We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Stirling Youth Hostel

Booking.comUS$41*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Stirling Youth Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 63: English reviews
Start your review of Stirling Youth Hostel
 Click to rate
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is a fe minutes walk from the castle and from a number of bars and restaurants. there is a cemetery in the hostel's yard which is a little creepy (or cool...) the room itself was small, the beds weren't comfortable, the shower was made out of nirosta, it was small and they didn't provide any shower jel or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zuckerdave
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for posting. I am sorry to read your commnets and apolagise for any inconvience. we would like to understand more your issues, could you please email the manager on: trossachsgroupmanager@syha.org.uk Lorna Padden

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here only one night. The room had two separated tiny beds. There were no sheets, only a cover which you were suposed to remove and leave downstairs as well as the towels. The shower was disgusting. They were quite rude.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beni G
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for posting. I am very disappointed to read this as this is not the normal service we prove, our beds are all fully made each day, so we would like to understand more about this and ensure you are describing our property. Could you please email the manager on trossachsgroupmanager@syha.org.uk We are vey keen to understand the issues...

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the youth hostel in Stirling, great location in the heart of to, near Stirling Castle. The 4 bed dorm has its own toilet and shower. My bed had a few springs so I slept on top of the quilt and got another cover. Kitchen is clean and big plus they serve meals. Plus they have a car park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona T
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Many thnansk for taking the time to post, much appreciate dand we will let our team know about your kind commnets. Thanks Lorna

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 13 August 2016

The worst experience I have ever had staying with YHA!!! (1) The hostel is just 10 -15 minutes walk to Stirling Castle which is located on the hill. So I had to wheel my heavy suitcase all the way uphill to the hostel. That's absolutely a challenge. If you don't have anything with you, that could be a nice walk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank greattriphaha
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Many thanks for taking the time to post and let us know about your stay. Unfortunately we are unable to do anything in respect of the location or not having a lift, but we do state all this in our information. We do have lockers in all our rooms, and padlocks are available to buy at recpetipn. I have...

Reviewed 25 July 2016

Clean and friendly. John was an excellent host who had many interesting stories and tips about what to do in the area. We showed up late for breakfast by a half hour (our own stupidity) and still got to eat. John kept the food out until we had eaten because he knew we hadn't shown up yet. We didn't realize...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Many thanks for your very kind review, we will be sure to pass on your very kind words to Johgn our Chef, this is really appreciated. tahnk Youy Lorna Padden

Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Long uphill walk to the hostel and the staff were not welcoming and also not telling me what the check out time was which resulted in getting woken by a thud at the door and someone saying "hurry up" ,was just a all round terrible experience and will not be returning and would not recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George G
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Tyhank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am diosappopinted to read your commnets as this is not the normal service standards at Stirling Youth Hostel and would like to understand more. If possible could you email our Group Manager, James Loudon on trossachsgroupmanager@syha.org.uk

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Youth hostel in a characterful converted church. Be ready for some urban climbing because the building is about halfway up Stirling's biggest hill. Unlike some other reviewers claim, however, I have never found it necessary to take a taxi (nowhere near that!!) to or from the station, and I carry a large heavy backpack. All dormitories appear to be en-suite,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven G
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for taking the time to post. I am disappointed to read some of your comnnets and will investigate these with the team. thanks Lorna Padden

Liege, Belgium
Reviewed 3 May 2016

We booked a private double room and everything was clean and as expected. We used the kitchen which was clean and well equipped. The situation is good and we easily found a parking spot for our car. Staff was friendly. We would come back if we'd travel to Stirling again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nanouchelue
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank You very much for your very kind comments, they are very much appreciated and we will be sure to let our team know. Lorna Padden

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 May 2016

I supposed to stay here for 4 days/3 nights but left only after 1 night. PROS: 1. This hostel has an amazing building and good view of the city. My view from my room in 2nd floor is beautiful. 2. Clean and well maintained. From toilet to room to kitchen to corridor,its clean. 3. Have a big kitchen that you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vinatraveler
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to post, we really appreciate it, and good to read that our team did look after you. We appreciate your kind comments about the hostel facilities, that is very much appreciated. Stirling Youth Hostel is normally a very busy hostel with lots of guests in the dining room and lounge, we do have a...

N Ireland
Reviewed 10 April 2016

I recently had an overnight stay in the youth hostel as part of Stirling Universities 'Sail & Stay'. I found the hostel very clean, Derrick was on hand at reception with a friendly welcome and advice on the town. I stayed in room 204, a twin room, the bed was comfortable and the room was warm and clean with bedlinen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NIrelandBeachcomber
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Wow, we have a convert. Thank you very much for such a great review, we really do appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience, we will pass this onto James. Caroline and their team. Thanks Lorna Padden

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.2 km away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.3 km away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 20 in Stirling
165 reviews
0.4 km away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
2.9 km away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
512 reviews
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stirling Youth Hostel is situated in the Old Town of Stirling, offering 4-star budget accommodation with 92 beds. A range of multi-share and private rooms are available at Stirling Youth Hostel, all en-suite. Facilities include a self-catering kitchen, dining room, two separate common areas and a meeting room for private use. This licensed youth hostel also offers meals to guests. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stirling Youth Hostel

Address: Stirling Youth Hostel St. John Street, Stirling FK8 1EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Price Range: $46 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stirling Youth Hostel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stirling Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirling Youth Hostel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stirling Youth Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Stirling Youth Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are a motorcyclist make sure to ask for a room on a lower level.”
Suzi650, 21 Jul 2015 | Read review
“A view over the back of the hostel.”
Macaloou, 12 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Book a private room!”
nualaloula, 12 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Choose something towards the back of the building as the swing doors and extractor fan of the kitchen can be rather noisy.”
DrMooSR, 24 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Go for a private room if you can afford it. It is not a busy hostel, so they will probably always have one available.”
muddysox, 24 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$41* /night
View Deal
Agoda.comUS$52
Hostelworld.comUS$49
Cancelon
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates