We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Old Hall Meriden Road Heart of England Conference and Events Centre, Fillongley CV7 8DX England
Lowest prices for your stay
US$42
View deal
Free cancellation until 23-02-18
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$42
View deal
Free cancellation until 23-02-18
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (57)
Room & Suite (14)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated adjacent to the Heart of England Conference and Events centre the Old Hall House provides delightful Bed and Breakfast accommodation. With 7 individually decorated bedrooms and an external log cabin we provide an excellent and friendly stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Restaurant
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Wifi
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Show more
Room features
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
102Reviews2Q+A21Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 36
  • 27
  • 17
  • 10
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sally C wrote a review Jan. 2023
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed for 1 night for a special occasion, booked a pod , given the keys and when we arrived at the pod it hadn’t been cleaned from the previous guest , bedding still on , dirty cups , rubbish . Went back to reception and given keys to another pod , got there to find no electric or even lightbulbs in fittings , went back to reception and were given keys for a room in the house , hadn’t been hoovered , no coffee cups , no milk , bedding that had been delivered stacked up outside main entrance that we had to climb over and was still there when we left in the morning , in my opinion a fire hazard
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Stephen W wrote a review Oct. 2022
1 contribution
Started well enough with friendly staff, but the room was infested with flies. We were moved to a cheaper room (had booked the deluxe), but no mention made of a partial refund, despite the alternative being a shepherd's hut (their name for a small caravan) at half the price. Then we discovered the shower was broken, but all the reception staff go home at 6pm, so stuck with it. Still trying to get a reply from this supposedly large business, but being ignored.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ian wrote a review Sep. 2022
1 contribution
+1
I was originally supposed to be stopping in a log cabin. However after checking in and making my way to the "pod" I found a used showr cap and construction debris (copper wire and saw dust) still within the bathroom cabinet. And on top of other fixtures and packaging still in the fridge. I was not the first person to stop in that cabin so those areas have clearly never been cleaned. When complaining to the staff I was moved into the house. The room smelt musty but I had no choice. On further inspection there were dead insects on the window ledge, mould, algae and soap scum in the shower. Dust all over the fixtures and fittings. And other guests items in the bed side table. Even the bulbs we gone and hadn't been replaced. The walls are plastered with holes from old fixings that have been poorly repaired including a socket that appears to be held in with caulk If I could have moved to another hotel I would have. Instead I slept fully clothed so I didn't have to touch the sheets.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Paul J wrote a review Sep. 2022
1 contribution
We booked this hotel last minute after having to make changes to our trip to the NEC. Not fancying a glamping pod, we booked a room and were allocated the honeymoon suite. The hotel was very clean throughout and you could smell the cleaning products as soon as you walked in, indicating the cleaners had been in doing a thorough job. Staff were lovely and friendly and let us check in an hour early as the room was ready when we arrived at 2pm. Free parking is provided and I could see my car from the window of our room. The location is good and site was nice and quiet, despite having an events centre next door. There isn’t much within walking distance however there’s a bar and restaurant on site to cater for your needs. There’s also free wifi however our mobile signals were absolutely fine so we had no reason to make use of it on this occasion. Jacuzzi in the room was a nice touch and big enough to fit two people in. Was delighted to find out that a complimentary breakfast was included the following morning, and not too early either, starting at 9am. Sunday check out at 11am was ideal without us having to rush. As pleasant as the hotel is, it needs a fair bit of work. It’s very dated and tired looking. It’s creaky and old and is in need of a bit of a restoration, more than just a lick of paint here and there. The walls are paper thin, as I was lying in bed I could hear the person in the next room using the toilet - I won’t get graphic but let me just say I could hear everything as though I was in the room with them. One of the windows in our room wouldn’t shut at all, which wasn’t a massive issue as the weather wasn’t too bad, but during colder months this would’ve been impossible to sleep through. The old wooden frames were warped and you couldn’t even put it on the latch as the metal lever had snapped. There was no hot water for the shower so we were forced to take a cool shower. Not the end of the world but a bit inconvenient. My wife also pointed out that there was nowhere for her to get ready and do her makeup. The room is more than big enough to fit a dressing table in and this would’ve saved her sitting on the floor in front of the mirror to do her hair and makeup. It’s also pricey compared to local competitors. Breakfast was okay but lacking a few basics - no hash brown or black pudding. It would also benefit from a variety of options such as fresh fruit and yogurt. On the whole it was a nice experience but I’d only stay here again if I couldn’t get in anywhere else OR if it was modernised and updated throughout.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take your own food and drink if you’re on a budget or staying for a few days as the on-site...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Helen Croxon wrote a review Jul. 2022
Bedford, United Kingdom14 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I booked this through Booking.com as 'Old Hall, NEC' which shows lovely pictures of the old hall with grass and glamping pods next to it. I expected that glamping on such a site would provide a relatively peaceful and quiet experience - but there was no mention of the fact that it is actually the Heart of England conference and events centre, or 'Coventry's leading party venue' according to the sign at the entrance. They hold everything from weddings to Groupon events and more. I had booked the log cabin, which seemed pleasant and as I expected, in that it had two single beds pushed together to make a double, an ensuite shower, electric sockets and a kettle, plus a wardrobe and dressing table. However, what I was not expecting was that it looked directly onto an event venue and several marquees with event fields to the side (see photos). Although I arrived on a Tuesday, music started in the early evening which was annoying but almost ignorable. Fortunately, I hadn't paid for a hot tub and wasn't planning on spending the evening on my balcony, although I was planning on reading a book. Next, empty limos and a bus drove past, which turned out to be after they had dropped people off for a school prom. Around 8.30 they cranked up the music so that the whole of the cabin vibrated and rattled until the music stopped at 11pm. There was no way of getting away from it without leaving the site. In addition to this, the cabin was neither clean nor well maintained. There was a tap in the bathroom running constantly and one of the two beds was broken. It felt like there was a post sticking into my back - which did indeed turn out to be the case. There was visible dirt. The whole cabin was on an angle so some of the windows did not stay open, which would have been an issue if it was any warmer. Whilst I probably should have demanded a full refund and a cancellation of the rest of my stay, I had a two-day event at the NEC and really needed somewhere to stay the second night. In the morning I went into reception to complain, saying amongst other things that there had been nothing in the booking process to suggest that there would be events happening which would result in an intolerable amount of noise that rattled the whole cabin. I also said that, since it was advertised as a glamping venue at Old Hall, I had expected that it would be relatively quiet and relaxing. The reply was, "Well who told you that?" The attitude was generally unsympathetic and when I said that I had paid a lot of money for this awful experience, she looked at her computer and said, "Well you got a very good rate" as if that made up for it. She did eventually apologize (unconvincingly) and say that she would speak to the manager and call me when she had, but I never heard from them again. She did at least assure me that there wasn't going to be another party that evening. Whilst there wasn't a party, a number of heavy plant vehicles started arriving shortly afterwards and on the third day I woke up to find a construction fair taking place in front of my cabin. I didn't feel inclined to sit outside on the deck area, even though furniture was provided. The whole experience was disappointing and unsatisfactory, not least the management response to my complaint. I wish I had read the reviews on Trip Advisor because the reviews on Booking.com weren't as bad (realistic) as the ones on this site. I don't know if that was because they had been moderated but I now see that the recent reviews are terrible and in line with my own. When I have had experiences in other accommodation which were nowhere near as bad as this, the management apologized profusely and refunded my money. The person I spoke to at Old Hall/Heart of England just said something about how they would make their booking information more accurate, which might possibly help future punters but did absolutely nothing to help me. If you're still thinking about booking, I suggest you consult the site map in my photos and go for something on the field, rather than next to the hall. If you are planning on staying before/after an event you are attending, you will probably be just fine. For anyone else, apparently it is your responsibility to check whether there is going to be an event on during your stay, so I suggest that you do so to avoid disappointment/wasting your time and money.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Paul C wrote a review Feb. 2022
Storrington, United Kingdom48 contributions28 helpful votes
We stayed here as a base for the NEC. would have been better in a bus shelter. Its was a metal shepards hut with a bed and shower room. It was dirty with someone's perfume that was left behind so the cleaning comes into doubt and the stairs outside are useless when wet the bed inside is sooooo high that if you have problems with your back or feet or arthritis in your legs you will never make the up upto it. Its far to high off the ground. The owners dog had CRAPED on the edge of the grass/pathway and I stepped in it. The breakfast on the first morning was no way edable but the second morning was fine. The breakfast boxes were out of date some by nealry a year 04/21 😳 the bread for the toast was about the freshest thing there and that had been kept in a very cold fridge. Jam pots were out of date. I could go on but I think I've said enough.. I will never stay here again AVOID AT ALL COST.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Stuart E wrote a review Feb. 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
As I write this at 12:40 am the whole cabin down is shaking from the bass at the event venue of site. We came for what we though would be a relaxing break away! This is a night from hell! Awful awful awful - avoid like the plague !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Kim F wrote a review Oct. 2021
6 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Pod was lovely on the initial entry, unfortauntley we found a few flaws. The TV near the sofa is virtually on the ceiling and impossible to watch whilst sat on the sofa unless you like having a sore neck. Absolutely no cutlery even no tea spoon to make coffee, even though they provide mugs, coffee etc. But nothing to stir with. Bathroom very disappointing at seeing mouse poo all over the floor, and behind the toilet was filthy. The bed was very uncomfortable and the pod itself does not have any noise insulation as you hear absolutely every noise outside. The bedroom window was also leaking water to the inside Breakfast was standard but they had a conference on and the breakfast room was full at 7.30am but the lively staff sat us in the living room area but the noise was so loud from the other breakfast room. It had also rained the day before and we had to park in main car park and walk across a muddy wet field to get to the pod...luckily I was not wearing stilettos! What I thought I had booked online from the photos was totally different so do check when booking a log cabin as to what you are exactly getting. Overall I would not stay here again, will be sending a complaint email re.the cleanliness.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ian C wrote a review Oct. 2021
Coventry, United Kingdom1 contribution
I was in a tricky spot on my last night and the lovely Emma helped me out after a very hectic day. Always very polite and a pleasure to have met. All the staff were very helpful but emmas lovely and professional charm was unmatched have an amazing day guys 😁
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
vivienne h wrote a review Sep. 2021
Bournemouth, United Kingdom70 contributions42 helpful votes
Long drive to old building - view of Ely Cathedral almost immediately. Gardens with lovely lake and resident ducks, swans and geese. The speciality of the hotel -weddings, and what a beautiful setting. Our room (20) a family room with views to all 4 sides. Bathroom, bigger than our bedroom at home, has a free standing bath and looks over the cathedral. We opted for twin beds but when pushed together make a king double. Mon and Tues no dinner which we knew about so found very close in Ely on the canal a pub. Breakfast superb. Fresh berries, coffee excellent, hot breakfast cooked individually. The house is old and mentioned in Oliver Cromwell's (in Ely) house, though The Old Hall looked different then. Not sure if the house has lifts as we used the stairs always, so best to check.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 20 has 4 twin beds in 2 rooms totally interconnected with views
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$49 - US$88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Heart Of England
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWarwickshireFillongley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Old Hall House - UPDATED 2023 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Fillongley, England) - Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Old Hall House
Which popular attractions are close to Old Hall House?
Nearby attractions include Escape Hunt Resorts World (7.9 km), Middle England Farm Alpacas (6.5 km), and National Motorcycle Museum (7.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Old Hall House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Old Hall House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Old Hall House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Old Hall House?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Loft, Las Iguanas, and Rajrani.
Does Old Hall House offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Old Hall House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Arbury Hall (7.6 km).