We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oak Lane Cottages

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grabouw
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 16: English reviews
Start your review of Oak Lane Cottages
 Click to rate
Cape Town
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Maine cottage In searching for holiday accommodation, I have always been after a cool cottage in a forest with a nearby stream. Somewhere quiet where we can just relax and not be bothered by vexing people. I looked at the Grabouw / Overberg area and found a listing of such. Oak lane cottages sounded just the thing and I managed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank droffarc
infooaklane L, Owner at Oak Lane Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. The Maine Cottage is not part of Oak Lane but because it is situated on our farm, we allow Oak Lane guests to stay there from time to time. It is an option when privacy and peace is of utmost importance. Our Lebanon Trails also pass closeby so it works well for cyclists. We...

Strand, South Africa
Reviewed 14 November 2016

My partner and I spent a lovely weekend at Oaklane Cottages. The cottages are very basic and clean. There are both inside and outside fireplaces. We especially enjoyed the inside one as it was cold and rainy. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and we felt at home straightaway. I most definitely encourage anyone to visit Oaklane if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynnette D
infooaklane L, Manager at Oak Lane Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Lynnette, thank you for your positive feedback. It is always encouraging for our staff to hear that their efforts are appreciated. Hope you will be back again sometime soon!

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We visit these cottages every year towards the end of winter when it is still rather cold. Love the huge fire places in the kitchen. That's where we spend most of our weekend. Very comfortable. Contains all the necessary appliances. Peaceful and quiet. Certainly recommend it for a romantic getaway for 2 - not far from the hustle and bustle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karin T
infooaklane L, Manager at Oak Lane Cottages, responded to this review

Nice to see you back again Karin, this is what Oak Lane is all about! Affordable, comfortable and a peaceful weekend away from the busy city. Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you are still enjoying your stay.

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Oak Lane Cottages are in the heart of Elgin, just 2.2km down a dirt road along an avenue of Oak Trees. You are surrounded by working orchards, dams and mountain biking trails. The cottages themselves are renovated labourer's cottages so they are very rustic and have their quirks. We were looking for central, affordable accommodation and booked Rosemary cottage, one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobynPony
infooaklane L, Manager at Oak Lane Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you Robyn its great to receive such a good feedback. We are busy with renovations and have already painted all our cottages inside and out. Next step is to fix the floor in Rosemarie :)

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Oak Lane Cottages is a lovely place. We stayed this past weekend for 3 nights and Michelle who is in charge of the bookings was very accommodating in the specific requests we made. She went over and above board. We had a lovely time and will be returning shortly with my children

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
infooaklane L, Manager at Oak Lane Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Lisa thank you for the positive feedback, it is so nice to hear that guests are enjoying their time at Oak Lane. Hope to see you soon.

Cape Town
Reviewed 5 May 2015

On our second visit to Oaklane cottages we brought friends along and stayed in the largest cottage, which was the perfect base for a fantastic mountain biking weekend. The cottages provided everything that we needed for the weekend at incredible value, and as a bonus we could ride straight from our door onto the trails. The braai facilities and outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bing_90
infooaklane L, Manager at Oak Lane Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for the great feedback, hope to see you back at Oak lane again sometime soon.

Enschede, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 May 2015

I spent the weekend with my wife in this lovely place. The cottages are very warm, clean and comfy to stay at. Also the ambience is very relaxing because of the stunning scenery with lots of nature and lovely views. This is the perfect place to braai and get away from the city life. Besides that, there are a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mathew767
infooaklane L, Manager at Oak Lane Cottages, responded to this review

Thanks Mathew, hope to see you back soon!

Bredasdorp, South Africa
Reviewed 5 April 2015

Te cottage was terribly dirty with cigarette buds everywhere around cottage. Lawn uncut. Cold water at times. We never saw anyone around and at our arrival we were looking for somebody to book us in for over half an hour. Our next door neighbors departed after the first night due to the poor conditions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hanli73
infooaklane L, Manager at Oak Lane Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Hanli, I was horrified when I read your review here on Tripadvisor. I am open to receive any feedback whether it be positive or negative, but would like to set the record straight. One thing that cannot be said about our cottages is that it is dirty. We have two wonderful ladies that work very hard every day to...

Reviewed 15 October 2014

I have been staying at Oak Lane Cottages for over ten years and keep going back...it's incredible value for everything you get considering that Elgin is the Top Wedding destination in the Western Cape. It's prices have hardly increased over the period. I love the fresh fruit I get on the table if there is anything in season when we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Stonepeak
infooaklane L, Manager at Oak Lane Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for the delightful feed back, it is so nice to get the recognition for our hard work. We hope to see you back at Oak Lane again sometime soon.

Reviewed 27 September 2014

I spent a lovely weekend here with my family all the way from Germany. We were greeted by the staff and lead to our cottages. The scenery is beautiful - the mountains and forest that surrounded us made us feel like we were back in Germany. Thank you for an unforgettable experience, see you next year!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jennytheermann
infooaklane L, Manager at Oak Lane Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Jenny, we often have overseas guests staying in our beautiful Valley. We are delighted that we were able to help create a memorable holiday and we are looking forward to seeing you again next year.

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grabouw hotels
46.2 km away
Elgin Valley Inn - Adults Only
51.0 km away
Tri Active Lodge
Tri Active Lodge
#5 of 11 in Grabouw
38 reviews
0.0 km away
Inn on Highlands
Inn on Highlands
#3 of 4 in Grabouw
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.0 km away
Villa Exner
Villa Exner
#1 of 2 in Grabouw
114 reviews
52.4 km away
Paul Wallace Wines and Guest Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our popular self-catering cottages on the farm Kromme Rivier in the Elgin Valley, offer friends and families an affordable and convenient break. Surrounded by Oak trees our accommodation consists of 7 fully equipped cottages, each with their own wood-burning fireplaces as well as braai facilities. The 3 overnighters, which are furnished rooms are available for those guests attending weddings or parties in the area and who prefer not to drive home afterwards. The wooden hall is perfect for small conferences and offers DSTV to our guests. Activities include Lebanon Mtb Trails, jogging/ walking trails, fishing and swimming in a dam. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oak Lane Cottages

Address: Valley Road, Grabouw 7160, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Grabouw
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oak Lane Cottages staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Oak Lane Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Two rooms, back room walks through the main front room so privacy could be an issud.”
 of 5 bubbles droffarc, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“take a multiplug with. there are only two plugs. one for fridge and the other for everything else.”
 of 5 bubbles 11LynnetteD, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Quiet and beautiful getaway for 2 - not far from City. Good place to rest and very romantic. Very affordable.”
 of 5 bubbles 40karint, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in Rosemary cottage which is more secluded.”
 of 5 bubbles RobynPony, 16 Feb 2016 | Read review
“I love Braeburn cottage.”
 of 5 bubbles Stonepeak, 15 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5