We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

New Birchfield Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weston-super-Mare
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 116: English reviews
Start your review of New Birchfield Hotel
 Click to rate
kent
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a party of 53 who occupied all the bedrooms at the New Birchfield plus 3 rooms in the New Ocean. We travelled by coach with an excellent driver and were greeted on arrival. We were given an introductory talk and our luggage was delivered to the rooms. The whole hotel looked as if it had recently been decorated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jannimags
Gerald R, Owner at New Birchfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comprehensive review. We are really pleased all your group enjoyed your holiday with us and hope to welcome you all again in the future.

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

30 family members aged between 15 and 90 have just enjoyed an amazing weekend, to celebrate our surprise wedding,!! We had room 509 a fantastic view and large room ,The hotel could not have done anyone for us ,thank you so much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarenDurrant21
Gerald R, Owner at New Birchfield Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased everyone enjoyed their stay with us and we were more than happy to help with the surprise element of the weekend! We hope to welcome you all again in the future.

Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

We chose this for a last minute break. It had the disabled facilities we needed and was also dog friendly. Lovely views overlooking the children's paddling pool and causeway, so we always had a seaview whether the tide was in or out. Nice clean rooms very helpful friendly staff. We received a lovely welcome from Kate the receptionist but I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
Gerald R, Owner at New Birchfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a long weekend for my husband's Royal Navy reunion. Easy to find, but only 8 car park spaces for a hotel this size was a bit bizarre. Upon arrival, check in was relatively easy. Room was average, a little tired looking, but clean. Shower was awful! No matter how much I tried to regulate it,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louise C
Gerald R, Owner at New Birchfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you had problems with your shower and toilet whilst you were with us. 7pm dinner was at the request of your group organisers as we do normally serve dinner at 6pm but hope you enjoyed your stay with us.

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

We meet up at the hotel for a naval reunion last weekend wow what an amazing venue The rooms are comfortable, clean with tea making facilities. We stayed on the all inclusive option which all I can say was amazing value, The hotel is very close to the sea and the town, well worth a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank perceyx
Gerald R, Owner at New Birchfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you all had a good reunion and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you all again.

Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2017

just had a couple of days at this hotel,really enjoyed my stay with 50 lads and lasses from the navy,staff were fantastic breakfast and evening meal a delight and of course the free bar was a plus, just like to say a big thank you to all the staff who made us feel very welcome

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamie54uk
Gerald R, Owner at New Birchfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are please the reunion went well and everyone enjoyed themselves. We hope to see you all again in the future.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Stayed at the birchfield in Oct took two residents unfortunately one had an accident in the bed. After we got a cover for the mattress. I have used the hotel many times no one said that this was a problem at the time. Tried to book just had a very rude telephone conversation with one of the owners who said...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank njohnson69
Gerald R, Owner at New Birchfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments.

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2017

A large group of us took over the hotel to celebrate a Birthday, apart from a few couples. The staff are all polite and friendly, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The cooked breakfast was nice. The evening meal was good value for the price we paid and included free drinks between 6 and 10 (wine not to special)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KAREN S
Gerald R, Owner at New Birchfield Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased you all enjoyed the birthday celebrations and the food and drink over the weekend. We hope to welcome you all again in the future.

London
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We had a good weekend at the Birchfield we were with a big group our rooms were good but our shower was hopeless with only a trickle and took ages to warm up. The entertainment was really good which is why we enjoyed our stay we also got free drinks although the wine was sooooo not good. The food definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holly60London
Gerald R, Owner at New Birchfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased your party had a good weekend with us and I am sorry if you didn't enjoy the food as most of our guests do. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We visited this hotel as we usually stay in its sister hotel the ocean but it was full.anyway the rooms were great very clean maybe a lick of paint wouldnt hurt.a d a toilet brush would be handy .so what do you get for £129 you get 2 nights stay, two 3 course meals and 2 breakfast also a FREE...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim P
Gerald R, Owner at New Birchfield Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you here or in the Ocean Hotel in the near future.

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#5 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
1,339 reviews
0.5 km away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
785 reviews
0.5 km away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#1 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
423 reviews
0.4 km away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#14 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
163 reviews
0.7 km away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about New Birchfield Hotel

Address: 8-9 Manilla Crescent, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Number of rooms: 53
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from New Birchfield Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Wales, United Kingdom
15 days ago
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Ammanford, United Kingdom
Swansea, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from New Birchfield Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea View rooms best.”
jannimags, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“all nice and clean”
ginger1955, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms convenient for disabled”
helenteresa40, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pay a little extra for a sea view room.”
Linalot1, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Seaview rooms worth the extra.”
pamelac970, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5