We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Duke of Gordon Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Duke of Gordon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

440 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 421: English reviews
Start your review of Duke of Gordon Hotel
 Click to rate
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent first visit to the Duke! Room spotless, meals plentiful and varied choices. Staff polite and helpful. Cairngorm Travel once again provided an outstanding tour with driver, Steve providing an interesting commentary about Haggis!! Breathtaking trip up the Cairngorms funicular railway with fresh snow thrown in from 6am that morning!! A bonus was meeting up with someone I worked with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juneepop
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Duke of Gordon Hotel here in the Highlands of Scotland. How wonderful for you to meet some of your acquaintances again after such a long time. I am sure you all had a lot to catch up on. We look forward to your return visit which I trust will...

Hednesford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a lovely five days here travelling with Cairngorm Travel. Our driver Des was very informative and accommodating. The hotel was very good if a little too warm due to the mild temperature. Our room was comfortable and overlooked the front of the hotel and High Street with mountains in the background. The staff were all friendly and good at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jean_wellings
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your kind comments about the team. With regard to the heating, so many people having differing tastes and it is always difficult to find that happy medium that suits everyone. I am sorry if you found this uncomfortable but I hope you will visit us again in the...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was booked with tour company Cairngorm travel and seating at meals once you had chosen your table you had to stick to that table regardless if you didn't like the company the other 6. Some on our table seemed pompous and stuck up. I wouldn't go back to this hotel. Even though the trip was a good price there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 141janet21
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were not happy with the dining arrangements during your recent visit. I was sorry to read that despite having enjoyed your time here and rating the hotel highly you would not visit the area or the hotel again. This is a great pity as there are many beautiful places to...

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely friendly reception on our arrival, room great,very clean and fresh, food was tasty and served by friendly staff, nothing any trouble, My friend and I stayed for 3 nights, no complaints at all, will certainly visit again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureenk1
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for your kind comments. we look forward to your next visit. Paul & Team Duke

Scotland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a great looking building. Fronting the main road with excellent parking. We had lunch here and were not disappointed. The place is well furnished and very clean. A varied menu offered well priced food. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank antis
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. I trust you had a safe and pleasant onward journey and that you will visit us again when you are in the area. Paul & Team Duke

Wallasey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went again to the Duke of Gordon on 30th January on the Snowflake break, second year running, and it was brilliant as usual, a different tour this year a Castle , well worth a visit, booked again for next year live this place.x

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gelston90
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you again next year. Paul & team Duke

Shardlow, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 6 days at the Duke of Gordon Hotel as part of an organised coach party. We have to say that we all had a lovely time and thoroughly enjoyed the Scottish hospitality. The hotel is an old, grand building set in the village of Kingussie. Not an awful lot to do in the village itself, but plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Duke of Gordon Hotel and for your comments about the team. All of them work hard to ensure our guests have an enjoyable visit and it is always nice for them to read that their efforts have been appreciated. Paul & team Duke

notts
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a fabulous holiday, staff all very polite, friendly and helpful, room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Good breakfast selection and Excellent 4 course menu each night, all the food was a really good variety and choice and superbly cooked.Entertainment each evening was just that, very entertaining and enjoyable. Would definatley go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arkwrightNotts
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel and the team. I trust we will be welcoming you again. Paul & Team Duke

Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stopped here for lunch in the pub. It was nice and cozy after being out in the rain most of the morning. We found a seat near the fireplace that was going. Staff were very friendly. We just had a light lunch and then a pot of tea.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrsElfa
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I trust you enjoyed the rest of your visit and didn't get too wet. Paul & Team Duke

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Went to the Duke of Gordon Hotel for a short break. Staff were amazing and could not have asked for better. Food was great and plenty of it. Would recommend staying at this hotel to anyone wanting to have a chilled out time. Lovely log fire to sit by and have a good malt

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnjdouglas1
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us here in Kingussie. The Duke of Gordon Hotel has a large selection of Speyside Malts from across the Badenoch & Strathspey region that have their own distinctive flavour. The log fire has become one of the Duke's most endearing qualities, guests always comment on the log fire being so...

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.7 km away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
311 reviews
0.0 km away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 km away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
185 reviews
18.4 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.5 km away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Duke of Gordon is one of the premier privately owned hotels in the heart of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park,a truly unspoilt and spectacular part of the world. The hotel is one of the few highland hotels that can offer all the home comforts of a modern hotel combined with the traditional charachater and heritage of an old scottish coaching inn. The open log fire welcomes our guests into the warm and friendly enviroment that is the Duke of Gordon Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Duke of Gordon Hotel

Address: Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Price Range: $153 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Gordon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Duke of Gordon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Gordon Kingussie
Duke Of Gordon Hotel Kingussie, Scotland, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Duke of Gordon Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Duke of Gordon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have mobility problems request a room served by the lift.”
 of 5 bubbles jean_wellings, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ground level room was self catering but in bad weather would be too big area to keep warm.”
 of 5 bubbles 141janet21, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Corner room very pleasant with views of front and side of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Maureenk1, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are good xxx”
 of 5 bubbles gelston90, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“if mobility is a problem, ask for a ground floor room. There is only 1 lift which carries 3 people max. and is painfully slow.”
 of 5 bubbles RayS437, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5