We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brentwood Hotel

0.3 km from Kilbirnie centre
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
16 - 20 Kemp St, Kilbirnie 6241, New Zealand
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 260: English reviews
Start your review of Brentwood Hotel
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed today NEW

Stayed here because the rest of Wellington was booked out on a Saturday night. Close to the airport which is handy with a shuttle bus (but the bus only goes to the airport, so you can't get a lift to the city). Location is ok - close to buses to the city (2,3,11,91) from Kilbirnie shops a short walk away....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raura
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is very tired, dated and quite shabby a lot of the furniture is stained. It only gets away with it at the moment because it is close to the airport. There is no airconditioning in the guest rooms so in the heat it is impossible to sleep. The showers are very cheap and the fittings very old fashioned....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandlewearer
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we arrived, we were made really welcome - without staff being too gushing or robotic! First impression was good, and this continued when we got to our room. Lovely twin queen beds as requested, and the room was clean and fresh. It was a little in need of some tlc on a wall that had been damaged - probably...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weebsone
Anthony D, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear weebsone - thank you for submitting your favourable comments and review of the Brentwood Hotel after your recent stay. I am pleased that you were made to feel welcome on your arrival and that that the other staff you encountered during your staff were also helpful. It is good to read that you enjoyed the pool considering our poor...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've stayed here two years ago and the people were great but when I phoned up today to make a book the lady who answered my call was extremely rude and told me if I found a better price online I should just book through them then. I won't be booking at this hotel now.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 502brieannae
Anthony D, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 502brieannae – I am very disappointed to read of your experience when you rang to make a booking recently. I can assure you that this is not the manner we expect from our staff and the matter has been addressed accordingly. Regards Anthony Dey, General Manager

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed here to visit my daughter in Wellington. Lovely big rooms with lots of space. I had a supreme queen room. Large bathroom. Very reasonably priced. They have a pool but unfortunately the weather wasn't ideal for swimming so never got the opportunity to try it. Would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trish M
Anthony D, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trish M - thank you for submitting your favourable comments and review of the Brentwood Hotel after your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed the comfort of room and that you would choose to stay with us again. I hope that next time our summer weather is more favourable for you to enjoy our pool. Regards Anthony...

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We stayed 1 night before an international flight. The complimentary airport shuttle was great and the guy on early morning reception was friendly. Maybe he can teach the rest of the day staff how to smile. The place is quite dated but our room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. We ate at their restaurant for dinner and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirstin B
Anthony D, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kirstin B - Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent stay at the Brentwood Hotel. I am pleased that you found the complimentary airport shuttle good and the room spacious and bed comfortable. I am disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your meals in Aqua Bistro and that you found the quality of the meat to be...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Very dated and run down property. Bottom of the shower was so dirty we could write messages in it (see photo) had to wear jandals in the shower as discovered late at night and didn't think it was fair to disturb the staff. Shower walls were cracked and damaged, the shower door wouldn't shut and possibly one of the smallest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmtraveller2013
Anthony D, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cmtraveller2013 - Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent stay at the Brentwood Hotel. It was very disappointing to read that the cleanliness of the shower was well below standard and I do offer my unreserved apologies for this lack of attention to ensuring a high standard of cleaning. We do have a small number of...

Auckland
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

There is a direct dial number fr the info desk to contact them and their shuttle service is free. Good clean towels and facility. A bit old structure but quite comfy enough. Staff are also friendly, apart fr our shuttle driver on pick up who seemed like he didn't have the ability to smile! Haha oh well. Stay was fit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LinesRosey
Anthony D, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LinesRosey - thank you for submitting your comments and feedback after your recent stay. I am pleased to read that our location suited the purpose of your stay and that you found your stay comfortable. It is also good to read that you found the staff helpful, although it was disappointing to read the comment re the shuttle driver....

New Zealand
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Attended a conference held there (twice now). Food is really good. Staff is friendly and helpful. Only upset was when bathrooms were being cleaned (during the afternoon) there was a bit of an issue needing to go! Rooms are ok. Can't really tip toe on hardwood floors so be prepared to be heard when wearing heals!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janine S
Anthony D, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janine S - Thank you for taking time to comment on your experiences attending conference at the Hotel. It is pleasing to read that you have found our team helpful and friendly. It is also good to read that you have enjoyed the conference catering. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you travel to Wellington....

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 November 2016

We went there as a group of 5 few days for business and stayed there for a night.. We made group booking directly from the hotel. Upon arrival to the Wellington Airport, we followed their instruction and made a call for the hotel shuttle service. We waited for 15 mins. Shuttle didn't come. We made second call to remind them,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BabyKangaroo
Anthony D, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BabyKangaroo - Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent stay at the Brentwood Hotel. It is very disappointing to read that our front line service has fallen short of the level of service that we strive to provide. We make numerous journeys to the airport daily and on the odd occasion there can be unexpected delays...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilbirnie
2.6 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
624 reviews
4.0 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,025 reviews
4.2 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,384 reviews
3.9 km away
InterContinental Wellington
2.8 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Brentwood Hotel

Address: 16 - 20 Kemp St, Kilbirnie 6241, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kilbirnie
Price Range: $128 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brentwood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Brentwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood Hotel Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Brentwood Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Brentwood Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles sandlewearer, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the 405 - 408 area look out onto the swimming pool, so can be a bit noisy until about 9 pm!!!”
 of 5 bubbles weebsone, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a superior twin room, very nice and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles N6407VHfionac, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If in the winter, turn the heating on before you head out for the night. I didn't notice it when I first checked in, but when we returned at 11pm realised there was no heating on and the room was quite cold. ”
 of 5 bubbles jameskZ528WX, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms are a 3 story walk up, no lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles CarolzK, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5