We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 84: English reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

Beautiful room, Friendly staff who couldn't do enough to make the stay as perfect as possible from booking taxi's to and from the train station to ensuring Breakfast was to our liking. Will definitely be booking into this hotel on my next visit to Wales.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John R
Simone A, receptionist at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this review

thank you very much for your kind review,we hope to have you here again in the near future, regards Chandra

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 May 2016

Upon arrival at the Stuffed Dormouse noted an issue with the accommodation booking, After seeing us comfortable in the bar at no expense to us they re ordered the booking, with the duty manager moving out of his temporary lodgings (they were renovating) allowing us the room, the icing on the cake was a complimentary breakfast the next morning. their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mdelacey
Simone A, receptionist at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the lovely review, we are hoping to see you soon in the near future, regards Chandra

Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Party of 9 of us from Ireland plus half a dozen Scots were here for the weekend. Rooms ranged from average to phone box - ours had a fridge but no wardrobe!. Hot water not always constant. Restaurant had a good reputation - so good in fact that we couldnt [even as residents] get a table on a Friday or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happy53Camper
Simone A, receptionist at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this review

thank you very much for your review,it was a pleasure have you all here. At the time of booking we did ask the organizer if you needed a table in the restaurant as it get really busy,but they said there was no need. We also agree on early breakfast just for you on Saturday and Sunday only,no Monday request,but to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2016

We had our concerns about staying here having read other reviews, but thought we'd give it a try. I wish we hadn't! The room was probably the worst we've stayed in; the sort of carpet where you don't want to walk barefoot. The bathroom had cracked tiles, an uneven floor and wasn't very clean. It rained while we were there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank katykatykaty86
Simone A, Guest Relations Manager at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this review

good morning, we are sorry you didn't like your stay with us,we are in the process to renovate the rest of hotel rooms,but as you can imagine it will take time to do them all...some of them are being refurbished already,so if you mentioned to me that you were not happy about your room i would have try to sort...

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2016

We stayed here twice for Wales rugby matches. The hotel rooms are undergoing renovation our daughters room was completed and was lovely. We had a family room which was waiting to be done but was still clean. Tea and coffee making facilities are available in rooms. There was an iron and ironing board on the landing for guests to use....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
Simone A, Guest Relations Manager at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind review ,it was a pleasure to have you here with us,we hope to see you soon again !!!!

Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Myself and my daughter stayed at this hotel during our recent visit to watch Wales play Scotland in the Six Nations. It was our first visit and were thrilled with the standard of accomodation. Despite the website saying that check in was not before 4pm we were able to access our room before leaving for the match. There was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DAVINA T
Simone A, Guest Relations Manager at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this review

thank you very much for the lovely review and we will taking on board your comment so we will provide a breakfast menu as soon as possible. hope to see you soon , regards

Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

Couldn't have picked a better restaurant, excellent service, excellent food for adults and children. Very welcoming owners and staff, thank you all for a fantastic evening. Me and my family we definitely be coming again, Sunday dinner will be next 👍🏻💯😃 xx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rowan J
Simone A, Guest Relations Manager at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this review

pleasure to hear that you had a nice time,looking forward to welcome you again soon

Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

Have visited here many times and decided to try the Sunday lunch. We weren't disappointed! The choice, quality and quantity of the food was second to none. The staff are friendly and efficient. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fudge9
Simone A, receptionist at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this review

thank you very much for your lovely review ,we hope to see you soon in the near future, regards

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Excellent service, lovely staff and one of the best meals I have had. Cant compliment the staff and the food enough we will be back soon for another meal throughly enjoyed by all of the party and the chocolate mice at the end of the meal a great touch X

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank clare c
Simone A, receptionist at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this review

thank you very much for your comment,we looking forward to welcoming you again really soon!!!!

Reviewed 21 November 2015

The welcome at this hotel ranks with the best I have had and I stay in many hotels. The room 3 was freshly decorated and spotlessly clean. The bar staff were friendly and obliging and although I had a dinner booked elsewhere with friends, was reluctant to leave. The menu was really exciting and the place was filling up quick...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KBeardsley
Simone A, receptionist at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this review

thank you very much for you kind review,it was lovely to have you here and we hope to see you again soon Chandra

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caerleon
1.3 km away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 km away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
8.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
3.8 km away
Gateway Hotel
Gateway Hotel
#16 of 19 in Newport
57 reviews
6.2 km away
The Old Barn Inn
The Old Barn Inn
#1 of 2 in Llanmartin
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel

Address: Ponthir Rd, Caerleon, Newport NP18 3NY, Wales (Formerly Roman Lodge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport > Caerleon
Price Range: $80 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Hotel Caerleon
Roman Hotel Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Yeppoon, Australia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not Room 9”
 of 5 bubbles sharopic, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“do not go near room 12 (106) I was in room 8 which was average, I didnt see any other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles davidcS7869DL, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't book at this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles ADS92, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't accept room 12!”
  • The bed was a camp bed!!!
  • The bed......
  • Sat on the bed to take this
  • Nowhere for my clothes?
  • The camera has made it look bigger
  • This is room 12!
 of 5 bubbles Readie1965, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ensure after an on-line booking you phone them before arrival”
 of 5 bubbles mdelacey, 15 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5