We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3476 Laurier Street, New Hazelton, Kitimat-Stikine District, British Columbia V0J 2J0 Canada
Booking.com
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (31)

About

#1 of 2 hotels in New Hazelton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Robber’s Roost Motel in scenic New Hazelton in Northwestern BC brings spectacular views of Mt. Roche de Boule for all guests to enjoy. The Robber’s Roost Motel is a must-stop before traveling to or from the Yukon Territory or Alaska via the Stewart-Cassiar Highway. Treat yourself to a unique experience of excellent customer service, clean, comfortable guest rooms designed to rejuvenate you, relax you, and prepare you for a new day. Enjoy everything the Hazeltons have to offer including hiking, fishing, swimming, wildlife-viewing, and many cultural activities. This is home to the world-famous, Kispiox River where record-size steelhead trout are found and totem poles scatter the landscape. Don’t miss the ‘Ksan Historical Museum & Gift Shop located in Historic Old Hazelton across the Hagwilget Suspension Bridge. From the motel, there is access to many hiking trails offering all levels from easy to extremely difficult…your choice! While relaxing at the motel, you can enjoy scenic views, BBQ on the veranda, pick and eat fruits and vegetables from the private garden or walk across the street to Allen Park for a stroll or workout. All guest rooms are equipped with fridge, microwave, coffee, custom amenities, 40” flat screen cable TV, and free Wi-fi. Kitchenettes available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Children's television networks
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
104Reviews0Q+A25Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 63
  • 32
  • 5
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Robert N wrote a review Jul. 2022
7 contributions
Very clean basic rooms with a convenient location just off the highway. Beds were comfortable and staff was very friendly and efficient. If you like lots of water pressure in the shower you won’t be disappointed. We found this area had more hotel availability as Terrace and Smithers were completely booked up. Very glad we stopped here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: No a/c but fan was provided that did the trick
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
LoveBC wrote a review Jul. 2022
5 contributions
This motel has clean rooms with all the basics. Friendly staff—the owner and the housekeepers. It’s a great location from which to walk up to the falls, and there is modern exercise park next door good, too.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MyleHigh wrote a review Aug. 2021
Calgary, Canada107 contributions28 helpful votes
I can't believe so highly rated. When you walk into the door, you are greeted with the smell of wet dog. There's not any digs in your room but it smells like the walls were painted with ones tongue. If you walk to the back of the building, you will see that the bathroom window for every single room is open. I'm guessing to air them out? I thought it was nasty but if you like dogs though, this might not be an issue. No air conditioning. 12" fan instead. Floors squeak and I'm on the top floor. I feel bad for whoever is on the ground floor. Did you forget a razor? No worries. The pressure from the shower will allow the water to skin you smooth. This is the highest pressure show I have ever seen. I actually like that though. In room fridge has a decent sized freezer. Wifi is ok. Towels are really old. Beds are hard It's quiet. Front desk girl was nice but wasn't wearing a mask and it's mandatory in this province. If you've lost your sense of smell, this place actually isn't horrible. Otherwise, drive 1.5 hours either way to a better hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
GwenVancouver2011 wrote a review Jul. 2021
Gibsons, Canada42 contributions26 helpful votes
Planned to stay 1 night, the beds were so comfortable we stayed an additional night. Best water pressure in northern BC means the best showers. Owner couldn’t have been more accommodating. Picnic tables, lawn chairs & gas bbqs available right outside the door. She will help you with anything you might need. Super clean & quiet.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Any room is a good room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Deb wrote a review Aug. 2020
Vernon, Canada3 contributions
Perfectly fine place to stay. Nice shower, easy check-in/out, comfortable beds and pillows. Loads of parking. Nice safe area to walk. Pretty mountain view out the window. Very clean. Park right across the street.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunny Lee, Owner at Robber's Roost Motel
Responded Aug. 27, 2020
Thank you for complimenting the ROOST. Thank you for staying at the ROOST. All the best greeting to you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jarod B wrote a review Sep. 2019
1 contribution
Had an absolutely fantastic stay!! Sunny the new owner is fantastic! Rooms were great! And she was a huge help in getting us a few steelhead too! We will be back next year for sure! Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the region!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Compass45698063735, Manager at Robber's Roost Motel
Responded Oct. 5, 2019
Thank you for staying at the ROOST. I really appreciated your review and complimenting the ROOST. I am looking forward to seeing you next year. All the best wishes to you!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dogtooth1947 wrote a review Aug. 2019
Golden, Canada121 contributions30 helpful votes
We were camping, but tenting in the rain has little appeal. Room was clean, beds comfortable. Had a pet friendly room as we were traveling with a our dog. Not fancy but adequate. Seemed to be a safe area next to a park.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Compass45698063735, Manager at Robber's Roost Motel
Responded Aug. 27, 2019
Thank you for staying at the ROOST. Hopefully you had a cozy night at the ROOST. Please let us know if we can do better. All the best to you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BFois wrote a review Aug. 2019
16 contributions9 helpful votes
Had to clean bathroom that was full of spiders. Was a freshly hatched batch so all over the shower and walls. Requested to check out a day early...was given a to bad as the money was already processed line from the owner. We requested again to get a refund and she refused. Not impressed with this place and will not stay again. Especially with the crap the owner was trying to feed us and attitude. Not pleasant in any way and upsetting.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Compass45698063735, Manager at Robber's Roost Motel
Responded Aug. 28, 2019
Thank you for the review of the ROOST, where I am proud of being at. Please you need to let us know at the spot what we should do, we always checked every corner, from top to bottom though. Late checking in are always welcome though, Late checking out is already blocked for the next guest. Which is what I have to figure out in good way. All the best to you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donna C wrote a review Jul. 2019
13 contributions4 helpful votes
We had a worry as this was small town and we weren’t sure what to expect. And it was beyond expectations. Clean, friendly, helpful, with barbecues for cooking, picnic tables and chairs right at the motel. We had a barbecue with us but didn’t even take it out of the truck. The rooms were very clean with good amenities as would suit any motel. The couple who own it were very friendly and showed interested in us. I should probably give it a five but we had to clean the barbecue before using it. That was our only small grumble. Great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda-at-the-Roost, Owner at Robber's Roost Motel
Responded Aug. 4, 2019
OH, THANK YOU for the wonderful review! AND for letting us know how we can earn a 5* review next time you stay. It was so nice having you here at the ROOST!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cwill4573 wrote a review Jul. 2019
Kelowna, Canada41 contributions20 helpful votes
Found the hotel to be clean, with friendly staff. Good location, quiet. Nice parklike grounds to take a break in! Small kitchenette was equiped with everything you need to make a simple meal. Comfortable bed (that's important !).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda-at-the-Roost, Owner at Robber's Roost Motel
Responded Aug. 4, 2019
Very nice review! Thank you very much for staying with us at the ROOST! I hope we'll see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$94 - US$108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaKitimat-Stikine DistrictNew Hazelton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Robber's Roost Motel - UPDATED 2022 Prices, Reviews & Photos (New Hazelton, British Columbia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Robber's Roost Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Robber's Roost Motel?
Nearby attractions include Hagwilget Canyon Bridge (0.9 km), Ksan Historical Village (4.7 km), and Ksan Historical Village and Museum (5.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Robber's Roost Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and baggage storage.
What food & drink options are available at Robber's Roost Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Robber's Roost Motel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Robber's Roost Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Skeena Bakery, Zelda's Travel Mug Cafe, and The Hazeltons' Deli.
Is Robber's Roost Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of New Hazelton.
Are there any historical sites close to Robber's Roost Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ksan Historical Village (4.7 km).
Does Robber's Roost Motel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.