We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Stirling Youth Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Stirling Youth Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 61: English reviews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the youth hostel in Stirling, great location in the heart of to, near Stirling Castle. The 4 bed dorm has its own toilet and shower. My bed had a few springs so I slept on top of the quilt and got another cover. Kitchen is clean and big plus they serve meals. Plus they have a car park.

Helpful?
Thank Fiona T
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Many thnansk for taking the time to post, much appreciate dand we will let our team know about your kind commnets. Thanks Lorna More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2016

The worst experience I have ever had staying with YHA!!! (1) The hostel is just 10 -15 minutes walk to Stirling Castle which is located on the hill. So I had to wheel my heavy suitcase all the way uphill to the hostel. That's absolutely a challenge. If you don't have anything with you, that could be a nice walk... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank greattriphaha
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Many thanks for taking the time to post and let us know about your stay. Unfortunately we are unable to do anything in respect of the location or not having a lift, but we do state all this in our information. We do have lockers in all our rooms, and padlocks are available to buy at recpetipn. I have... More 

Travellers are raving about these Stirling hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Clean and friendly. John was an excellent host who had many interesting stories and tips about what to do in the area. We showed up late for breakfast by a half hour (our own stupidity) and still got to eat. John kept the food out until we had eaten because he knew we hadn't shown up yet. We didn't realize... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Many thanks for your very kind review, we will be sure to pass on your very kind words to Johgn our Chef, this is really appreciated. tahnk Youy Lorna Padden More 

1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Long uphill walk to the hostel and the staff were not welcoming and also not telling me what the check out time was which resulted in getting woken by a thud at the door and someone saying "hurry up" ,was just a all round terrible experience and will not be returning and would not recommend

Helpful?
Thank George G
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Tyhank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am diosappopinted to read your commnets as this is not the normal service standards at Stirling Youth Hostel and would like to understand more. If possible could you email our Group Manager, James Loudon on trossachsgroupmanager@syha.org.uk More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Youth hostel in a characterful converted church. Be ready for some urban climbing because the building is about halfway up Stirling's biggest hill. Unlike some other reviewers claim, however, I have never found it necessary to take a taxi (nowhere near that!!) to or from the station, and I carry a large heavy backpack. All dormitories appear to be en-suite,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steven G
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for taking the time to post. I am disappointed to read some of your comnnets and will investigate these with the team. thanks Lorna Padden More 

Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2016

We booked a private double room and everything was clean and as expected. We used the kitchen which was clean and well equipped. The situation is good and we easily found a parking spot for our car. Staff was friendly. We would come back if we'd travel to Stirling again.

Helpful?
Thank Nanouchelue
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank You very much for your very kind comments, they are very much appreciated and we will be sure to let our team know. Lorna Padden More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
394 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 641 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2016

I supposed to stay here for 4 days/3 nights but left only after 1 night. PROS: 1. This hostel has an amazing building and good view of the city. My view from my room in 2nd floor is beautiful. 2. Clean and well maintained. From toilet to room to kitchen to corridor,its clean. 3. Have a big kitchen that you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank vinatraveler
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to post, we really appreciate it, and good to read that our team did look after you. We appreciate your kind comments about the hostel facilities, that is very much appreciated. Stirling Youth Hostel is normally a very busy hostel with lots of guests in the dining room and lounge, we do have a... More 

N Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2016

I recently had an overnight stay in the youth hostel as part of Stirling Universities 'Sail & Stay'. I found the hostel very clean, Derrick was on hand at reception with a friendly welcome and advice on the town. I stayed in room 204, a twin room, the bed was comfortable and the room was warm and clean with bedlinen... More 

Helpful?
Thank NIrelandBeachcomber
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Wow, we have a convert. Thank you very much for such a great review, we really do appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience, we will pass this onto James. Caroline and their team. Thanks Lorna Padden More 

Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Friends and I traveled to Scotland for a fortnight (2 wks), and we chose to stay here because it was more economical than a hotel room. We got a shared room, which had 4 beds (2 bunk beds) and private en-suite facilities (which was VERY nice). The hostel is pretty centrally located to the attractions in the area, and also... More 

Helpful?
Thank chexcentaur
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Wow, thank you for such a lovely review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your saty and we hope we can welcome you again soon. We will be sure to pass your very kind commensts onto James, Carooline and their team. Thanks Lorna Padden More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2016 via mobile

Pleasant stay for a last minute overnight. Friendly staff. Was told no breakfast but could help myself to use the facilities in the kitchen. Made myself a cuppa and used the wifi too which was a bonus. For a short stay I must say I was satisfied. Definitely up for staying again. 😊 Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Rowena M
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to post and let us know about your stay, we really appreciate it and will pass your kind words onto the team at Stirling. Lorna Padden More 

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.1 km away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
0.4 km away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#11 of 22 in Stirling
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 22 in Stirling
127 reviews
3.0 km away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 22 in Stirling
439 reviews
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stirling Youth Hostel is situated in the Old Town of Stirling, offering 4-star budget accommodation with 92 beds. A range of multi-share and private rooms are available at Stirling Youth Hostel, all en-suite. Facilities include a self-catering kitchen, dining room, two separate common areas and a meeting room for private use. This licensed youth hostel also offers meals to guests. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stirling Youth Hostel

Address: Stirling Youth Hostel St. John Street, Stirling FK8 1EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Price Range: $54 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stirling Youth Hostel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Stirling Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirling Youth Hostel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stirling Youth Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Stirling Youth Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are a motorcyclist make sure to ask for a room on a lower level.”
 of 5 bubbles Suzi650, 21 Jul 2015 | Read review
“A view over the back of the hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles Macaloou, 12 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Book a private room!”
 of 5 bubbles nualaloula, 12 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Choose something towards the back of the building as the swing doors and extractor fan of the kitchen can be rather noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles DrMooSR, 24 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Go for a private room if you can afford it. It is not a busy hostel, so they will probably always have one available.”
 of 5 bubbles muddysox, 24 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay