We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 90: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a few nights with our parents here and the staff could not have been more helpful. They went out of their way to make sure that we were comfortable, including rearranging a room for my mother's needs without hesitation. The food is lovely and the setting is wonderful - truly in the countryside. You need to take a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Callum C
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We took a trip to addo for my birthday and thought it would be nice to stay overnight at one of the lodges. Unfortunately we chose this place. It was apparently 4 star, but I assure you it isn't even close! The waitresses and general staff are great, but the management staff have absolutely no clue about efficiency or proper... More 

Helpful?
Thank Khavish H
Addo P, General Manager at Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve, responded to this review

Hi, We are really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our lodge. We were extremely busy at the time of your stay and I think we were probably not able to look after all our guests needs as well as we would have hoped to. Our dining area is usually big enough to accommodate all our guests... More 

Tellingstedt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice place, nice people, comfortable rooms, best service. We have had very good days in Addo Place. Thanks for good looking after us. Special degrees to Angelique, and thanks, that she had save our Sibuya-Tour. It was an unforgettable day.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gabrieler708
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2016

PARADISE! if you want to have a taste of africa and you love nature, you need to stop here. this place took my breath away from the moment the car pulled in the driveway. Emilio, the owner, was amazing we got to do a mini private safari with his jeep around the property and seeing wild zebras walking around was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Camilla M
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
190 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Getting to this lodge is a little challenging but it is worth it. It is 15km from main road, accessable by ordinary car. The africian theme throughout the lodge is wonderful from the bright coloured art design on outside to the details in the rooms right down to the food on the menu. The scenery is fabulous, the lodge has... More 

Helpful?
Thank decdeasy
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2016

My fiancee and I stayed at Addo Bush Palace this past August for 7 nights. Right at the beginning, the staff made us feel at home. We were welcomed with a complimentary drink and nice warm towels (It was a bit cold). Since then everything got even better. We had booked 4 nights at the lodge itself and 3 nights... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ignech
Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

This lodge is located in a great location close the Addo elephant park. The rooms are beautiful and well decorated, with electric blankets and full of good taste details. Everything new and clean and comfortable. The service is excellent and good food and wines. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank SpainNuria
Addo P, Public Relations Manager at Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hola Nuria!! Muchísimas gracias por tu comentario tan positivo! Estamos muy contentos que tu estancia con nosotros haya sido tan... More 

Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Great locaton: adjacent to Addo Elephant National Park. Luxury decoration and very comfortable room. Beautifully surrounded by nature, we went hiking in the premises and got to see giraffes real close! Plenty of activities to do: we had lots of fun with the "bush survival course" by a native xhosa. If you love Nature this is the place to stay.... More 

Helpful?
Thank dariomt2016
Addo P, Public Relations Manager at Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve, responded to this review

Hi Dario, Thank you very much for your kinds words! We are happy that you enjoyed our place and also the "Bush Survival Course". Espero que algún día tu y Patricia nos volváis a visitar! Un abrazo fuerte More 

Bruges, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2016

perfect place to refresh and calm down, lovely landscape, beautifull, cosy lodges, vriendly and very well organised people, nice meals, interesting adventures on the place itself and of course in Addo NP - we really had a fantastic time!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank barts559
Addo P, Assistant Manager at Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve, responded to this review

Hi, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for the kind words, we appreciate it a lot. Regards Addo Bush Palace Team More 

Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely time in mid-July at the Addo Bush Palace. It is wonderfully secluded and dead quiet. Jonathan and Angelique carried us on their hands and were fantastic hosts. The additional services and bookings were done expertly and exactly the way we wanted it and the hosts' knowledge of the area and what will suit heir gusts bes is... More 

Review collected in partnership with Windows 10 app

Helpful?
2 Thank Johann U
Addo P, Assistant Manager at Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve, responded to this review

Hi Johann, It was lovely and our pleasure to accommodate you and your wife for your anniversary. Thank you so much for the kind words. We hope to see you again soon. Regards Addo Bush Palace Team More 

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greater Addo hotels
14.3 km away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
374 reviews
19.7 km away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
27.0 km away
Africanos Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.0 km away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
29.9 km away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
13.6 km away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#3 of 10 in Addo
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently opened, Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve offers luxury accommodation on a spectacular and peaceful 2,500 acres private property close to the Addo Elephant National Park. On arrival our guest are impressed by the magnificent colours of the African Ndebele painted thatch lodges, situated in a beautiful and natural area. Addo Palace has a total of thirteen luxurious rooms distributed amongst three magnificent buildings. Our interiors have been carefully decorated with high standard colonial antiques to create a perfect balance between the African bush and luxury. We offer our clients a choice of accommodation only, bed and breakfast or full board. We are located one hour from Port Elizabeth, close to the world-renowned Schotia and Shamwari Game Reserves. We can arrange all your excursions in the area including Elephant Back Safaris, Private Plane Charters, Big 5 Game Drives, Mountain Bike Trails, Hiking Trails and much more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve

Address: | Kromrivier Valley, Paterson, 6105, South Africa (Formerly Addo Palace "Ndebele Bush Lodge")
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo
Price Range: $83 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room with a front view”
 of 5 bubbles 931candiceh, 20 Jan 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in zebra lodge which is removed from the main lodge and restaurant, so somewhat quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles I6151QHcharlottec, 1 Jan 2016 | Read review
“a room in the main building seems a good option”
 of 5 bubbles PGH1010, 31 Dec 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are great, but i will choose the main lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles fernandonavarropelae, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Away from the Main Lodge, then you get a patio included!!”
  • Bathroom
  • View from room
  • Bedroom
  • Bathroom
  • Room
 of 5 bubbles MackyDs, 23 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay