We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Ocean Backpackers

    29 St. James Place, Ilfracombe EX34 9BJ, England
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    04/06/2017 05/06/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveller (13)
          Room & Suite (10)
          Dining (7)
          The Royal Britannia
          314 reviews
          #13 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
           
          Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
          364 reviews
          #3 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
           
          Varley House
          390 reviews
          #2 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
           
          Marine Court Hotel
          347 reviews
          #1 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
           
          Overview
          • Excellent54%
          • Very good24%
          • Average14%
          • Poor2%
          • Terrible4%
          Travellers talk about
          “top floor” (8 reviews)
          “dorm room” (2 reviews)
          Free Wifi
          Free Parking
          Beachfront
          Kitchenette
          Pets Allowed
          Breakfast included
          Pool
          Restaurant
          Room Service
          All hotel details
          The Royal Britannia
          314 reviews
          #13 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
           
          Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
          364 reviews
          #3 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
           
          Varley House
          390 reviews
          #2 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
           
          Marine Court Hotel
          347 reviews
          #1 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
           
          {"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
          Write a Review
          Reviews (83)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language

          21 - 25 of 83 reviews

          Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

          Stayed overnight and had one room. The hostels runs at that time by two young german students. It was simply, small but clean and close to the beach. It has at least two kitchens and a supermarket was not too fare. We even could park...More

          Thank taucherS
          Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers

          Thank you for your review! We are so pleased that you had a very positive experience at Ocean Backpackers. We hope to welcome you again soon!!

          Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

          I stayed here recently and thought it was good value, the room was clean and shower worked well. It is in a very good location just by the harbour. There is free parking, but you do get blocked in, so you are at the mercy...More

          Thank jimbob00721
          Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers

          Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you had a positive experience at Ocean Backpackers and would return. We do try to offer free parking to as many guests at Ocean Backpackers as possible. Unfortunately, this does involve guests parking in a...More

          Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile

          Stayed here twice never had every problems, nice big kitchen and lounge right in the centre of ilfracombe very close to ice cream and little holiday shops bunch of places for cream/afternoon tea and there's a lovely wetherspoons about a minute walk away we would...More

          Thank Rebecca W
          Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers

          Thank you very much for your review. We are really pleased you have enjoyed both stays with us and value your comments. We will look into more hanging space for towels in the bathrooms. We do have a large basement which acts as a wet...More

          Reviewed 19 June 2015

          My best friend and I stayed here during the Easter holidays while we were hiking along the South West Coast Path. We discovered that the hostel welcomes walkers and surfers alike, and the manager was quick to pay a great deal of interest in our...More

          Thank DiscoverKirsty
          Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers

          Thank you very much for your very positive review. We are so pleased that you had a nice, comfortable and relaxed stay. We hope to welcome you again soon!!

          Reviewed 5 April 2015

          12 of us stayed here for the weekend on a WI weekend away. The hostel is in an ideal location, very close to the harbour and a fantastic new Wetherspoons ideal for breakfast and refillable coffee. The weather wasn't kind to us but we had...More

          Thank Rosycheeks
          Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers

          Thanks very much for your review we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will take on board the idea of a keypad at the back which is a good one. You will be pleased to hear that if you do...More

          The Royal Britannia
          314 reviews
          #13 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
           
          Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
          364 reviews
          #3 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
           
          Varley House
          390 reviews
          #2 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
           
          Marine Court Hotel
          347 reviews
          #1 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
           
          About
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Beachfront
          • Free Parking
          • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Free Parking
          Details
          • Price range
          • US$23 - US$97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Room types
          • Kitchenette
          • Number of rooms
          • 12
          • Reservation Options
          • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Ocean Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
          • Location
          • United Kingdom >
          • England >
          • Devon >
          • Ilfracombe
          • Also Known As
          • Ocean Backpackers Ilfracombe, UK - Devon
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (13)
          Room & Suite (10)
          Dining (7)
          Pool & Beach (2)
          Hotel & Grounds (16)
          Nearby
          Sponsored by:
          The Royal Britannia
          314 reviews
          .12 km away
           
          Imperial Hotel
          257 reviews
          .35 km away
           
          Palm Court Hotel
          150 reviews
          .54 km away
           
          The Osborne Hotel
          252 reviews
          .61 km away
           
          Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
          657 reviews
          .50 km away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          Blacksands Bistro
          251 reviews
          .11 km away
          Adele's Cafe
          284 reviews
          .09 km away
          The Terrace Tapas & Wine Bar
          686 reviews
          .12 km away
          Relish Bar & Bistro
          303 reviews
          .07 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Hele Corn Mill & Tea Room
          439 reviews
          1.25 km away
          Ilfracombe Harbour
          577 reviews
          .29 km away
          Tunnels Beaches
          1,197 reviews
          .74 km away
          Ilfracombe Museum
          340 reviews
          .42 km away
          Questions & Answers
          Get quick answers from Ocean Backpackers staff and past guests.
          Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
          Posting guidelines
          Submit
          Room Tips
          "If you don't want to share make sure 8 of you go , but we didn't have any problems."
          Read review
          "Private rooms available if privacy is preferred. Rooms on top floor quieter."
          Read review
          "No lift for disabled"
          Read review
          "Ok to stay if your not spending much time in."
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing