We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tor-na-Coille

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tor-na-Coille
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tor-na-Coille
See the most recent reviews
Showing 331: English reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Staff very friendly and helpful, go out of their way to make sure you are well looked after. I attended a wedding at the hotel and the event staff make sure everything is perfect, always willing to go the extra mile.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annette M
tornacoille48, Receptionist at Tor-na-Coille, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and you had a relaxed and wonderful time here at Tor-Na-Coille Hotel. We look forward to your return. Thank you

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We have just returned from a night at Tor na Coille, the hotel is great, rooms are great large with lovely bathrooms. The Scottish breakfast was the best hotel breakfast I have ever had. Location and service fabulous , an from Feb 1st the hotel will also have a gym. highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan W
tornacoille48, receptionist at Tor-na-Coille, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed the food and the service and you had a relaxed and wonderful time here at Tor-Na-Coille Hotel. We look forward to your return. Thank you

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We stayed as a family group of 6 adults, a 15 year old and a 4 month old. Our rooms were excellent, very comfortable with good ensuite bathrooms (baths with showers over). There is a nice lounge (with grouped seating areas allowing a feel of privacy and the pleasure of a larger ambience), a small bar (with a good range...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pamela8833
tornacoille48, Front Office Manager at Tor-na-Coille, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you and your family enjoyed the surroundings and celebrations over Hogmanay at the Hotel. It is a lovely time of year and we hope we will see you again in 2017. Thank you

Bonnybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2016

This hotel is just on the outskirts of the town. The staff were friendly, the rooms are a decent size, and there is plenty of parking at the hotel. I would recommend this hotel if you are in Banchory or the surrounding area.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John M
tornacoille48, Front Office Manager at Tor-na-Coille, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologise for the delay in responding. Thank you for your recommendation, we really do appreciate it. Thank you

Cle Elum, Washington
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We recently stayed the Tor-na-Coille as part of our small group tours and we were satisfied on every level. The most important thing for us in accommodations is the attitude of the people welcome into contact with first. Our greeting could not have been any nicer or more welcoming! We were treated to first class customer service and friendly staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ScottishDreamTours
tornacoille48, Front Office Manager at Tor-na-Coille, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We very much enjoyed having your group to stay and look forward to you coming again - Don't leave it too long.

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

I was impressed with the food and service. Food was fresh and tasty. Got a friendly service from the staff Had a wonderful time. Very relaxed, lovely food and absolutely great service. I will definitely recommend to everyone. We willl be back again. Thanks to everyone

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariam1256
tornacoille48, Front Office Manager at Tor-na-Coille, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed the food and the service and you had a relaxed and wonderful time here at Tor-Na-Coille Hotel. We look forward to your return. Thank you

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We stayed here for one night and loved the place. The staff were all friendly and couldn't do enough to help you. We stayed in a lovely, cozy room which was spacious with a large cosy bed , giving me the best sleep I've had in months. We had dinner and breakfast too and would recommend both. Can't wait to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fusion42
tornacoille48, Front Office Manager at Tor-na-Coille, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear you had 'the best nights sleep in months' and you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit. Don't leave it too long!

Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

After reading one review in particular that was less than complimentary, I am very pleased to say that our stay was perfect. The staff couldn't have done anymore for us, the room was very comfortable & well appointed and the dining room served delicious dinner & breakfast. A previous reviewer mentioned the lack of a working lift, but staff offered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth G
tornacoille48, Front Office Manager at Tor-na-Coille, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing your review of your stay with us. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed being with us. Thank you for your understanding about the lift not working. We are aware that we need to get this attended to as soon as we are able. We hope that you will return and stay...

Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewed 21 September 2016

2 nights for the Balmoral Games. Very friendly helpful staff in a hotel that needs some serious renovation. No hot water first night, then fire alarm during dinner! Of course food was cold when we were allowed back into the restaurant. Thankfully did get a discount on the room rate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David E
tornacoille48, Front Office Manager at Tor-na-Coille, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us for the Balmoral Games and hope you will come again next year. We do have to evacuate the Hotel when the fire alarm goes off, however I do apologise for any inconvenience Kind Regards

Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Well worth the venture North as this hotel is beautiful. Peaceful and laid back with lovely, helpful staff. Food was also lovely and would definitely recommend a stay here. Lift might be a problem for some but we were on the 1st floor so wasn't that much of an issue for us- would have been with heavy cases though. All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee Anne C
tornacoille48, Front Office Manager at Tor-na-Coille, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banchory
0.9 km away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 4 in Banchory
532 reviews
3.6 km away
Raemoir House Hotel
Raemoir House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Raemoir
288 reviews
31.1 km away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.7 km away
Burnett Arms Hotel
Burnett Arms Hotel
#4 of 4 in Banchory
158 reviews
23.1 km away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautiful 4-Star Country House Hotel in the heart of Royal deeside. Offering luxury accommodation where the care and attention of our guests is paramount. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tor-na-Coille

Address: Inchmarlo Road | Royal Deeside, Banchory AB31 4AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banchory
Price Range: $136 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tor-na-Coille 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsClick and Booking.com so you can book your Tor-na-Coille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor-Na-Coille Hotel Banchory
Tor-Na-Coille Banchory, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tor-na-Coille staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The middle floors have perhaps a better aspect and can be less hot than the upper floor.”
 of 5 bubbles ihammie, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Very pleasant Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 520albertf, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Family Room is master bedroom ensuite + small twin room off it for children, well worth the slightly higher room rate.”
 of 5 bubbles Pamela8833, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The hotel is well back from the road so any room will be quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles R580CDjohnm, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor due to permanently broken lift!”
 of 5 bubbles Picturesofu, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5