Chateau Du Lac B&B

Chateau Du Lac B&B

1138 Gregory Rd, West Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3A6 Canada
Traveller (91)
Pool & Beach (22)
Room & Suite (21)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 2 small hotels in West Kelowna
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Escape and be our guest at Le Château du Lac Boutique B&B. A charming jewel in the heart of wine country with magnificent views of the Okanagan Lake. Sit on an acre of land surrounded by orchards, vineyards and within walking distance to the famous Quails' Gate & Mission Hill award-winning wineries; and only a short driving distance from local attractions, such as world-class golf courses, fine dining restaurants, beautiful beaches & parks and downtown Kelowna. A Le Château Du Lac....it's a unique retreat experience... not just a place to stay!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Golf course
Adults only
BBQ facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Coffee shop
Breakfast in the room
Board games / puzzles
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Business

Location

1138 Gregory Rd, West Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3A6 Canada
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 43 out of 100
43
Kelowna Airport
18.1 km
See all flights
Penticton Airport
42.6 km
See all flights
82Reviews1Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 79
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Magikbus wrote a review Dec 2017
6 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Now that I’m home I want to write about my stay at le Chateau du Lac in September. My wife and I stayed there for 3 days and it was a thoroughly wonderful experience. The B&B itself is set up perfectly for a high end accommodation. The room was spotless, the furnishings stylish, luxurious and tasteful. The entire home was decorated in impeccably good taste. The location across the lake from Kelowna proper is within walking distance of numerous wineries, all with tasting rooms, and some with very high end restaurants. The views of the lake are astounding, and sitting out on the balcony on beautiful sunny mornings was among the best breakfast experiences we have ever had even after visiting 5 continents. The food as prepared by Keyla the proprietor was a delicious blend of locally sourced very fresh fruit, perfectly prepared custom designed omelettes accompanied by our choice of gluten free breads. Having delicious meals such as those prepared by Keyla specifically to our specifications is a perk we know is reserved for only the very best of high end accommodations anywhere in the world. Altogether a enjoyable, relaxing experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Keyla, the B & B proprietor is flexible and accommodating to your wishes.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Keyla O, Owner at Chateau Du Lac B&B
Responded Feb 13, 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, I hope to see you again soon! :) Keyla Owner, Chateau du Lac
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Naomi L wrote a review May 2017
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at Chateau du Lac was very comfortable and relaxing. Our hostess was lovely—charming, friendly, relaxed, gracious. The room was gorgeous. It was so quiet and peaceful. We had a wonderful, restful sleep. In the morning we woke, had a walk through a vineyard, showered in the ultra deluxe multi-headed shower, after which we were treated to a scrumptious breakfast. It was so hearty, I ended up saving my delicious omelette for dinner (no lunch needed)! The view is spectacular. It would be a lovely way to spend an afternoon, sitting by the pool, or under the cherry trees torn between reading a good book and gazing on the beauty of the lake and the Okanagan hills. We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KD wrote a review May 2018
Vancouver, Canada140 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for two nights and everything was absolutely perfect. Breakfast is to die for with the lake view, super tasty and fresh. The property is divine. The hosts make us feel at home. The pool is clean and well maintained. The garden is full of beautiful flowers and fruit trees. Apparently you can pick all the fruits we can eat in late summer. Right now in May the fruit trees are blossoming with baby fruit. We are glad we picked this place over a 4 start hotel in town. We highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Kelowna. We can’t wait to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Keyla O, Owner at Chateau Du Lac B&B
Responded Jun 5, 2018
Hi Knewy, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It really means the world to us. I am so glad you had a great stay...I hope to see you again! Sincerely, Keyla
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
R B wrote a review Oct 2017
1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I were on honeymoon and travelled all over Canada. We picked here because of the good reviews. We left after 1 night forfeiting a considerable amount of money. It was the only bad experience during our trip. The host was awful, very peculiar, unfriendly and all in all we were made to feel like we couldn't relax there. If you're middle aged, into golf and like Porsches, this place will be right up your street. If not, do yourself a favour....steer clear and save your cash. Go somewhere with an atmosphere and character like we did afterwards.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Keyla O, Owner at Chateau Du Lac B&B
Responded Oct 25, 2017
Dear Mr. and Mrs. B, I am sorry to read you were so unhappy with your stay with us. We are always thrilled to have newlyweds join us (you were our 15th this summer!) and I am always excited to make it extra special. Unfortunately, you left without any notice or communication that you were unhappy, and I was unable to provide the little extras (champagne, etc,) that I give to all our newlyweds. I did however upgrade you to our master suite for your first night as it was available, and I wanted your first night with us to be extra special. I understand all bed and breakfast experiences reflect the owner's sense of style and personality and therefore Chateau du Lac may not be for everyone. I wish we could have been a more positive experience for you, and more along your sense of taste and comfort level. Regardless, I am happy to hear you did enjoy the rest of your honeymoon. Kind regards, Keyla Owner Chateau du Lac
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
V C wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I don’t understand why this B&B Chateau Du Lac have such great reviews. This place does not deserve 5 stars rating what so ever. That’s what got me suckered from booking at this place. With all these wonderful reviews about this place. I notice all these good reviews when I was looking for a place to stay in Kelowna that weekend on hotels booking website. I was at first skeptical with booking at Chateau Du Lac and since I am more of a hotel type of person and also my bf. But I looked at the place and it looked nice on the picture but the good review is what got me to book this place. I asked my bf before booking but he said he trusts my taste so I went ahead and booked it. Upon arriving Keyla the owner of this B&B called me asking what time will I be arriving. I did not know we needed to check in between a certain time since she’s the owner and she said she had a meeting and needed to get groceries for breakfast tomorrow. I told her she can do what she needed to do and we can wait for her once she comes back from her meeting which was done at 830pm. The check in was 4pm to 6pm. But that was fine. We were in no rush and wanted her to go on with what she planned. She did say she would just cancel her meeting to wait for our arrival but I felt bad and told her not to. I thought there was a Conceirge to check in since the place stated there was one. But there isn’t one! It was just her taking care of 6 guests... 3 couples. We booked a 2 night stay at this B&B with a hotel price. But it wasn’t hotel feel what so ever. Also it said no pets allowed so my bf and I assumed there weren’t going to be any pets but she has 2 CATS, 3 DOGS and a parot! I don’t mind the pets because I love them but at least Keyla should state that since my BF was ALLERGIC TO CATS! There weren’t just 1 CAT, but 2 CATS! We kept telling Keyla that my bf is allergic to CATS. She apologize and said she was going to put them away but she did not! She still let them roam around and especially at night and they kept coming around my bf. He literally locked himself in the room since Keyla wasn’t doing anything about the issue. She doesn’t wipe her dogs clean after they are let outside which I find disgusting because by the second day, there were dog and cat hair all over the floor! And she makes breakfast in the kitchen where they roam all night! She would also hold onto the dog and go back to making our breakfast which result to having find dog hair in my food! I didn’t like how Keyla would pick and choose who she wants to cater too. Because we were younger, and didn’t really respect our concerns and thinks we wouldn’t do anything about it. She made this delicious Cherrie jams from the cherries in her back yard. On the last day she told my bf and I, she won’t have jams for us because she ran out! But she gave 2 full jams to the other 2 couples that stayed there. I found that really rude of her. We told her we shared our jams with the couple yesterday and she had the nerve to say she will ask them. But the couple were sweet and wanted to share the jams with us. She also contradicts her house rules. She told us to never walk too loud around the house which we didn’t, but she would walk around thumping her foot on the floor. Also on the first day, she was heading out, she told me to tell my bf she’s sorry she needed to have her cats out even though we told her numerous of times he’s allergic to them. She did not respect any of our concerns what so ever and dismissed it. We came home around 1120pm that night to find that the numbers to open the door was not correct. On the 4th try, the alarm went off. So I called Keyla but she didn’t pick up. But luckily one of the guest open the door for us since he just got home. I thought Keyla was asleep but then all her animals were out roaming so I knew she wasn’t home then. She then comes home at 1pm but said she home at 1130pm so firmly but when I told her there’s no way because we came home at 1120pm and I didn’t sleep until 2am and I heard her open her bedroom door at 1am. At the end of the check out she knew we weren’t happy with the service and being treated like we weren’t her guests, she apologized and offered us 20% discount If we come back to stay at her B&B but I told her we can’t since my bf is allergic to her cats and if we knew she had cats there, we would never book at her home. So she said she wanted to make us happy and offered us one day refund. Also when I confronted her about us not being happy especially with the cars around my bf, her excuse was she put them in the office from 7am to 1pm. But what about his freedom to roam the place since we paid to stay at your B&B?? It was disappointing with her excuses. So she agreed that would make us happy and I was just going to leave it as that and go on with our lives. But shortly after she told hotel bookings that I cancelled the booking and never showed up at her B&B which resulted in them from taking 2 reward points from me on their website. I can’t believe Keyla would be so petty to tell them I canceled when she offered the refund due to her bad service! So this is why I’m writing this review because she bribes people with refunds hoping she doesn’t get a bad review online. If Keyla was genuine and honest in the first place she would still get her good reviews! But she doesn’t deserve it and also the place is dusty and the washroom knob was breaking down. Pictures are deceiving and the mattresses are very old, you can feel every shake when someone moves. Because of Keyla and how she hosted her B&B, I would never book at another B&B again and just stick to my hotels with my own privacy and no animals around either or having house rules when we pay premium hotel prices! She definitely treated me and my bf like we were a minority and that’s just a shame...
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from trav06489, Owner at Chateau Du Lac B&B
Responded Aug 8, 2019
So, I normally do not respond to slander and lies, however I do think it is important to respond to any of my potential guests reading this review and respond to things that are important to know. I also believe that guests who write multiple, inconsistent negative reviews on multiple sites speaks more about the guests than the hosts. I have been running Chateau du Lac as one of the top rated B and B's in all of Kelowna for 3 years. It is true, we have pets on site, so if you are allergic, or do not like animals, then this is not the B and B for you. Upon booking, all guests receive a welcome email clearly stating that we have small pets on site, as well as hotel details, check in information, special requests etc. For privacy reasons I am only able to contact you via your booking site/ agent (I am not privy to your direct email), and sometimes because of this the welcome email ends up in spam. This happens very rarely, but as in the case above, it can happen. Secondly, if you leave the B and B early, or stay a day later, or are issued a refund etc, I am legally required to reconcile my bookings. This is so I am not charged from the booking agent on funds that were not charged to the guest, and so that the booking agent receives the monies due. I had no idea the guest is penaziled, this is good to know. Check in is between 4 and 6 pm, as stated in your welcome email. I am always available to be there for any check in time you require, you simply have to let me know. Our pets are put away during breakfast hours of 7 am and 2 pm, for all prep, clean up etc. for the comfort of our guests. I am professionally trained in Serving it Right and health safety and follow all protocols. I have been trying for 3 years to have our booking agents allow us to state on the booking sites that there are pets on site, but I have not been permitted to do this so it must be sent in the private welcome email. We pride our house on its cleanliness, the floors are vacuumed twice daily and there is daily housecleaning for all our guests. We request that guests keep their doors closed to not allow pets in their suites. Door codes are changed for every single guest and are failsafe and can be remotely opened by the owners. Not once in 3 years have I ever had a problem with a code, the above guest's door code worked perfectly when I checked it the next day. And finally, we have really good jam. I mean I though it was good but I am biased, but did not realize how coveted it is until the above review. So, I can honestly pledge here and now, to always, always ALWAYS have our home made cherry jam for you!!! #jamwins I pledge to treat all guests with love and respect. It is an honour to host people from both here and abroad, who need to sit back, relax and unwind in this crazy life we lead. I look forward to seeing you if you have not booked with us, and I aim to do whatever possible to make your stay exceptional with us. If there is ever a problem, please let us know so we can remedy it as fast as possible. In service, Keyla Owner, Chateau du Lac.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ronpanton wrote a review May 2018
Merritt, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful accommodations. Location and views were breathtaking. Our room was beautiful and luxurious. The 3 course breakfasts were delectable. Our hosts were lovely and very accommodating. They worked extra hard to make this a very pleasant experience. We would highly recommend this B&B.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Keyla O, Owner at Chateau Du Lac B&B
Responded Jun 5, 2018
Hi Ron, Thanks so much for the wonderful review! Your feedback is so valued. It was wonderful to see you and I hope you will come back again soon! Sincerely, Keyla
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanne K wrote a review Oct 2017
Vancouver, Canada15 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just spent 3 wonderful nights at this luxurious B & B. This B & B is not only beautifully decorated but warm, cozy and peaceful! The bed was comfortable, the food delicious and the hostess was gracious! There is a outdoor pool and hot tub. We will definitely be revisiting this B & B in the near future! Thank you Keyla and Jeff for a wonderful time!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Keyla O, Owner at Chateau Du Lac B&B
Responded Oct 25, 2017
Thank you so much! It was so lovely to see you both. I really hope you come back soon! Sincerely, Keyla
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeff R wrote a review Oct 2017
Calgary, Canada3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Love the location. Very comfortable and stylish place, right across from the Hatch Winery and a very short walk from Quails Gate just blocks from the water. Views of the lake from the main level and the outdoor hot tub and pool. Breakfast was way beyond expectations. Felt like we were staying with friends, so accommodating, warm, and fun!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Keyla O, Owner at Chateau Du Lac B&B
Responded Oct 25, 2017
Hi Jeff, Thanks so much for your lovely review. It was really nice to meet you both! Jeff (my Jeff !) and I had a blast getting to know you. We hope you can come back again soon! Sincerely, Keyla Owner Chateau du Lac
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelly B wrote a review Oct 2017
Kelowna, Canada25 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Keyla and Jeff are absolutely lovely and their property is stunning! My husband and I are building in Kelowna and wanted a getaway to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Keyla made it extra special for us with a bottle of wine. I am Celiac and Vegan and Keyla made me and my husband the most amazing breakfasts. The views of the lake a really great and sitting out with a coffee or a glass of wine around the pool was just perfect. We also enjoyed walking in the backyard amongst the fruit trees and the huge nut tree. Fabulous! Highly recommend to anyone, great location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Keyla O, Owner at Chateau Du Lac B&B
Responded Oct 25, 2017
Hi Kelly, Thanks so much for your review! It was truly a lovely experience getting to know you, and I hope when you are back in Kelowna you will stay in touch! We would love to see you both again. Best of luck! You know where to find us! :) Keyla Owner Chateau du Lac
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jess W wrote a review May 2017
Vancouver, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is such a lovely place to stay. The location is perfect, the house is beautiful, the owners are so gracious and welcoming, and the rooms are stunning. Our bed had the softest sheets I've ever slept on. Breakfast was delicious too! I can be picky and there's literally nothing I'd suggest to improve this B and B. We loved everything about our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
aggiemom0409 wrote a tip Jul 2018
Austin, Texas70 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The bed is pretty low to the ground in the garden view suite, so would not be good for those with knee issues."
Read full review
Robin Y wrote a tip Jul 2018
White Rock, Canada2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is no bad room in this BNB."
Read full review
Magikbus wrote a tip Dec 2017
6 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Keyla, the B & B proprietor is flexible and accommodating to your wishes."
Read full review
amromer1 wrote a tip Sep 2017
Los Angeles, California1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This is a B&B but feels like a boutique hotel."
Read full review
thedistractedtourist wrote a tip Jul 2017
Vancouver, Canada1,101 contribution137 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Chambord room although on the ground level and private does not have an ensuite but you do have your own private large bathroom."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the West Kelowna area.
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaOkanagan ValleyWest Kelowna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Chateau Du Lac B&B - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Chateau Du Lac B&B
Which popular attractions are close to Chateau Du Lac B&B?
Nearby attractions include Don-O-Ray Farm Adventure (7.3 km), Okanagan Lake (6.2 km), and Kasugai Japanese Garden (6.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Chateau Du Lac B&B?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Chateau Du Lac B&B?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Chateau Du Lac B&B?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chateau Du Lac B&B?
Conveniently located restaurants include Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop, Basil & Mint, Restaurant and Bar, and The Fixx Pasta Bar and Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chateau Du Lac B&B?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Chateau Du Lac B&B?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Chateau Du Lac B&B?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Father Pandosy Mission (6.6 km) and Kelowna Cenotaph (6.2 km).
Does Chateau Du Lac B&B have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
All West Kelowna HotelsWest Kelowna Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in West KelownaHotels near Chateau Du Lac B&B
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars