We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotellerie du Bas-Breau

PricelineUS$128*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$368*
US$128*
US$368*
US$128*
US$355*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotellerie du Bas-Breau
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 23: English reviews
Start your review of Hotellerie du Bas-Breau
 Click to rate
United States
Reviewed 12 April 2017

The Hotellerie du Bas-Breau is styled as a Tudor-style country inn on the main street of Barbizon, a picturesque hamlet on the edge of Fontainebleau Forest and former haunt of the 19th century Barbizon School of French landscape painters. The Hotellerie itself, a former royal hunting lodge, has also hosted a range of notables, from Robert Louis Stevenson to heads...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eirene C
basbreau, Directeur général at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment and your recent visit to our facility We are pleased to know that you have had a great time and enjoyed our food and service, it really makes us very happy. We will be happy to share your feedback with the team. Waiting to receive you again. Yours sincerely.

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Fabulous location, gave us a garden room, great grounds and 1 minute to Fontainebleau woods where you can walk forever. The village is very interesting with many art galleries and the woods are truly beautiful. The hotel is very friendly and most interesting with fires in the main rooms, very welcoming.

Review collected in partnership with Châteaux & Hôtels Collection
 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherinez552
basbreau, Directeur général at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for such a positive comment on our property. It comforts us in our everyday quest for excellence in service at Bas-Bréau. We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards

London
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Breakfast at 40 euros consisted bread and cheese, no cooked or warm meals. Staff were outstandingly rude and not professional, taking plates away from the buffet during service because they wanted the service to end earlier. Couldn't believe my eyes. Also caught staff bullying a new comer which reveals their character. Finally and old, musty and uninteresting hotel. Depression guaranteed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ultimateverdict
basbreau, Directeur général at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review

You have kindly taken the time to provide us with your comments and we thank you. Your comments are valuable because we are always trying to improve our quality of service and we are strongly committed to this. We strongly regret that some of our services have not fully satisfied you.

St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Seriously in need of a revamp. Furnishings badly faded/crumbling - which I guess could be viewed as quaint - but nothing worked. Very small double bed. Poorly designed room. Wifi was useless. Bath was ancient and needed a knife to extract the bath plug. Service fulfilled the worst (and often untrue) stereotypes of what France can offer. All this is...

Review collected in partnership with Châteaux & Hôtels Collection
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alic1969
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

Hotel in general is falling apart. Rooms are old, small and outdated with no character, incredibly noisy, bed uncomfortable, pathetic shower, very expensive for what you get, television does not work, Really unpleasant experience, no iron when required!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alaufranc
London
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Barbizon itself is a wonderful, picturesque village famous for the school of art and also for les weekends gallant and even for rock climbing on the boulders in the wonderful surrounding forests. The Hotel du Bas-Breau Is a beautiful comfortable welcoming country inn set in the heart of the Village. After a distressing day, escaping from the carnage and chaos...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Woollybear
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review

We thank you for your comment and for your recent stay in Bas-Breau. Knowing that you had a good time and enjoy our cuisine makes us very happy. Pending receive you again. Yours sincerely.

Reviewed 19 March 2016

This hotel is set in a very nice surrounding. I like the charming decor and the receptionist is also very helpful. We dined at the hotel and every meal was well prepared. However, not all staff is that friendly and the room I stayed at Room 17, although very spacious and has a lot of charm in it do need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NiceGirlC
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for such a positive comment on our property. It comforts us in our everyday quest for excellence in service at Bas-Bréau. We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards

California
Reviewed 15 June 2015

We had to back up our stay by one night and did so within their 48 hour window. Upon our arrival we were refused a room and charged for the night before. Whether or not this was our mistake or booking.com they were rude and unaccommodating. Even though the hotel was practically empty and it would have cost them nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LisaWinter
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review

Madam, Thank you for having posted your so nice comments on our property!!!! We are very sorry to have had to charge you the room that you had not bothered to cancel. When booking on Booking.com you were informed of cancellation and you had accepted. Also arriving at the Bas-Breau you had problems with your taxi that you did not...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 3 June 2015

I stayed a few months ago and were the only guests. The staff were very unhelpful and lazy. For instance, we chatted for almost 3 hours by the fire which we tended ourselves and only when we were literally getting up did the staff ask whether we wanted anything to drink! Meanwhile, dried dirt on the stairs stayed there for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Veritas12345
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review

Thank you for having posted your comments on our property. We are quite surprised that you waited so long to submit your comment after reading we understand that three months were needed on reflection. Kindest regards

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 March 2015

That was a deal through Groupon, and I am happy it was. The room was spacious with a super duper bathroom, bed was 160mm bended but still ok, and 2 uncomfortable pillows. Welcome was friendly, service was nice with attention to details, like the waitress offered to have our dessert by the fireplace, nice attention. The food is the big...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bob r
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review
Google Translation

Nous avons pris bonne note de vos remarques. Nous sommes sincèrement navrés que vous n'ayez pas apprécié votre Dîner. Merci...

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barbizon
0.1 km away
Hotel Les Pleiades
Hotel Les Pleiades
#2 of 3 in Barbizon
304 reviews
0.5 km away
LAU'BERGE de la Cle d'Or
LAU'BERGE de la Cle d'Or
#3 of 3 in Barbizon
19 reviews
8.0 km away
Aigle Noir Hotel
Aigle Noir Hotel
#1 of 12 in Fontainebleau
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
La Demeure du Parc
La Demeure du Parc
#2 of 12 in Fontainebleau
109 reviews
13.3 km away
Chateau de Bourron
Chateau de Bourron
#1 of 1 in Bourron-Marlotte
180 reviews
7.3 km away
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
#7 of 12 in Fontainebleau
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Old hunting lodge at the hedge of the Fontainebleau forest. Park with swimming pool and grill during summer season.Lunch and dinner on terrace if weather nice ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotellerie du Bas-Breau

Address: 22 Grande rue, 77630 Barbizon, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Barbizon
Price Range: $185 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotellerie du Bas-Breau 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotellerie du Bas-Breau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotellerie du Bas-Breau staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bit hot in window....open a window at night.”
catherinez552, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I would very happily stay again in room 17 on the ground floor but some of the first floor rooms also look good with views out.”
Woollybear, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
“I see that there are rooms which have more modern decor. But this is certainly not Room 17!”
NiceGirlC, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
“don not go there, there are undoubtedly better place in this over expensive town...”
222bobr, 1 Mar 2015 | Read review
“We would recommend the second floor in the building opposite the restaurant. It has two sides, one facing a garden area on the side; the other with a deck with chairs/table near the parking area, but also with a nice view (we stayed there last time). The latter is probably a nice feature in warmer weather.”
Conseiller99, 19 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$128* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$128
Orbitz.comUS$355
Expedia.comUS$368
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates