many individual guests as well as coach parties. Majority of our guests return throughout the...

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017

What a fantastic hotel with fantastic food and staff this was my first visit here and hopefully not my last would definitely recommend this hotel two of our 4 nights we were piped into dinner with bagpipes what a smashing touch

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sally20132016
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments regarding you recent visit to the hotel and the cairngorm National Park. We look foreword your company again which I hope will be soon. Paul & Team Duke

Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

We travelled with Cairngorm Travel and had a really nice stay at a hotel old enough to have loads of character, but kept in good order. Our room was pleasant, with comfortable beds, a tv that worked and bathroom. Thankfully it had a real metal key instead of those ghastly cards that rarely work. The food was good with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toubabmarley
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to the hotel and the Highlands. We try to provide a range of items at breakfast that will suit most tastes. there are many more items we could add to the current offer but we are limited to space. However, we are very happy to provide...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We booked a coach trip staying at the Duke and were really pleased we did. Lovely warm welcoming hotel, nice spacious room on ground floor, good food in the restaurant and served by charming staff. On the morning we departed three staff members took the time to step outside and wave us off. How lovely. We will certainly be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susanlei
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the Duke of Gordon Hotel and for your kind comments. It is always nice when people acknowledge the team and their efforts to make your visit memorable. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Paul & Team Duke

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.6 km away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
328 reviews
0.4 km away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
185 reviews
0.1 km away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
190 reviews
18.3 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
27.0 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Duke of Gordon is one of the premier privately owned hotels in the heart of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park,a truly unspoilt and spectacular part of the world. The hotel is one of the few highland hotels that can offer all the home comforts of a modern hotel combined with the traditional charachater and heritage of an old scottish coaching inn. The open log fire welcomes our guests into the warm and friendly environment. All of the hotel electricity, heating and hot water is provided using a Woodchip Biomass System from fully sustainable resources. We are proud to have significantly reduced our carbon footprint and be one of the greenest business's in Scotland. A warm welcome awaits all to this gem that is the Duke of Gordon Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Duke of Gordon Hotel

Address: Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Price Range: $163 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Gordon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Duke of Gordon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Gordon Kingussie
Duke Of Gordon Hotel Kingussie, Scotland, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Duke of Gordon Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Duke of Gordon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't visit if you have children or would like a good nights sleep”
alli1968, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had room facing the car park and we didn't have any problems”
sally20132016, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“lift does not go to all floors however stairs are wide and easy to climb.”
susanlei, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“check room numbers before visiting if solo traveller”
Oliver90, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were in room 107 which looked out on to the back of the hotel with a lovely view of the surrounding town buildings.”
margaretd729, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$126* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$126
TripAdvisorUS$126
HRS.comUS$156
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates