We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bay Strathmore Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Bay Strathmore Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

331 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 331: English reviews
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel had everything required to make a lovely stay, just a shame the town centre hasn't had more attention. We stayed as 2 couples, one being my in-laws who are in they're 70's (albeit, very fit). We had front rooms next door to each other with fantastic seaside views (don't forget to take your binoculars). Meals were superb, breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shammy29
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here two years ago and had brilliant time,this was even better,it was a Shearings five day inclusive break,fantastic value,the hotel is great,not too large and not draughty like some,all the staff are brilliant and seem to enjoy themselves even though they are working,special thanks to Cherelle who is a ray of sunshine,Chief barman Brett who should be given his...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank royjphillips
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer Thank you for your 5 star review of your recent Bay Inclusive break. I am pleased to read so many of the staff were mentioned in your review, and will pass on your compliments to them. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for your next break in Morecambe Joanna Wilkinson, Assistant Manager

Roytonian, England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have just returned from a 5 day Xmas break with my hubby and 93yr old mum and would like to thank the wonderful staff for making what could have been an awful time a really good one! I booked the holiday at quite short notice so was very impressed with our sea facing rooms, next door to each other on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NeighbOur9
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewers Thank you for taking time to review your Christmas break. I am so pleased to read your enjoyment and will pass on your compliments and feedback to the team. As we always say if you let us know what you need we'll do our best to accommodate. Hope to see you all back to the hotel in 2017...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

just returned from a great break here .the staff were brilliant especially majic our waiter you want to keep hold of him. the hotel was lovely and clean and warm too warm sometimes we had to turn the heating off . the food was excellent and plenty of it . the entertainment was very good especially dave davis. we really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank micksotv
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer Thank you for your review, I will pass on your compliments to Maciej and Dave Davis. I am surprised to read your comments regarding the bar closing times and will follow this up with our Bars Manager and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great break Joanna Wilkinson, Assistant Manager

sheerness
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

had a brilliant 5 day break with shearings coach holiday hotel in good location right on sea front roo very good had room 307 staff were excellent food very good standard and choice entertainment very good we had a very good time will certainly go back thanks to all

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SheernessDavann
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your 5 star review of your stay in room 307. I am so pleased to read you enjoyed the beautiful sea views. I will pass on your compliments to the kitchen and entertainment teams. We look forward to welcoming you back for a further fantastic break Joanna Wilkinson, Assistant Manager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Returned last Monday from a four day break on a national holiday although an ABC coach and driver picked us up and stayed with us for the tiur which turned out to be a good benefit as the coach was superior and the driver Craig was brilliant. The hotel was spotless ans our room was clean and warm my only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peterfrommanchester
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewers Pete & Sue Thank you for your review of room 208. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. TV's continue to be updated through the hotel, as part of our monthly upgrading and hotel maintenance program. I will pass on your compliments to housekeeping, Bar, Lucy and Maciej We look forward to welcoming you back to...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first visit to the Strathmore and we were not disappointed. The rooms were of a good standard although some of our more elderly companions did find the workings of the shower a little baffling. The food was of a good standard with a nice choice served by attentive polite staff in the evening, breakfast is buffet service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spence F
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer Thank you for your review. With a level promenade and frequent bus services from outside the hotel the location of the Strathmore is great for exploring the area. I will pass on your compliments to the entertainment team. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great value stay Joanna Wilkinson, Assistant Manager

Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just been on a four day national holiday what a brilliant time was had by everyone,hotel was clean in every place you went very nice bathrooms, the entertainment up to a very good standard .The staff in the dining room and also the bar lounge infact everyone concerned thank you for a very good weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dinky204
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer Ray Thank you for reviewing your weekend stay at the Strathmore hotel. I am pleased to read the staff, entertainment and cleanliness matched your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to hotel in the future Joanna Wilkinson, Assistant Manager

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here on a shearings holiday and it was a really enjoyable holiday.The food and the staff were excellent and the entertainment was very good .Bedrooms were cleaned daily and the hotel was clean throughout.We had some good excursions including a nice cruise on the canal.There was only one blemish on the trip was that the tour driver was so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kr8476
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer Thank you for your 5 star review of your holiday in Morecambe. I shall pass on your compliments to housekeeping, entertainment and the hotel team We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for your next enjoyable holiday Joanna Wilkinson, Assistant Manager

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Recently went on a Shearings coach holiday to this hotel.. very pleasant hotel looking directly over the Bay. Staff all charming. Really good food with plenty of choices Shearings ran a trip in to Blackpool to see the lights- nothing unusual except that they had hired several of the famous trams so we got to see the whole display in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anne l
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer Thank you for reviewing your autumn trip to Morecambe. The tram ride through the illuminations has been extremely popular and has been noted by the product department. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Morecambe and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future Joanna Wilkinson,...

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morecambe hotels
1.0 km away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#3 of 11 in Morecambe
165 reviews
1.8 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 11 in Morecambe
2,208 reviews
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Lothersdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#9 of 11 in Morecambe
253 reviews
2.2 km away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Morecambe
233 reviews
0.1 km away
Headway Hotel
Headway Hotel
#6 of 11 in Morecambe
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Superbly located on the beautiful East Promenade of Morecambe, this hotel is in a great location overlooking the Bay and Lakeland Fells. The beautiful restaurant and cocktail bar is complemented by the stunning sea view across Morecambe Bay. The pleasant bar and lounges also have a great ambience in which to relax and enjoy the warm and friendly hospitality. The Strathmore benefits from a lift to all floors and there is plenty of parking available in the hotel car park which is located on the promenade. This hotel is close to many attractions and places of interest, but also offers the perfect base from which to explore the neighbouring Lake District and Lancaster. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Strathmore Hotel

Address: Marine Road East, Morecambe LA4 5AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Price Range: $48 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Strathmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Strathmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathmore Hotel Morecambe
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morecambe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Strathmore Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Strathmore Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room with a view, we paid extra, I think it was £7 each but worth every penny”
 of 5 bubbles shammy29, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at front have lovely sea view but traffic could be a problem if windows are open”
 of 5 bubbles NeighbOur9, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“top floor at the front great views and refurbed rooms we had 309”
 of 5 bubbles micksotv, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“best views from rooms at front”
 of 5 bubbles SheernessDavann, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we had a front room but it would be quieter in the back”
 of 5 bubbles dinky204, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay