We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 288: English reviews
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2015 via mobile

Understand a facelift is underway as saw little of it since last visit. Large room with big bed and bathroom but shabby and no frills. No water, no robes and broken trouser press. Bar area very dark and uninviting. Good service, good drink prices. Menu has changed since last visit but nice menus not expensive. Excellent very substantial cooked breakfast,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 73GP
Rob B, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. You are right, a facelift (in fact, complete renovation!!) is underway although nothing has physically happened yet, but, the hotel is closed from the 9th to the 23rd of November when the outside and downstairs will be renovated, and, all of the bedrooms will be done early in the New...

Reviewed 1 September 2015

Hotel is run down looking from the outside - the reception/bar/reception area is very nice, modern and clean. However drinks not cheap from the bar. We were allocated room 1 which was supposed to be a superior double however it did not resemble anything on the pictures on the internet. The room smelt of damp and when we arrived despite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lucylou3333
Rob B, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave a review - customer feedback is always important to us and we do try and take everything on board. I agree the building itself could do with some renovation, and, it is undergoing a £1M+ refit starting on the 9th November (when the whole hotel will be shut for 2 weeks)...

Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

A group of 8 handsome, weary cyclists arrived at the hotel after 85 gruelling miles. Utterly exhausted and in need of a shower, the hot water was t working. Whilst we waited, the staff at the hotel were amazing. Craig, Ian and especially Bethan really looked after us. 100% recommended

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim J
Rob B, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for leaving a review. Our apologies there was an issue with the hot water when you arrived but I'm glad it was resolved quickly and the staff looked after you well. I hope we get to welcome you back to The Croft again in the near future.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

We arrived as a bunch of cyclists on a long ride. There was an issue with our hot water but thanks to amazing staff, Craig, Ian and beth, they took great care of us, as compensation... Brill. The rooms were well equipped, clean and comfortable. And beth was our brilliant and lovely waitress. Thanks again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom D
Rob B, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff looked after you well. We look forward to seeing you again at The Croft soon.

Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

We arrived after a long day of cycling from Keswick. No hot water when we got here however was quickly sorted out by Ian and Craig. Bethan served our food, good laugh and really looked after us. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mathew W
Rob B, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad you enjoyed your experience with us, things were sorted out to your satisfaction quickly, and, our friendly staff looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Croft in the near future.

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015

I/we have been visiting the Croft since 1978 & have experienced many changes over the years particularly in their cuisine. I have to say generally it is good, but on Sunday 23rd August we called in at approximately 17:00 for a very late lunch & I/we have to say it was very disappointing. Initially, the meal was warm, the vegetables...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
Rob B, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review even though its content isn't all positive - without customer feedback we can not ever achieve what we are looking to. I am sorry you were disappointed with your Sunday lunch experience with us especially as we have been getting very positive reviews and feedback generally with...

Cheshire
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

The Croft is a good clean hotel with friendly staff.. The rooms are ok, with slightly outdated furniture and ours had a sloping floor in the bathroom. The hotel breakfast was a good selection of cereals and a good size full English. The problem was the 2 guys trying to serve us were a bit slow and didn't actually serve...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
Rob B, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly, thank you for taking the trouble to leave a review. Although the whole content is not positive we do feel that without feedback we can not always improve. I am glad there were many positives with your stay which was tarnished by the time we took to serve you breakfast in the morning. I have to say that I'm...

Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We found this little gem after taking our son to the Croft Circuit (18th birthday present driving experience!!) we were all absolutely ravenous so this was the first place we came across and it didn't disappoint. Myself and my youngest both ordered the afternoon classic tea. Most satisfying and fantastic value for money. We got egg and cress, lovely thick...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen B
Rob B, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Downham Market, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2015

We were initially given a room on the front of the hotel, but the staff happily moved us to a room on the back when we asked. The room was perfectly pleasant, but not particularly special. In contrast, the evening meal which we ate in the bar, was really very nice indeed. And breakfast the following morning was also very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Richard J
Rob B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind review. We take on board your 'room not special' comment, but, as the staff may have told you, the hotel is undergoing a complete refurbishment which should be completed in about 9 months and really hope you will visit us again at which point I'm sure you will feel the rooms are...

Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

Visited this hotel with my husband after a wedding at Rockliffe Hall. Ideally situated with a 10 minute walk from Rockliffe Hall. Had a very modern bar area and reception. Breakfast was tasty and large. Room was disappointing with tired furniture and bathroom. Overpriced for quality of stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gina R
Rob B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review although I am of course disappointed in its content. We are so sorry you felt the hotel didn't represent value which, in its present guise is what we try to deliver. We are however pleased you enjoyed your breakfast, and, hope you will come back and stay with us again in the future when the...

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croft-on-Tees
0.9 km away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,201 reviews
3.6 km away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
689 reviews
0.7 km away
Clow Beck House
Clow Beck House
#5 of 21 in Darlington
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
4.5 km away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
4.9 km away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel

Address: Dalton Road, Croft-on-Tees DL2 2ST, England (Formerly The Croft Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Croft-on-Tees
Price Range: $92 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Croft Hotel Croft-On-Tees
Best Western Darlington
Croft Spa Hotel
Darlington Best Western
Best Western Croft
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Santa Barbara, California

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“double room 15 bathroom very restricted us - see comments above”
 of 5 bubbles oldcachhouse, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upgrade from standard room was insignificant”
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We got a superior room and it really was.”
 of 5 bubbles 808marianh, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 15 was great - perfect décor and really quiet as it was at the end of the corridor.”
  • Room 15
  • Room 15
 of 5 bubbles Leemarr_8, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Do not miss the full English, save room, miss your dinner, but have the breakfast - fantastic!”
 of 5 bubbles Z5562XRsteveh, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay