We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Duke of Gordon Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Duke of Gordon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

447 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Duke of Gordon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 428: English reviews
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Used this hotel for a number of nights with a coach trip. The Hotel is a solid destination, good at most things. The entrance, when you arrive , is paneled with a roaring fire to greet you.The staff are hard working, pleasant and helpful, the hotel is warm and clean and the food good with an impressive dining area. But...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred22222
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the duke of Gordon Hotel and for your constructive comments and observations. I am sorry that you had a problem in your room, with a building that is over 100 years old the repairing, replacing and re-decorating throughout is a constant challenge to the maintenance team. I will look into the problems...

Pool in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2016

We've just had a family holiday with our 4 year old twins. The staff at the Duke of Gordon were more than accommodating of the kids and the service with without fault. The hotel is a beautiful old building in the heart of Kingussie. It's a large hotel with loads of space inside, and a great play area outside -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the duke of Gordon Hotel and for your kind comments. We do our best to inform all of our guests about some of the great natural attractions in the area and encourage them to go visit and see for themselves. Many visitors return several times to take in all the area has...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Recently returned from a 5 day holiday to this hotel with Cairngorm travel. This is a lovely hotel and the staff are all brilliant and helpful. The food was excellent, 4 course dinner on 3 nights and a large buffet on the last night. We had a piper on 2 nights when we were going into the restaurant and this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria K
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the duke of Gordon Hotel and for your comments. The hotel has a piper visit at least twice a week to add to the highland charm of the hotel. It is good that guests let the team members know their efforts are appreciated. We trust you will visit us again in the...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2016

We visited as a family with a 14 month old and the hotel was perfect. No request was too much trouble and the rooms were very comfortable as is the rest of the hotel - we especially loved the grand dining room. We were surprised about how much there is to do in the area - all within 20mins drive....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsWard
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel and we are so pleased you managed to experience so much of what the area has to offer. I do hope you will visit us again to see more of the Cairngorm National Park and all that we have to offer. Paul & the Team

Reviewed 27 February 2016

Staff were helpful and attentive. The rooms were comfortable and cleaned efficiently every day. Breakfast was traditional English hot or cold. Four course menu every day with a menu to suit all tastes. Good entertainment each evening.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackev1
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel and for your comments. The Table d'Hote menu changes daily so that we are able to give as much variety as possible using fresh local produce. We do hope you will visit us again in the future. Paul & the Team

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2016

Had a ''snowflake break'' through Cairngorm Travel - 11 Feb '16 for 4 nights. Saw lots of snow on the hills/mountains (one of the main reasons for our visit as hadn't seen Scotland before in the winter) although didn't snow much while we were there. The hotel doesn't purport to be a 5* - it's nearly always about expectations -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul G
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel. It is always nice to be told that guests have enjoyed their visit to the hotel and to this beautiful part of the highlands. It is especially nice to acknowledge the team at the Duke and to let them know their efforts are appreciated. The hotels heating...

Dyffryn Ardudwy
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Welcoming, clean and comfortable would sum up the initial impression. The meals did not disappoint either. For four nights the meals were tastey and filling; one night the meal was outstanding. Entertainment was provided in the ample ballroom, an accordion player, a caller, an impromptu ceilidh, good fun.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maryDyffrynArdudwy
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel and for your kind comments. We provide live entertainment most evenings and try to cover all tastes in music. The Duke is a popular dancing venue for locals and visitors. I trust you had a safe journey home and we look forward to welcoming you again in...

north east coast
Reviewed 18 February 2016

We have visited this hotel twice before but this time was during Storm Gertrude when the winds hit 90 mph. Despite this and the snow and rain we got, the service was as good as ever. One morning we had a power cut at 7AM and had abandoned hope of a cooked breakfast, but it arrived on time and piping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holidayqueen4
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel and for your kind comments. Living in the Highlands we expect harsh weather and when faced with difficult situations such as a power cut, we do all we can to continue with service for our guests with as little disruption as possible. Paul & the Team

Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Excellent food apart from the final night's buffet , very friendly and helpful staff , room comfortable & warm , but had to buy slippers on the first day as the carpet was quite badly stained , and was woken at 11.20 on the Monday night by a loud drilling noise , when i rang reception i was told the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 20brenda20
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel. I do apologise for the disruption you experienced during your visit while the kitchen extraction system was cleaned. We do our best to have all maintenance work carried out during the day but at times there are certain things that can only be done at night when...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2016

The Duke is an amazing hotel we were made welcome immediately by all the staff they could not do enough for you through out our 5 day break, the food choices were unbelievable and the quality was second to none and the Lairds buffet on the last night really finished our holiday off especially with the bagpipes being played the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flower018r
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel and for your kind comments. All of the team appreciate being told that their efforts have been recognised. We will pass on your comments to the coach company for the driver and look forward to welcoming you again to the Duke. Paul & the Team

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.6 km away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
318 reviews
0.4 km away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
184 reviews
0.1 km away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
187 reviews
18.3 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
27.0 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Duke of Gordon is one of the premier privately owned hotels in the heart of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park,a truly unspoilt and spectacular part of the world. The hotel is one of the few highland hotels that can offer all the home comforts of a modern hotel combined with the traditional charachater and heritage of an old scottish coaching inn. The open log fire welcomes our guests into the warm and friendly enviroment that is the Duke of Gordon Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Duke of Gordon Hotel

Address: Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Price Range: $175 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Gordon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duke of Gordon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Gordon Kingussie
Duke Of Gordon Hotel Kingussie, Scotland, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Duke of Gordon Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Duke of Gordon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't visit if you have children or would like a good nights sleep”
alli1968, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had room facing the car park and we didn't have any problems”
sally20132016, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“lift does not go to all floors however stairs are wide and easy to climb.”
susanlei, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“check room numbers before visiting if solo traveller”
Oliver90, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were in room 107 which looked out on to the back of the hotel with a lovely view of the surrounding town buildings.”
margaretd729, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5