We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

848 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 846: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Having stayed at this hotel in January, the word magical doesn't seem enough to describe the experience that was had. I stayed here with my new partner and the welcome we received from reception was the warmest welcome I have received at any hotel I have ever stayed in. Susan made us both feel very welcome and informed us we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hollie M
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Fifth time we have stayed here and it was as good as ever. This was the first time there had been a bit of a problem with the booking but the amazingly helpful staff sorted it all out in no time - they were great. The castle and the grounds are looking great and the food is still exceptional. We'll...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark R
Scotland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked for a Valentine's date night, 4 poster and DBB. Really looking forward to it based on website gallery. Favourable first impressions and very friendly, professional reception. Regrettably that's where the positive experience ended. I don't complain for the sake of it, and will be as constructive as possible. Our 4 poster room (33) was cleaned and presented in good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Foxy206
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

My wife and I had the most amazing experience for our wedding at Walworth Castle hotel yesterday (Saturday 18th February 2017). Perfect venue, friendly and attentive staff made our whole time there very special. The food was wonderful, the function rooms beautiful and versatile and the bedrooms in the castle epic in size and decor. I would highly recommend Walworth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was taken by the decor and the general atmosphere of the hotel and it is set in a wonderful green and open environment. The staff were a little unengaged when we checked in and I would say the same for the bar staff, all of whom seemed more interested in their own activities. I am afraid that I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here on business last year. On a winter's night it's hard to find as it's so dark on the approach. My room was in an additional wing and not in the castle and was basic and dirty. The walls are thin and could hear people in the next room clearly. Ordered room service and the food was inedible. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jane b
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jane, I would be interested to know when you stayed with us. It would have been more useful to have posted your review when you actually stayed at the hotel rather than months down the line. We have new members of staff who take pride in their work and are focused on providing great customer service. To receive your...

Kendall, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

Gorgeous..couldn't have been more welcomed, stayed in the lodge and Brenda left us a loaf of organic bread and milk and half a dozen eggs, washing up liquid supplied..Hot tub on already, good food in the Castle, could do nothing other than thoroughly recommend this as a relaxing break away (ps farm shop down the raid is brilliant )

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jon D
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my husband have recently married and we stayed in the castle for the weekend after our wedding, the entire weekend was amazing from start to finish, the room was beautiful and kept clean and tidy, the food was lovely, but the best part was the service received by staff, it really was outstanding, special appreciation to Susan and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danni M
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Danni, Firstly congratulations on your marriage and thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Mrs Swain Director

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a setting! One of the best looking hotels I have stayed at. Interior is just as special as the external castle. I was upgraded to the castle rooms (be careful booking as cheap rooms will not be in the castle). Room was in keeping with the castle setting, small, basic but nice. Very good staff with a nice attitude

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tom2002cl
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tom, I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We do have a variety of different rooms available and I am pleased on this occasion that you were able to be offered an upgrade. I will pass your comments onto the team who made your stay so memorable. Kind regards Mrs Swain Director

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Check in was quick and friendly. Our bedroom was large and very comfortable, huge bed. Bathroom was a little dated but very clean with nice toiletries. Went to the bar for a drink before dinner. First impressions were disappointing. Looks more like a pub with a dining room. As it is a historic castle, we expected a more formal dining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2010mustang
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 2010mustang, Thank you for writing your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I am however sorry that you left feeling disappointed with the dining experience. We have recently changed our menu and we welcome the feedback you have provided. I am pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and we hope you will stay...

304 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (284)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (136)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walworth
7.4 km away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
714 reviews
32.7 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,924 reviews
4.4 km away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
2,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,244 reviews
7.1 km away
The Bannatyne Hotel and Spa - Darlington
6.2 km away
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Darlington's only castle hotel, nestled in 18 acres of lawns and woodland yet only 5 minutes drive from J58 the A1(M). It is the ideal location for your overnight stay and is perfect for both business accommodation, meetings and conferences, as well as wedding receptions and romantic getaways. We have 32 individually designed bedrooms and complimentary Wifi access throughout. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

Address: Walworth, Darlington DL2 2LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington > Walworth
Price Range: $69 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Darlington
Darlington Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 33 (south facing) Main building top floor. Warm, good views, weak shower. For the ghost hunters, no obvious paranormal activity noted.”
 of 5 bubbles Foxy206, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask about the ghosts. The staff know exactly which rooms are dodgy!”
 of 5 bubbles paulhY6998WX, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A room in the actual castle is excellent”
 of 5 bubbles Phil570, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 32 very pleasant”
 of 5 bubbles NorthernBoys, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a Castle room!”
 of 5 bubbles AitchTeeUK, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5