We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George Hotel

TravelocityUS$62*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

533 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 531: English reviews
West Yorkshire
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Booked this hotel as a special offer break and we were very pleased with everything. Room was enormous with a massive bathroom. Evening meal was the best we have had for ages and the breakfast was freshly cooked to order (such a change from the usual buffet breakfasts that most hotels seem to favour) We were lucky with the weather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cath26
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting positively following your recent visit to The George I am delighted that our food impressed you, along with our team members and your accommodation. My Executive Chef will be pleased to know that your dining experience was delicious. It is pleasing to know that based on your experience you would return and this is fantastic. Looking...

St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Stayed overnight in family room for 3 of us. Large room, TV, excellent coffee/tea making facilities. Clean, crisp bedding with lovely swan display of towels on each bed. Bathroom very basic, but good value at £49.50 for the night. Built on banks of river so lovely outlook in a pretty area. Would stay here again, such pleasant staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill H
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

First of all; thank you for choosing The George Hotel as your preferred hotel destination and I appreciate receiving your positive feedback. Your comments indicate to me that you had an enjoyable time at the hotel and based on this experience, I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future. Thank you once again...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Stayed overnight as we were having our wedding taster that night. Our room was in the annex at the side of the hotel. Room was large with a double and single bed. View was lovely overlooking the river. Bed was comfortable. Staff are very helpful and very friendly. Would recommend anyone to stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidMcfc
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to The George Hotel - Piercebridge and I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for commenting so positively about our staff and who you found to be most attentive at both dinner and breakfast. We cant wait to see you on again in the build up to...

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Booked a room for overnight break,got a lovely room in mews cottage. The room had sitting room with small kitchen if so inclined and bed in .desperate large double bed room,and large bathroom with shower cubicle and separate bath..meals in restaurant very good.we got a very good half board rate which was excellent value.would definitely book again would hope to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

At The George we take great pleasure in looking after our guests and we do hope based on this experience you will have an occasion in the future to stay at The George Hotel- Piercebridge again and enjoy another great experience with us. Thank you so much for your lovely feedback

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Had a 2 night stay in late March. Lovely room (105?) overlooking the front of hotel - some road noise but not really an issue. Room spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Breakfast good with usual range and a good 'full english' cooked to order. The dining room was not open in the evening, so we ate in the bar area....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elmers11
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to The George Hotel - Piercebridge, I am sorry to hear about confusion regarding your bill, Hotel Exclusives is a new company partnered with our head office and unfortunately we were let down via a communication error which I can assure you has been rectified. Thank you for taking the time to share...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

The hotel room was gorgeous. Really spacey, beautifully decorated and comfortable. Bathroom was clean and nice with a bath tub. The staff was friendly and helpful. The surroundings were beautiful with a river running right outside the hotel. The breakfast was well worth the money: the cooked meal was served to your table as well as coffee/tea and you could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janina H
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

First of all; thank you for choosing The George Hotel as your preferred hotel destination and I appreciate receiving your positive feedback. Your comments indicate to me that you had an enjoyable time at the hotel and based on this experience, I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future. Thank you once again...

Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

We were very disappointed to find upon arrival that the George no longer served a carvery. We had visited several times and were so pleased with the carvery we recommended it to family and friends. After waiting 40 minute's from putting our order in and still not being served any food despite the restaurant not being very busy,we decided to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank salestrain
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to The George Hotel Piercebridge It is clear to me that amongst some negatives highlighted in your posting, there are also many positives as you have enjoyed coming here in the past. Going forward; I have already communicated your feedback to my managers, and I am confident they...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2016

The George has a good setting, with the Roman bridge & fort, and a little farm shop nearby. The lawns down to the water are nice if you get a sunny day there -- fingers crossed for the many weddings they host. Staff are friendly though most are young and not highly experienced in hospitality. The bar is cosy enough....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WheredMyScreenNameGo
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and our beauiful grounds. We do have a young team of enthusiastic staff who are currently being trained thoroughly in the industry and its requirements by our many experience managers. We believe that our function rooms...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2016

We stayed here for a wedding and everything was OK - the food was OK, they rooms were OK, the service was OK. The food and drinks were expensive and there wasn't much in the way of choice locally if you don't drive, but quality and delivery was good. Beds are soft and the main room and bathroom were clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaz T
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel Karen, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the wedding. We are always happy to be a part of a Bride and Groom's special day! I will personally look into the issues with the WIFI however this seems to be a rare occasion as our signal throughout the building...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2016

We always try and stay here when on business in the area as it is a great place, lovely atmosphere with fabulous surroundings . We stayed this week 2 nights midweek and as usual the staff are very attentive, professional and friendly. The rooms are great, clean & comfortable bed with good pillows, plus nice little extra touches in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sue b
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review Sue, i am glad you are regular of the hotel and long may that continue! I am very happy to hear that you found our staff were able to meet your needs and you enjoyed our bedrooms. I will pass your feedback on to Nathan and Paula, i am glad to hear he...

251 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (249)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piercebridge
3.9 km away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
9.6 km away
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
34.2 km away
Best Western Grand Hotel
Best Western Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
8.2 km away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,068 reviews
32.0 km away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Piercebridge DL2 3SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Piercebridge
Price Range: $98 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Piercebridge
George Hotel Darlington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Road is very noisy & surprisingly busy.”
Napperly, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“The front hotel rooms are a tad noisy due to main road so close”
aprilsherry23, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“View over the river and bridge”
davidmartinc2016, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“We had a room downstairs with excellent shower - badger room.”
571linzyf, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“family room with 2 double beds was great for us”
berbriboo, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$62* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$64
AMOMAUS$123
PricelineUS$64
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates