We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
2017-10-29 2017-10-30
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Ruthven House

    Ruthven Farm House Ruthven Road, Kingussie PH21 1NR, Scotland
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    -- / -- / --Check In -- / -- / --Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Traveller (21)
    Room & Suite (17)
    Dining (3)
    Overview
    • Excellent91%
    • Very good8%
    • Average0%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    “the cottages” (11 reviews)
    “peaceful spot” (2 reviews)
    “seven years” (2 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    Oct 29Oct 30
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    View all 0 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (58)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 55 reviews

    Reviewed 16 August 2017

    Yes we kind of like the Cottages and the Hosts - Colin & Fiona they make everyone welcome and go out of their way to make you feel at home! As I have said this is the 7th Year we have stayed with Colin a...More

    Thank Trotter49
    Response from AlmacKingussie, Owner at Ruthven HouseResponded 23 August 2017

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We always look forward to your return visits with your family, such easy guests to look after! I will see what I can do about requesting a new roof for the Barracks!!

    Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

    Stayed at Ruthven house while we were on a cycling tour,Fiona was so welcoming and accommodating. The farmhouse and cottages were lovely and the food was amazing! And definitely good value for money! Would definitely stay again.

    Thank Sandra C
    Response from AlmacKingussie, Owner at Ruthven HouseResponded 9 August 2017

    Thank you for your very positive review! It was a pleasure having you both to stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

    Reviewed 9 June 2017

    We selected Ruthven cottages at random and what a great choice they were. The owner Fiona greeted us warmly and we felt right at home. The cottage was comfortable and peaceful. We were treated to home made scones and cakes which was great. I am...More

    Thank dk31
    Response from AlmacKingussie, Owner at Ruthven HouseResponded 10 June 2017

    Thank you for your lovely review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and will look forward to baking for you again when you hopefully return!!

    Reviewed 2 April 2017

    My partner and I stayed here last weekend. Fiona picked us up from the station and gave us delicious home-made cakes when we go to the house. She and Colin really looked after us and made us feel very welcome. They let us borrow local...More

    Thank varchoel
    Response from AlmacKingussie, Owner at Ruthven HouseResponded 1 May 2017

    Thank you for your lovely review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

    Reviewed 5 March 2017

    Just spent a fabulous weekend at Ruthven House B&B. Received the warmest of welcomes from the owners. Tastefully decorated accommodation and all those other extras that make it feel like a home from home, A lovely weekend with true highland hospitality..

    Thank Gadgetman2017
    Balavil Hotel
    253 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in Newtonmore
     
    The Glen Hotel
    308 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Newtonmore
     
    Duke of Gordon Hotel
    488 reviews
    #2 of 4 hotels in Kingussie
     
    Columba House Hotel
    349 reviews
    #3 of 4 hotels in Kingussie
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$105 - US$116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 3
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ruthven House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • Scotland >
    • Scottish Highlands >
    • Badenoch and Strathspey >
    • Kingussie
    • Also Known As
    • Ruthven House Kingussie, Scotland, UK
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (21)
    Room & Suite (17)
    Dining (3)
    Hotel & Grounds (15)
    Bathroom (1)
    Nearby
    Sponsored by:
    Duke of Gordon Hotel
    488 reviews
    .54 km away
     
    The Glen Hotel
    308 reviews
    4.68 km away
     
    Balavil Hotel
    253 reviews
    4.05 km away
     
    Columba House Hotel
    349 reviews
    .71 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Tipsy Laird
    366 reviews
    .59 km away
    The Restaurant at The Cross
    108 reviews
    .86 km away
    Cafe Bistro
    45 reviews
    .61 km away
    The Sugar Bowl
    20 reviews
    .52 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Highland Horse Fun
    66 reviews
    .44 km away
    Ruthven Barracks
    184 reviews
    .73 km away
    Kingussie Golf Club
    23 reviews
    1.34 km away
    Scottish Rock & Water
    9 reviews
    .62 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Ruthven House staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "the Two cottages are self contained."
    Read review
    "All rooms are quiet, even though a main road is nearby"
    Read review
    "Phone the owners to discuss your needs they are exceptionally accomodating"
    Read review
    "The room on the middle floor is ensuite. The room on ground floor is not ensuite but very nice all the same..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing