We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Imperial Hotel

13/05/2017 14/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Imperial Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 249: English reviews
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2016

The room I had was small but well-furnished and very clean. Everything worked and the reading light was very efficient. The situation of this hotel is convenient,close to beach and town.The view is slightly spoilt by the ugly modern Landmark theatre which blocks out some of the sea view. The menu had a good range of choice, but the food...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 362terry
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Stayed her with my wife for 4 nights half board. Food was very good and the staff were excellent. Any problems were sorted almost immediately. They say you get what you pay for, this place bent over backwards to make your stay as comfortably as possible, as I said, a 3 start hotel with 5 star staff :)

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Stephen W
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Firstly thank you to our wonderful driver up and beyond . Thank you to the lovely Kim meeting us at The Royal Hotel Woolacombe very approachable nothing too much trouble . Making our weekend very enjoyablev

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1954O8611TB
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Had a most awful experience at this hotel. All rooms were bitterly cold and miserable. Tuesday afternoon and evening and Wednesday morning there was no hot water anywhere. The conditions were so poor that we opted to come home to Reading by taxi on Wednesday morning, luckily the price of taxi at £175. was very good. I would not recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mary b
Leisureplex, Customer Care Team at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mary B, I was sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay at the hotel. I was surprised to hear that you found the room to be very cold. You do not mention in your review whether you spoke with the reception staff about this matter. Had they been aware that you were cold,...

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2016

We arrived just after the Norovirus outbreak and only found out because the Gazette had a front page article on it. The hotel had been closed for a couple of days but the manager said that it had nothing to do with the outbreak. After a couple of days my husband was slightly unwell and the manager immediately put us...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank janelledarwen
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2016

Just come back from a week with Alfa Holidays. You need to be able to walk if you visit here as there are hills all around except for getting to the harbour which is only 5 mins walk away. They have mobility scooters for hire, but frankly if you can't walk without, don't come. Even the trips out needed everyone...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank 304irene
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2016

I stayed with my husband in Imperial hotel first time and we will definitely be back. Hotel is located in beautiful area within few minutes walk from small harbour. We didn't get front room but I can imagine the views are stunning. Our room was very clean and the only issue was that it was a bit too hot even...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ZoeSB
Nottingham
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

I am currently staying at The Imperial Hotel and there is an outbreak of the norovirus in the hotel and other areas of Devon. There are currently well over 15 people ill. You will not be warned about this before you visit so I am informing everyone to give you the choice as to whether you visit or not. Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank deblee123
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Stopped at this hotel at Easter ,Friday till Monday.. travelled with alfa travel.. We stopped in room 309 on the 3rd floor.. room was clean and tidy the bathroom was very small could hardly move in there, we also and a rubbish view of someones very messy backyard. The rest of the hotel was clean and tidy.. Breakfast and lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joanne a
Reviewed 1 April 2016

First room, no heating we went in March 2016 and the window would not close, offered a oil radiator which did not arrive, it was a very cold night, after one night in this room we were moved the following morning after havening another word at the reception. This room floor boards really bad near the door, light above my...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christine H

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)
13/05/2017 14/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.5 km away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
311 reviews
0.3 km away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
354 reviews
0.3 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
336 reviews
0.2 km away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
649 reviews
0.8 km away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Imperial Hotel - Ilfracombe [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]. Situated in one of the best positions in Ilfracombe, overlooking Wildersmouth beach, and the splendid Landmark Theatre and Conference Centre, close to the High Street and only a short almost level walk from the harbour. 104 rooms with central heating and bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, internal phone, hair dryer and TV. There is a large restaurant, bar, comfortable lounge and dance floor where entertainment is provided most evenings. Lift to all floors (stairs to some rooms on split level floors). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Price Range: $95 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Ilfracombe, UK - Devon
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Imperial Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Cardiff, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Lancashire, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Imperial Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view rooms are the best.”
G0ldenbr0wn, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are very good.”
suejf2017, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stayed in room 201 - some sea views whilst not directly overlooking the sea, and convenient for the lift.”
mbnlpc436, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The rooms at the front have a sea view”
Y5448UGkarenw, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Front sea view room”
50mar, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates