Mercure Rochefort La Corderie Royale

Mercure Rochefort La Corderie Royale

Rue Jean Batiste Audebert, 17300 Rochefort France
Traveller (262)
Vue depuis la chambre 104
Room & Suite (96)
Dining (45)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#3 of 11 hotels in Rochefort
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
History, refinement, comfort An ideal setting for both work and play Its outstanding surroundings, all-round elegance, luxurious rooms, refined, gourmet cuisine, reception/meeting rooms, swimming pool - all combine to make your stay here truly unforgettable - whether you come as a tourist, on a weekend break, or for business purposes. Refined gourmet cuisine The Restaurant, with its views out over the Charente river, offers gourmet dishes mainly based on fish and sea food. A prestigious 17th century building ...Housing modern rooms offering tastefully decorated, luxurious accommodation. An exceptional location In a lovely, leafy setting, in a site of special historic importance, on the banks of the Charente river near the Corderie Royale (former Royal Rope-works). Very close to the towns of Rochefort and La Rochelle, both centres of culture and tourism
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish

Location

Rue Jean Batiste Audebert, 17300 Rochefort France
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 70 out of 100
70
Laleu Airport
445Reviews2Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 252
  • 146
  • 31
  • 15
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
le-dolly wrote a review Mar 2022
La Souterraine, France
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The third time staying at this wonderful hôtel and it definitely will not be our last. Lodging in a Privilege Room with a great river view. A very comfortable bed with super pillows and bedding, nothing to complain about there. A well appointed room with a great coffee machine and an endless supply of pods, fridge, TV and a super clean bathroom.
The reception staff are courteous to a T, as are the restaurant and bar staff.
The hôtel is ideally placed with easy access to all amenities with restaurants, bars and the town only a few minutes walk away.

If I have a complaint, it would be that the room has a Queen size bed, 160cm, but a standard room features a King size bed, 180cm. I cannot figure it out.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guillaume BURNEL, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Rochefort La Corderie Royale
Responded Mar 13, 2022
Dear Madam, Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings following your stay at the Mercure La Corderie Royale. It is with great pleasure that we receive your compliments and will pass them on to our employees. We wish you a nice day, best regard, Flora, front desk
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Noel G wrote a review Aug 2023
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A lovely quiet Hotel away from the crowns in La Rochelle. We chose this location as the Hotel next to the rope works looks interesting and not disappointed. The rooms were perhaps a little small but the service was great from all the staff and with my dietary issues the restaurant staff really tried to help
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay here then visit La Rochelle and avoiud the massive crowds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mathilde Kermarec, General Manager at Mercure Rochefort La Corderie Royale
Responded Oct 1, 2023
Dear Customer, thank you for your comment and we are delighted that your stay with us was pleasant! We hope to welcome you again! flora, reception service
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
le-dolly wrote a review Jul 2020
La Souterraine, France
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hôtel was very clean and tidy, well situated in a very quiet part of town with good outside spaces. The attached restaurant was very good with a presumably reduced carte but still leaving a very good choice of fair. The wine list was adequate and reasonably priced.
A very pleasant stay in an ideal situation. Close to the quayside for 'boat watching' and dreaming of seaborne travel. Adjacent to La Corderie Royale (former naval rope-works) and within a ten minute walk to the historic docks of Rochefort and the centre of town.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Herve BOULARD, General Manager at Mercure Rochefort La Corderie Royale
Responded Jul 13, 2020
Thank you so much for your wonderfull review. We appreciate it. See you next time !
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
le-dolly wrote a review Nov 2021
La Souterraine, France
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the second, and not last, time we have stayed at this hôtel. It is beautifully situated, close to both the town centre and the pleasure port. The rooms are always clean and in good order, even during crisis times. We had a Privilege room that was well appointed with a cracking view over the river and the passing shipping. We will be back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guillaume BURNEL, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Rochefort La Corderie Royale
Responded Nov 25, 2021
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your feedback after your stay at the Mercure Corderie Royale, We are pleased that you enjoyed the room. See you soon in Rochefort, Best regards, Reception Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LondonTelegramSam wrote a review Aug 2020
London
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very tastefully decorated old building with friendly staff. Quiet with not many rooms. Great location. Expensive rooms and even more expensive restaurant where you must try the Jonchee d'Eric Jarnan desert. Nice bunk beds in family rooms. No upgrade even if you hold an Accor Diamond card. Otherwise 5 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DBunts46 wrote a review Jul 2022
Wokingham, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice hotel in a great spot on the river, well kept gardens and an outside pool. The reality is better than the pictures! Helpful reception and bar staff. Food in the restaurant was reasonable but the service could have been better.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guillaume BURNEL, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Rochefort La Corderie Royale
Responded Jul 9, 2022
Dear Mister, Thank you for your commentary. We take note and hope to see you again ! Flora, front desk
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TwinkleFrance wrote a review Mar 2022
france
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful stay, the bed was to die for, staff were lovely and the hotel location was great. The breakfast was excellent too. Its so peaceful, no passing traffic, surrounded by lovely gardens next to the river Charente. We will be back
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guillaume BURNEL, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Rochefort La Corderie Royale
Responded Mar 31, 2022
Dear Customer, A big thank you for this very nice comment crowned by this no less very nice 10/10 which encourages our teams. It is thanks to opinions such as yours knowing how to recognize our daily work that we are elected: Best Mercure of the Nouvelle Aquitaine Atlantique region for the 4th consecutive year. Looking forward to welcoming you again, Flora, Front desk
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pat P wrote a review Jun 2018
Poole, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
First I have to say that I stayed here many years ago, and was looking forward to going back, which may well influence this review. First the good, the staff were very helpful. Now the rest.
The magnificent building is still there, but the hotel I knew has gone. Once inside you have no idea you are in a three hundred year old building, you might as well be in a modern building, and (for me) depressing: the walls are dark blue, grey or black, the furniture and carpets are the same colours, I will add some photos. It is the little things: there are coffee and tea making facilities in the room, but the cups are paper, the bottle of water provided is not 50cl, but 33cl., the bath toiletries are a squeezy bottle attached to the wall. The shower is not separated from the toilet, so when you have a shower the area in front of the toilet is flooded, there were only six hangers in the wardrobe for the two of us (though they did provided some more when we asked).
On the food front the restaurant isn't open on Sunday evenings, and you don't have breakfast in there any more. One of the things I was looking forward too was breakfast in the restaurant, watching the bots on the river and the joggers on the path, breakfast is now in another room, dark blue walls, grey carpet, black furniture (maybe it is a French thing). Breakfast is not served to your table anymore, it is a buffet, and you have to struggle with the coffee machine. I tried both the Americano and the cappaccino and abandoned both, there were other half empty cups around as well. We did have dinner in the restaurant one evening, it was OK but overpriced.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for two keys, the lights only work if you put one in the machine on the wall.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JON O wrote a review Jan 2020
Bath, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Whilst this hotel has a stylish design bedrooms do not offer all the amenities one would expect to find at this Accor brand. Also staff seem unaware of ALL status levels and associated benefits nor offered any recognition of this upon arrival.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MercureCorderie, Front Office Manager at Mercure Rochefort La Corderie Royale
Responded Feb 18, 2020
Hello Sir, We do our best to give all what our guests expects and we are truly respectfull about ALL status levels. We are probably the hotel who give all upgrades that is possible and our guest recognize it. If you didn't get what your status deserve it is only because we didn't have the possibility and we're sorry about it. Our bedrooms respects all the Accor standards requested. If you think about something we can add in our rooms you can tell us we will think about it. Hope to welcome you again ! Sincerely.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eric_Beylon wrote a review Oct 2019
France
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent two nights at La Corderie Royale, our party of three being split in a standard room and a privilege room. The latter came with a bath (instead of a shower), extra toiletries, a bathrobe and slippers that the standard room did not have. Both rooms otherwise were quite the same: excellent, new, well appointed, and large. But we found them dark, and some areas in the rooms lacked enough lighting (for instance around the closet and safe). Breakfast, included in our rate, was as expected in a Mercure property. We had all dinners at the restaurant and enjoyed our meals there, as well as the wide range of wines offered by the glass. Menu choice was anyhow rather limited and, at the end of the stay, we had already tried almost everything. As reported by previous travelers, the hotel's parking lot is very small and all guests won't be able to park here, which is an information you'd better know in advance. Finally we regretted the waiting time we experienced at front desk: staff was very kind but the only clerk on duty gave priority to answering the phone (people wanting to book, or requesting information) instead of taking care of the actual guests waiting in front of her (to check-in or check-out). As a result, although we had checked-in on line in advance, we wasted quite a lot of time on arrival. Front desk should be more staffed, or incoming calls should be transferred to a back office.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MercureCorderie, Front Office Manager at Mercure Rochefort La Corderie Royale
Responded Nov 14, 2019
Hello Sir, Thank you for your comment following your stay in our hotel. Regarding your negative comment we have to let you know that our winter menu for our restaurant is coming next Tuesday and is wider than the previous one. Our car park is free and not bookable you have to understand that it's not because you have a room that you have a parking place. And finally we are sorry that you have waited at the front office and we already told tou our receptionnists that they have to care about our guest in front before our guest on the phone. However this kind of situation is happening so few times. I hope we will gave the pleasure to welcome you once again in better conditions. Sincerely.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Noel G wrote a tip Aug 2023
West Byfleet, United Kingdom102 contributions62 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay here then visit La Rochelle and avoiud the massive crowds"
Read full review
FrancophilePerth75 wrote a tip Sep 2018
Perth, Australia40 contributions20 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room overlooking the river"
Read full review
Pat P wrote a tip Jun 2018
Poole, United Kingdom85 contributions69 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for two keys, the lights only work if you put one in the machine on the wall."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rochefort area.
PRICE RANGE
C$216 - C$249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
la corderie royale rochefort
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
La Corderie Royale
LOCATION
FranceNouvelle-AquitaineCharente-MaritimeRochefort
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Mercure Rochefort La Corderie Royale - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Rochefort La Corderie Royale
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Rochefort La Corderie Royale?
Nearby attractions include La Corderie Royale De Rochefort (0.4 km), Potager du Roy (0.4 km), and Jardin Des Retours (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Rochefort La Corderie Royale?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Mercure Rochefort La Corderie Royale?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Rochefort La Corderie Royale?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Rochefort La Corderie Royale?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Rochefort La Corderie Royale?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vivre(s), Le Restaurant O'Gabier, and Les Thermes.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mercure Rochefort La Corderie Royale?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Mercure Rochefort La Corderie Royale located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Rochefort.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Rochefort La Corderie Royale?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Mercure Rochefort La Corderie Royale?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Mercure Rochefort La Corderie Royale offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
All Rochefort HotelsRochefort Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RochefortHotels near Mercure Rochefort La Corderie Royale
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars