We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hollin House Hotel & Restaurant

Save
Share
Jackson Lane, Macclesfield SK10 5BG England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
US$80
View deal
FindHotelUS$80
Booking.comUS$80
Hotels.comUS$80
Expedia.comUS$80
eDreamsUS$80
TravelocityUS$80
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (496)
Room & Suite (101)
Dining (84)

About

#8 of 9 hotels in Macclesfield
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Standing elegantly in landscaped grounds, Hollin House Hotel & Restaurant offers a tranquil retreat in one of Britain's most beautiful locations. The 19th Century Victorian House is set in four acres of wooded gardens, situated on the edge of the glorious Peak District, which brings a sense of occasion to any visit.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Room service
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
752Reviews15Q+A93Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 247
  • 208
  • 149
  • 86
  • 62
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Gaynor W wrote a review May 15
1 contribution
We recently came to Hollin for an al fresco afternoon tea (despite the pouring down rain). I was a bit sceptical wondering if we might be a tad cold but the teepee was amazing! The heating kept the chill away but of course, we did wrap up warm! The selection of cakes was delightful and the carrot cake was just perfect! We'll be back soon I'm sure :)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Hudspith, Marketing at Hollin House Hotel & Restaurant
Responded yesterday
Lovely feedback to read gaynorw967, many thanks The teepee has proved very popular since its arrival here at Hollin, so pleasing to see we welcomed another happy guest during this challenging period. Great comments regarding the cake - our Head Chef will be thrilled! Thanks again for visiting - you'll have to consider a retuirn trip for Sunday Lunch - for £16 per person for 2 courses & half a bottle, of wine, great food & great value! Kind regards
Read more
Steady traveller wrote a review May 12
Manchester, United Kingdom3 contributions3 helpful votes
Very unwelcoming lady dressed in a tracksuit stated she wasn’t working that day but would help me out. Gave my reason for staying yet she wanted to be a little bit more nosey and cause a scene in reception. After unwillingly explaining my personal circumstances she said “it f*****g infuriates me” at this point I felt very on edge and not welcome at all. After saying to the lady I don’t feel welcome anymore and how rude she was swearing at me she changed her tune very quickly and decided to let me stay “if I didn’t leave my room”. Let’s say by the time I got my key I was ready to leave and couldn’t wait to check out the following day and moved into a better hotel down the road. The renovation they claim to have been doing is still very much ongoing as the room felt grubby and fixtures and fittings was loose. For the price you pay in a “superior room” and the tracksuit dress code for staff I wouldn’t waste your time here guys it’s got rude staff and grubby rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Gari P wrote a review Dec. 2020
Macclesfield, United Kingdom296 contributions103 helpful votes
+1
Visited on on overnight spa break. The room was immaculate and trendy, wooden floors made it a little noisy from other residents but not an issue, the spa facilities and massage were spectacular. Lunch, dinner and breakfast were of exceptionally high quality and delicious. The staff bar one were extremely friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Extremely covid safe. A great experience. Thanks to all involved
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Hudspith, Marketing at Hollin House Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 2 weeks ago
Many thanks for the feedback Gari, much appreciated. See you again soon hopefully
Read more
NickandLinda wrote a review Dec. 2020
Kerridge, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
We went for Sunday lunch today and what a tonic it was ! We were welcomed in with a roaring fire and distinctly festive atmosphere. Had a fantastic traditional three course lunch including Turkey and all the trimmings and a gorgeous treacle pudding all washed down with a glass of wine. It felt like normal again which was a great feeling. The staff were very friendly and helpful too. Strongly recommend a visit we will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Hudspith, Marketing at Hollin House Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 2 weeks ago
A lovely review - many thanks NickandLinda. Happy Christmas...belatedly!
Read more
Nicola D wrote a review Nov. 2020
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom2735 contributions444 helpful votes
+1
The Tudor Gothic style building is very impressive from outside with a castellated tower although the gardens need some work to tidy them up. It was very much in keeping with the Halloween weekend when we stayed. It is in a nice village with a canal and other walks nearby. The hotel has changed hands this year and I believe that renovations are in progress. There are some shabby areas, marked dining chairs and worn carpets. However the lounge looks lovely although we did not use it. Face masks must be worn by guests when walking around the hotel, although this doesn’t seem to apply to the staff! There was hand gel at the entrance (empty when we arrived but replenished later), at the top of the stairs and at the entrance to the restaurant. My husband and I stayed for 2 nights the weekend before the 2nd lockdown. We had booked it as a Groupon deal; 2 nights B & B with an evening meal on the first night with bottle of wine. I had emailed over a week before to book a time for our evening meal and request a room with a nice view as it was a special wedding anniversary. I was assured by Saskia that the meal was booked and she had put a note on the booking about our anniversary. We duly arrived and the receptionist was oblivious to our request and our meal was NOT booked so we had to re-arrange! There was no apology. The receptionist who checked us in was efficient but not exactly welcoming. I was also surprised (and horrified) when she licked her finger before leafing through the booking forms to find ours! As she did not wear a mask I assumed that she must have missed the Covid 19 briefing. All the younger staff and restaurant staff were friendly and wore masks in the entrance hall. The entrance hall is welcoming with a large open fire and central staircase decorated for Halloween. Fire doors on the way to our room did not close properly as they were swollen (or had too many layers of paint on) which was concerning. It’s not difficult to plane a door! Our room was in the newer part of the building, an extension. The door to our room was also swollen and the only way to shut it was to slam it very hard! Apologies to our neighbours! The room on first inspection was modern and nicely decorated although one light bulb had blown and there was only one bedside light which was not bright enough to read by. The bedding was nice and the bed reasonably comfortable. The bathroom was another matter! The basin had a crack in it, there was a long black hair in it and the basin taps did not match. The tiles were painted over and in places the white paint was peeling off and black mould was growing in the gaps. The water was VERY hot, the shower head was almost hanging off the wall and the angle was not adjustable so you had to either hold the shower head or stand right up to the taps. The towels were big and fluffy however. There was complimentary shower gel and shampoo. There was enough tea, coffee and milk for the first day. We knew that the room would not be serviced while we were there due to Covid so we helped ourselves from the trolley in the corridor the next morning. On our first night we had a fantastic evening meal in the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was exceptional and beautifully presented and was included in our deal along with a bottle of Prosecco (see separate restaurant review). Breakfast on the first morning was OK. No buffet due to Covid. We both had fresh fruit salad and yogurt, toast and a freshly cooked full English breakfast. Unfortunately my bacon was so hard I could not eat it. The second morning the bacon was fine but there was NO fruit available, only yogurt! We enjoyed our stay at Hollin House but there is room for improvement and the hotel is definitely ‘work in progress.’ I would certainly stay again at a favourable rate. The setting is great and a good base for walking in the beautiful Peak District. We walked through Bollington village and along the canal and also up a steep hill to ‘White Nancy.’
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Location
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Hudspith, Marketing at Hollin House Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 2 weeks ago
Many thanks for such a comprehensive review Nicola - much appreciated & your comments will obviously be shared with the team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$56 - US$125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hollin Hall Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCheshireMacclesfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
59
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hollin House Hotel & Restaurant
Which popular attractions are close to Hollin House Hotel & Restaurant?
Nearby attractions include White Nancy (0.8 km), The Holly Bush Bollington (0.7 km), and The Poachers Inn (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hollin House Hotel & Restaurant?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hollin House Hotel & Restaurant?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hollin House Hotel & Restaurant?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hollin House Hotel & Restaurant?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Lime Tree, TAPA Small Plates & Wine Bar, and Briscola Restaurant and Wine bar.
Are pets allowed at Hollin House Hotel & Restaurant?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hollin House Hotel & Restaurant offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Hollin House Hotel & Restaurant?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Adlington Hall (4.3 km) and St Alban's RC Church (4.2 km).
Does Hollin House Hotel & Restaurant have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Hollin House Hotel & Restaurant accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.