We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Blackaddie Country House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Blackaddie Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 327: English reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Recommended this hotel for two friends having had previous good reports ,Unfortunately they have problems with heating so rooms are cold.Towels remain wet and new ones are not easy to source .The menu is clearly from Brakes Catering or similar giving no flexibility in dishes may be cost effective but from a chef really . Positive criticism should be appreciated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colin G
Ian M, Owner at Blackaddie Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Well well well what an interesting review. I do not know where you stayed but it was not with us if only because of your comments re the food for if you had and you knew anything about food at all you would not have written what you did. Positive criticism is always welcome but this is anything but. Please...

BRIDGNORTH
Reviewed 17 September 2016

I called in whilst out walking the dog in the afternoon and did not have great expectations either that the bar would be open or that dogs would be welcome.I was wrong on both counts and enjoyed an refreshing Gin and Tonic from a courteous barman. I gained the impression for the future that this would be an excellent place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CLOCKFOSSIL
Ian M, Owner at Blackaddie Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you sir, very nice of you to write after such a short visit. I look forward to you staying with us sometime.

Birmingam,UK
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Stayed for one night,lovely hotel and very friendly reception.As the hotel was quiet received a free upgrade to the Mallard room,newly refurbed,very comfortable bed with ensuite with walk in shower and view of River Nith.Had dinner and breakfast at the hotel both meals were delicious and of a very high quality.Would highly recommend the Blackaddie.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andyBirmingam_UK
Ian M, Owner at Blackaddie Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Food was outstanding this is real fine dinning. Breakfast was as good as I have ever had. Staff were very happy and helpful, It was great to be able to take our dog with us. They do however charge £10 a night, which seemed a lot for a well behaved animal who caused no bother. On the other had some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hawkirs
Ian M, Owner at Blackaddie Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You actually got the room you booked which looks out over the back of the hotel and is a very good room with a fantastic bathroom as I'm sure you will agree, there were other rooms available that you could have booked such as the River Suite for instance which has the most magnificent view...

Farnborough
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We stayed at the Blackaddie for one night to break up our journey to the Highlands from the South. We were greeted with a warm welcome and were promptly shown to our suite which overlooked the river. We had easy access to a walk along the river which our dogs enjoyed and had plenty of space to relax in back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sapsorrel
Ian M, Owner at Blackaddie Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review it is really appreciated

Liversedge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016

After a long and difficult drive I was more than ready for being well looked after and indeed was amply rewarded by a lovely room in quiet surroundings and a meal of the highest order. Many modern chefs provide food which looks pretty but often does not taste of anything. The food here sings of FLAVOUR and was one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ralph W
Ian M, Owner at Blackaddie Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your kind words, we look forward to seeing you again next time you are up this way.

Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed for six nights with our dog. Ian went to some trouble to understand our likes and dislikes and served us withe exceptional food on every evening. The presentation of the meal was lovely and the taste was better We have dined in many places all over the world and this is in the top two or three.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Apoint007
Ian M, Owner at Blackaddie Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a lovely review and your kind words.

UK
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Let's start with the food, because it is brilliant - both at dinner and at breakfast. The cooking and presentation are almost unbelievably good. Also, the menu is inventive and exciting, different from the average. We really looked forward to it every day (we stayed 6 nights). If you are wondering whether to eat here - please do! You will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaUk
Ian M, Owner at Blackaddie Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review and we will get that tap and plug chain sorted ! Thanks for bringing it to our attention.

Reviewed 3 September 2016

From the moment we arrived at this fine restaurant with rooms I knew it was going to be something Special.The warmest welcome from Ian and Jane then shown to a stunning, spacious and spotlessly clean bedroom with a view of the garden. Dinner on both evenings was a culinary master class each dish so pleasing on the eye, vegetables, herbs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George M
Ian M, Owner at Blackaddie Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a wonderful review we really appreciate it. I look forward to you returning again, hopefully soon, after all we are not that far away and are very easy to get to as you have found out.

Aboyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016

This hotel must be one of the secrets of Dumfries and Galloway! We arrived to a warm welcome from Ian and Jane on a rather wet Scottish summer afternoon. We had travelled there to play some golf and enjoy two nights Dinner, Bed and Breakfast and what a treat we were in for. Dinner the first night was in my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Serena H
Ian M, Owner at Blackaddie Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review we really appreciate it. We would love not to be a secret for too much longer though! We very much look forward to your next visit.

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanquhar
20.1 km away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
546 reviews
17.8 km away
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
0.6 km away
Nithsdale Hotel
Nithsdale Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sanquhar
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
1,067 reviews
29.1 km away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
31.3 km away
Annandale Arms Hotel
Annandale Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relaxed comfortable award-winning 4 star restaurant with rooms in beautiful surroundings with fantastic food and friendly staff on the banks of the river Nith in Dumfries and Galloway. Close to Drumlanrig Castle Dumfries House and Crawick Multiverse. Fishing available. On the Southern Upland Way in beautiful walking and cycling country. Next door to a swimming pool with golf course less than 1/2 mile away. Only 45 miles from Glasgow ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blackaddie Country House Hotel

Address: Blackaddie Road, Sanquhar DG4 6JJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Sanquhar
Price Range: $239 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackaddie Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Blackaddie Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blackaddie Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Blackaddie Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“River View”
 of 5 bubbles dfl2017, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The hotel has a small number of rooms. We stayed in Mallard which had a beautiful view over the river Nith and the hills beyond.”
 of 5 bubbles stevenjean68, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Mallard room offers a lovely view of the river”
 of 5 bubbles 615JamesT, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“4 poster or Pheasant rooms are gorgeous”
 of 5 bubbles redx_11, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the best available”
 of 5 bubbles lovebarbados2016, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5