We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pemba Lodge

Save
Share
Traveller (113)
Pool & Beach (26)
Room & Suite (17)
Overview
P.O.Box 3361 - North Coast, Kiweni (Shamiani) 3361 Tanzania See on map
AMENITIES
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Suites
Bar/Lounge
3.5 Star accommodation
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
64
9
0
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
64
9
0
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoctopusfishcrabspiced teaan adventurenatural settingunforgettable experienceblue lagoonstayed longermilky waydesert islandmosquito netmangomr alicompost toiletsecobungalow
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 80 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

The best eco lodge we have ever been to on our travels and we highly recommend this to any traveler coming to Pemba Island. The lodge is built with everything as you would imagine an eco lodge to be. Masood who is an all rounder...More

Thank Natasha D
Reviewed June 22, 2018

We stayed at Pemba Lodge in Januari. We have had an absolutely amazing time there. Ali and Masoud and their team did everything they could to make our stay unforgettable. The rooms are clean, spacious and beautifully decorated. A mosquito net is provided, as are...More

1  Thank vakantie27
Response from Nassor M, Owner at Pemba LodgeResponded July 10, 2018

Dear vakantie27, Thank you for such a lovely review. We are extra-pleased to learn that you had a wonderful and memorable stay at Pemba Lodge . I will personally pass your regards to the named staff members and I'm sure that it will make their...More

Reviewed April 13, 2018

This is my second time staying at Pemba Lodge and will continue to go as it combines the most natural setting, peaceful uncrowded beach, ecological lodging and the best staff willing to accommodate any of your requirements! Plan on visiting the village and ask about...More

1  Thank Ka F
Response from Nassor M, Owner at Pemba LodgeResponded May 16, 2018

Dear Ka F, We are truly honored to host you for the second time and happy that you always take home wonderful memories of Pemba Lodge... We certainly look forward to your many returns.

Reviewed February 21, 2018

We were horizontal after our relaxing, stress-free time at the lodge .Ali, Becka, Masoud and all the staff looked after us so well and gave us great experiences. Our trip to Masali Island was definitely a highlight. Masoud was so patient with the snorkelling and...More

Thank BryonyThorn
Response from Nassor M, Owner at Pemba LodgeResponded March 7, 2018

Thank you, so much Byrony for your comments, Pemba is certainly a place to get away from the stresses and strains of normal life. I am pleased to hear the the staff looked after you all in a special way. We hope to have the...More

Reviewed February 19, 2018

We arrived by boat and the staff were waiting on the beach for us. Our room was huge, clean and airy. It was my first experience with solar panel heating, lighting and composting toilets and I am hooked. The food during the weekend was simple...More

Thank wifeinmidlifecrisis
Response from Nassor M, Owner at Pemba LodgeResponded March 7, 2018

Dear wifeinmidlifecrisis, Thank you very much for such a lovely review ...It was a plesure hosting you and we definately look forward to your next visit.

View more reviews
About
Description
Pemba Lodge, situated on the remote and beautiful Shamiani Island off Pemba, Zanzibar’s sister island.It is Pemba’s first true eco-lodge ...More Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Beachfront
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Shuttle Bus Service
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
5
Price range
US$187 - US$458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island > Kiweni (Shamiani)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
5
Price range
US$187 - US$458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island > Kiweni (Shamiani)
Photos
Traveller (113)
Pool & Beach (26)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (9)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Pemba Island
Fundu Lagoon
354 reviews
20.22 km away
Hotel Archipelago
31 reviews
24.36 km away
Pemba Crown Hotel
8 reviews
44.49 km away
Nungwi Dreams Boutique Hotel
71 reviews
54.95 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2 nearby restaurants
Le Macis Zanzibar
165 reviews
56.74 km away
Saruche Restaurant
211 reviews
56.90 km away
Rooftops bar
140 reviews
56.91 km away
The Jetty
123 reviews
54.89 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 9 attractions in Pemba Island
Pemba Island
124 reviews
24.80 km away
Mnemba Atoll
199 reviews
55.94 km away
Dive Point Zanzibar
149 reviews
57.19 km away
Kendwa Beach
438 reviews
58.68 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
cloHammamet
i would like to tell a few words to Mr Nasser who came in the lodge very quickly while we were there: 1- do you know that if you want to have clean ans unsmelling eco toilets you should separate urine and sheet 2- when you wetre there the whale was already smelling so badly that we change room, buried ourselves the whale body but the pieces of the whale were still al over the place , you did look like taking care of it 3- fortunately you have Ali trying to do as much as he can 4- the price is absolutely too high for what you offer ; bad food, smells , service, almost no lights in the rooms, water so little you cannot wash your hair or your teeth, plus this few water is dark brown well i am traveling a lot especially in these kind of places and i was very disappointed and i can see i am not alone in this case but you did not put any answer on my review ( nov 2014)
December 20, 2014|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Nassor M | Property representative |
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your reply. Here are the detailed answers to the issues you have raised: Conservation laws say that we are not allowed to remove the beached whale. It is bound to take its natural course... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"All room are quiet"
Read review
"I liked the houses closest to the main building where we ate because the wifi signal was pretty strong..."
Read review
"All cottages are the same, spacious and beautiful."
Read review
"None required. Sound of surf lulls you to sleep. Enjoy."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing