We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Talalla Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Talalla Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

541 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 429: English reviews
Start your review of Talalla Retreat
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My friend and I stayed here in February in one of the ground floor rooms. The open air shower was lovely and the bathroom was clean and tidy. Towels were provided for use in the bathroom and also by the swimming pool. Soap, shampoo, body lotion etc were also provided. There were plug sockets in the rooms for all plug...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha_RG_54
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel consist of small houses with 4 rooms in one. The top rooms has no walls and outdoor shower on all. Some with view over the ocean. The hotel area is huge with Palm trees and grass and a nice pool. The beach is the best. A small beautiful bay where you can play in the waves. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kristine_h_pedersen
SF Bay Area
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here unintentionally for one night because our intended hotel in Hiriketya Beach made a mistake on our booking. Our room was very nice, spacious, and clean, and, as budget travelers up to this point we had not had a hot shower until now. Ah, hot shower! We did not eat at the buffet dinner but it looked excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ERSFBayArea
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

This place is in a great location, in the fabulous beach of Talalla. On pictures it looks great, and also from outside. But the services and quality of the rooms are very average. The food is also very bland, specially compared with the amazing Sunshine next to it. They offer Yoga and Surf, but for European top prices, which makes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joost_v_bellen
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We treated ourselves at the midpoint of our trip! A great place to relax and recharge - clean rooms, modern design, nice pool, right on the beach. They run yoga and surf classes too - though it was slightly expensive if you're on any sort of budget. Also enjoyed the food - great breakfast buffet and the salad was an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachelwalker12
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had booked a "bungalow" here, and to my great surprise they took me to a small, windowless room with only barely space for a bed and a shared bathroom outside the building. What?! My booking said nothing about a shared bathroom or that I had in fact booked some sort of communal sleeping arrangement. They offered to upgrade me to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank piroco
Talalla Y, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Piroco...We call the bungalow a bungalow because it is a bungalow....a colonial sri lankan house.....Its our cheapest accomodation and I am surprised you thought you were renting a whole house and not a room in a house......on the website the size of the room ,photos of the room and a description are supplied...I don't feel we can do much...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The immaculate grounds of the property is the first thing that you notice when you enter the place, with freshly cut grass around a beautiful swimming pool it creates a sense of what is to come. On arrival, I was given an open air room around the swimming pool which was not what I wanted, and was thankfully given another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
Talalla Y, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

hi Sharon...glad you enjoyed talalla and I am glad to hear we were able to move you to a room you liked...most guests want to be at the pool ground rooms but everyone is different and that is why we always do what we can to please you...with seven acres of land and five price levels we can usually find...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two nights in an ocean villa. Beautiful location and fabulous beach, almost unspoiled. Room was simple but clean and functional. Breakfast a bit disappointing. I asked for fruit juice and was told it wasn't included and I would have to pay for it. I ordered coffee and was brought a small pot with enough for just over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank williamsjeremy1
Talalla Y, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi...gald you enjoyed your stay..sad some things annoyed you....Yes we do charge for fresh juices,and additional coffee but as we charge $8 for breakfast we would rather leave this low price than have to charge everyone more and include the above....thanks.

Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was not my first visit to Talalla Retreat and once again it didn't cease to amaze me. I have left with a full heart, feeling revitalised and energised to embrace the world again. It really is its own little sanctuary with so much beauty, elegance, friendship and charm to offer. Since my last visit the grounds have expanded to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zoe s
Talalla Y, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks Zoe for your kind words....Makes us happy....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good stay and value for money. Stayed at ocean view rooms (upper level) with scenic view to Indian Ocean. Newish, very tidy and well functioning room facilities. Almost all staff is local and very friendly creating you a cozy feel. Food is ok but not very special including basic curries and a good variety of vegetarian options. Lunch 6$,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JussiViking
Talalla Y, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Mr Viking....Thanks for you kind words...looking forward to meeting you on one of your visits...

436 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (400)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (162)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talalla
21.2 km away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#5 of 15 in Tangalle
310 reviews
19.5 km away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
6.4 km away
UTMT Underneath the Mango Tree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 km away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#8 of 15 in Tangalle
244 reviews
0.1 km away
Secret Bay Hotel
Secret Bay Hotel
#15 of 17 in Matara
82 reviews
0.7 km away
Talalla Bay Beach Boutique Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Some places we do not merely visit, we become a part of! Places that touch your spirit, and replenish your soul. Where time fades, and your only schedule is the turning of the tides! Welcome to an undiscovered Beach Resort Sri Lanka paradise. Welcome to Talalla. Talalla retreat is a boutique hotel, offering barefoot rustic charm on the Southern Beaches of Sri Lanka. The retreat sits on Talalla Beach, an undiscovered cove of crystal clear turquoise water, spotless golden sand and mesmerizing sunrises and sunsets. Of all the resorts in Sri Lanka, Talalla offers its guests a level of elegant simplicity just metres from the lapping waters of a secluded cove. Here, time is measured in moments of serenity and pleasure. It is a place to get away from it all and to absorb the unsurpassed natural beauty of Sri Lanka. A jungle paradise, Talalla is built low rise, and set into lush gardens, resplendent with tropical flora. Monkeys play in the coconut palms as they sway softly in the breeze. Monitor lizards roam freely as they have since the days of the dinosaurs. Squirrels twitter as they dart through the grass. And at night, fireflies light­up the surrounds, guiding you lightly to your villa.... Relax in the 20 metre freshwater pool, swing in a hammock or lounge on a sun­chair by day and by night indulge in a cocktail at the bar, or lounge on the sofa nearby. Sri Lanka’s best kept secret is waiting for you, are you ready to replenish your soul and get in touch with nature? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Talalla Retreat

Address: Sampaya House, Talalla 60604, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Talalla
Price Range: $57 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Talalla Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Talalla Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Talalla Retreat staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Talalla Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A warning about open air rooms. If you're a light sleeper and rooms are close together or the hotel is near the road, don't. Just don't.”
 of 5 bubbles ERSFBayArea, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms away from the pool”
 of 5 bubbles SharonT668, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the beach bungalows are amazing”
 of 5 bubbles zoes466, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best views”
 of 5 bubbles JussiViking, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Concrete chalets are better value than the bamboo huts”
 of 5 bubbles Taykabo, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5