We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 660: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bernardc485
Marino P, Direttore generale at BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

I organised a conference for 44 people 29th September to 2nd October. We had a wonderful time. The hotel is very elegant and the rooms were pleasant. Those with sea view and balconies were extremely nice. The food in the restaurant was good. We had our coffee and lunch in the garden which was lovely. All the staff were excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JulieL1958
Marino P, Direttore generale at BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for sharing your review of our Grand Hotel Royal It was a pleasure to learn that you had a thoroughly enjoyable experience and I was delighted to read that our team helped to ensure you and the member of conference had a wonderful stay with us. Rest assured that I will share your feedback with the...

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We spent a week at the Grand Hotel Royal for our Honeymoon in September. The hotel was Grand staff polite and very helpful. Meals were good although breakfast was the same each day.The hotel is situated on the main road opposite the beach and near bus and trains.We had a fabulous time and would make a return visit.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lynn2909
Marino P, Direttore generale at BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is always delightful to read that a guest intends to give us their seal of approval by wanting to stay again. Thank you, it is much appreciated and I hope that you will do just that. Kind regards

Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We arrived at night when it was lit up and it looked amazing, we were given a free room upgrade to a suite at the back, intially we were disapointed as we had hoped for a seaview and balcony, however it had great views of the mountains and was quieter than the front (which faced a busy road) so we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank davann2015
Marino P, Direttore generale at BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the thorough review of our service and facilities and I am delighted that we performed so well. Just to clarify for other and future guest you was very lucky to have an upgrade because usually the room on the rear are only on the 1st and second floor soo without mountains view: view is only...

Somerset
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Spent 10 nights in this hotel which oozed old fashioned charm. The hotel staff spoke English: were friendly, helpful and generally efficient. Hotel is well placed on the promenade but does mean there is road noise whether you are in the front or back of the hotel relaxing by the swimming pool. Viareggio has an extensive beach which is mainly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarells
Marino P, Direttore generale at BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thankyou for your kind feedback. We would firstly like to apologiese once again for the infortunate event that occured during your stay at our hotel. We can assure you that the water problem was absolutely no risk whatsoever to health, this is why we decide to do not alarm people in hotel. Apologiese also for lukewarm food and...

clonmel
Reviewed 25 September 2016

This is a really nice hotel, quiet , well appointed,good food and really pleasant staff. The poolside restaurant at lunchtime serves simple food well,no frills yet reasonable prices.Coffee is something like euro two. This would not be a hotel for teenagers or those seeking a disco experience , but is a chill out for sensible adults.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank noel k
Marino P, Direttore generale at BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for kind review. We are pleased you had an enjoyable holiday. Hope you will return Kind regards

New York, New York, United States
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Viareggo is a beautiful town, with a large promenade of shops next to a lovely beach. The hotel is one of the nicest on this promenade and is very striking to look at. It's old and grand style is well kept and the staff are all lovely. Beautiful food and a great array of choice for breakfast. We had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
Marino P, Direttore generale at BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and please accept our sincere compliments! We would like to thank you for your comments Hope to welcome you again in the future at the Grand Best Wishes

Pisa, Italy
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and I spent 10 days at this beautiful hotel and could not fault it at all. The location is perfect, all parts of the hotel spotlessly clean, the food is delicious and the staff are wonderful. Viareggio itself is a beautiful place and it is perfect for sightseeing from. I will definitely return to this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
Marino P, Direttore generale at BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate your kind feedback and was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you. Hope you will return up. Best Wishes

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

This place was recommended highly by relatives. However, they have got a deal going with Saga which means that anyone else, who are paying Eu200 a night, cannot eat dinner in the restaurant which has about 60 tables. Reception say "ask Restaurant Manager" who says "ask Reception". Thoroughly unprofessional. Would not have booked, had they stated this on their website....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Phil_Chambers
Marino P, Direttore generale at BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Chambers, thank you for your kind feedback. We are upset to know now that your stay was absolutely disappointing. Please accept our sincere apologies. Just to clarify a couple of point: Our Restaurant is quite always full of guest, not only Saga and we do not understand this point of complain even if you have payd a 200...

Sheffield
Reviewed 16 September 2016

This hotel stands on the promenade view wonderful sea views and facilities which are wonderful. The staff are very professional and experienced. Food and wine which is as good as anywhere you have been in the world. Grand Royal looks and feels comfortable with all the facilities you wish for, good sized swimming pool, pool bar and two large restaurants....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
Marino P, Direttore generale at BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am so pleased you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Viareggio Best Wishes

708 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (528)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (140)
Viewed
View from Room (60)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (40)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (185)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (148)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Puccini Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Standard Room with Sea View (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.6 km away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.5 km away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#3 of 53 in Viareggio
473 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#6 of 53 in Viareggio
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sina Astor
Sina Astor
#11 of 53 in Viareggio
455 reviews
0.3 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 53 in Viareggio
256 reviews
1.0 km away
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
#16 of 53 in Viareggio
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Price Range: $110 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with sea view and balcony extra cost and a little noisier”
 of 5 bubbles sandrasG7385XF, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the front can be noisy on weekends due to overlooking the promenade”
 of 5 bubbles 251ruthr, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea view at the front”
 of 5 bubbles derekw983, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“This is difficult because we did not see any other rooms, none had a proper balcony. We did suffer from noise during the night but never managed to ascertain where it came from.( we were at the back of the hotel)”
 of 5 bubbles bernardc485, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a sea view and balcony on the third or fourth floor”
 of 5 bubbles JulieL1958, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay