We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all B&B in Thyolo

Huntingdon House

105 reviews
Save
Traveller (93)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (13)
Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good22%
  • Average3%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“tea and coffee”(11 reviews)
“tea estate”(32 reviews)
“scones”(6 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
5.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (105)Write a Review
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
68
22
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
68
22
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea and coffeetea estatesconeschocolate cakepicnic spotenjoyed our stayunique experiencebeautiful staymountain bikesstayed longerstayed nightseach eveningfantastic foodhigh teaspecial thanksbird lifegrounds are stunning
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Delicious food. Good service. Nice manicured gardens. Enjoyed tea plantation tour and tea tasting. Very friendly staff and very accommodating. I stayed in the chapel room. Just amazing. Old world charm. Would like to go back again.

Thank aliabdulla77
Reviewed 14 December 2017

I was only there to get some lunch and do the tea tasting. Their lunch was good. Their iced coffee was delicious! Very refreshing. The actual tea tasting was kind of a let down. They just laid out different cups of tea and you tasted...More

Thank Chieka C
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Owned by a portuguese first and taken over by a scotsman around 1916 it had become a great teaplantation. The owners villa remains in the middle of all this. I visited looking for a coffee and a home made brownie and enjoying the views.

Thank HansK774
Reviewed 8 September 2017

The house was built in 1934 to replace the original house that burnt down after a lightening strike. Tea is their business and tea is now planted on 900 Hectares, which is an awful lot of tea. The low tea bushes stretch for miles, as...More

Thank moraira
Response from AnetteKay, Owner at Huntingdon HouseResponded 1 week ago

Hi! I am glad you liked your stay. We are current doing maintenance and the painters are busy putting fresh colours on the old walls. So hopefully it will look nice and fresh for your next visit :)

Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

we were the only two guests staying at Huntingdon House. Thanks to Emos we had probably the most romantic dinner ever. and he was so friendly and nice. he was always there when we had a wish. The room was just great! could not be...More

Thank Remo G
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345619
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Breakfast included
Room Service
Free Internet
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Room Service
Things to do
Restaurant
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (93)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (13)
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Bathroom (1)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ElizafaeScotland
30 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from PaulUKS | Reviewed this property |
Sorry for the delay in answering, I was travelling. Yes, you can visit for a meal. The lunch I had was excellent.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Highly recommend it."
Read review
"The Chapel room is the most private. All rooms are super nice."
Read review
"Don't miss the walk to on picnic area to the top of the estate (3 hours round trip)"
Read review
"I love Mother's room but it was a bit noisy towards the morning when staff are working to set up for..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite