We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

526 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 524: English reviews
Start your review of The George Hotel
 Click to rate
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here as I was at a wedding on the Saturday, room was out in the courtyard, nice and quiet. Bed comfy, nice facilities. Breakfast the next morning had a lot of problems. Over 45 minute wait for a Full English which wasn't the warmest. A few other people in our party said they'd had a long wait for theirs,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsR309
Nathan L, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel it is great to hear that you enjoyed your room at the hotel. I am sorry that our breakfast service was poor during your stay I will pass this onto our management team to ensure that this is more organised in the future. I hope this hasn't affected your enjoyment...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed at the hotel for the murder mystery night. Great night, excellent entertainment. Brilliant food. Special mention to Nathan the waiter and his team, fantastic staff. breakfast the next morning was pleasant, made even better by the wonderful waitress shannen, bright and bubbly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank l_paul2311
Nathan L, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review it was great to hear that you enjoyed our murder mystery I will pass your comments onto Nathan and the team Kindest Regards Jeff & The Team

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We called in to have some lunch on sunday and noticed that the guy with the beard and glasses was working so we chose to go some where else. We were not happy with the service he provided when we had supper there during a previous visit. When I go out for a meal I don't expect to be called...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teessider744
Nathan L, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel I am sorry that one of our team has let you down with regards to service we always aim to provide fantastic service and will speak our managers regarding this. I hope that you will join us again in the future Many Thanks Jeff & The Team

Merseyside
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the George overnight and have to say it's a lovely place to stay. The bedrooms are very comfortable , the Restraunt and food are great the staff are friendly and helpful. Fantastic views from restaurant. We would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlieandme
Nathan L, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review it was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and most importantly that we can expect you back in the future :) Many Thanks Jeff & The Team

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

What a night food was amazing entrainment was fab and rooms beautiful clean and staff really helpful traveled as a group of 8 one of our group had an incident staff were professional and really helpful really enjoyed our stay would highly recommend these nights

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bentleyjaysmamm... d
Nathan L, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review regarding our Take That Themed Night, It is great to hear that our team were helpful and you enjoyed your rooms. We would love to have you back in the future Kindest Regards Jeff & The Team

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Spent weekend at the George with our dog, we were visiting family. Value for money is fantastic, the staff were brilliant, very helpful and friendly, location is great, lots of lovely walks and scenery beautiful, will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank berbriboo
Nathan L, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this wonderful review it was an absolute pleasure to read and I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon! Kindest Regards Jeff & The Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went for a meal last night and loved the place the staff couldn't do enough for us and the view was lovely. The food was amazing 😍and the assistant manager Ashley was brilliant. Friendly welcoming and lovely fella thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharna P
Nathan L, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review Sharna it was a pleasure to read i will pass your comments onto our duty manager Ashley who will be thrilled with this Kindest Regards Jeff & The Team

South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked an overnight stay at The George Hotel in Piercebridge after a recommendation. We got a deal for £100 which included a 3 course evening meal, bed & breakfast! From the outset it seemed like a bargain. All looked great on the website, when we arrived we were initially impressed with the appearance and location of the hotel. Things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 3lyndseyg
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited this place a few years ago and it was really nice, yesterday however it was anything but. I ordered a salad to start, then half way through to my absolute horror I found myself crunching on a piece of plastic which resembled a plastic tooth pic. I immediately raised this with the waitress and was told, "we don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Honesty10001
Nathan L, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nigel Upon reading your comments I was very concerned to read that you found yourself to be unwell following your recent visit to The George Hotel and I would like to let you know that your comments are being taken very seriously indeed. As one would expect we do of course operate to a very high standard where food...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The George is a large place with multiple rooms and caters for all sorts from tourists, business people through to weddings and special events. Situated near the Roman Fort and Bridge it is popular with visitors. There is a reasonable menu available and the food is good, also does afternoon teas etc. The only let down is the decor, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
Nathan L, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review Ian it is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we will take on-board your comments regarding our refurbishment plans Many Thanks Jeff & The Team

251 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (249)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piercebridge
3.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
9.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel
34.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
8.2 km away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,035 reviews
32.0 km away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Piercebridge DL2 3SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Piercebridge
Price Range: $93 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Piercebridge
George Hotel Darlington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“family room with 2 double beds was great for us”
berbriboo, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“plenty to choose from up or down, river views”
gffryhdgk, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“save your money - dont go”
jocka11, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go for the recently refurbished rooms”
susansS6903MY, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 226 has a nice view of the river.”
Abigail1410, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5