Les Chambres de l'Abbaye

Les Chambres de l'Abbaye

11, Place de l’Abbaye, 17100 Saintes France
Traveller (47)
Vue extérieure
Room & Suite (24)
Salle de petit déjeuner
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#6 of 17 hotels in Saintes
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tout contre l’abbatiale, joyau d’art roman, le premier étage de l’ancien bâtiment conventuel offre aux visiteurs des nuits insolites au cœur de l'Abbaye aux Dames. Aménagées dans les anciennes cellules monastiques, les 33 chambres de l’Abbaye proposent une expérience hôtelière singulière ouverte à tous, individuels et groupes. Les planchers anciens, la beauté des voûtes, l'escalier en pierre donnent le ton de la nuit. Ici, calme, sérénité et supplément d'âme sont au rendez-vous.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Coffee shop
Board games / puzzles
Meeting rooms
Chapel / shrine
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Room features
Bottled water
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
1.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

11, Place de l’Abbaye, 17100 Saintes France
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 78 out of 100
78
Laleu Airport
65.2 km
See all flights
84Reviews1Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 32
  • 36
  • 7
  • 6
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
TravelingWithFriends wrote a review Jun 2013
Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is not your run-of-the-mill ***** hotel, yet the experience is amazing nevertheless. But you need to know what you are up to before coming there. First do not make reservations on line – you can’t book ensuite rooms this way. Write to pepe@abbayeauxdames.org and ask for a comfort ensuite room. There are only 3 of these but Abbaye is not very busy as a hotel so you stand a good chance of getting one. And they are inexpensive.

And it is not a hotel indeed. Instead it is a museum, concert hall and a music conservatory (http://www.abbayeauxdames.org/) that runs accommodations on the side - almost as an afterthought. The hotel rooms are intended as accommodations for participants and concert goers of the ‘Festival de Saintes’ – major classical music festival in mid July (at which time it is really busy). The arrangement has its advantages and disadvantages. The advantages are what can make your stay an amazing experience if you are into it:
1. You stay in a monastic cell where 17th century masonry work is clearly visible in ceiling arches, walls and windows. Yet it is complete with all necessary amenities including toilet, shower, breakfast, etc.
2. You can roam in silence lobbies of this 17th century building being the only person there
3. You can walk the courtyard of the abbey at night observing magical façade of the 12th century St. Marie’s abbey church in the moonlight aided by tactfully added lighting.
The disadvantages are
1. The museum office closes at 7 pm so there is no stuff on site after that. Which means that you have to arrive by 7 pm to get instructions and any extras that you need
2. There is no hotel stuff, but there is maid service in the rooms anyway, so it is not as thorough as you would have in a good hotel (it looks like either museum guides or music conservatory teachers double up maids)
3. English is spoken but not at all times – only when English speakers are present in museum office.
IMHO advantages by far outweigh disadvantages - it is an amazing experience to stay overnight in UNESCO heritage site.

The abbey is very well located – you are 3 min away from public gardens that are one of the ‘French remarkable gardens’, 5 min away from Germanicus arch and forum, 7 min away from St.Pierre cathedral, etc.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JandSD wrote a review Jun 2018
Hungerford, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had one of the ensuite rooms which was interestingly quaint and functional. The hotel is in a convenient location for a short walk into this attractive and historic city. The breakfast (extra cost) was OK but a bit limited in choices. Overall though a comfortable cheaper night’s stay in a rather beautiful historic city
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
775Jenniferruth775 wrote a review Oct 2018
Penzance, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent two nights here. There are lots of pros: you get to your room along a great wide vaulted corridor, your room has vaulted stone and brick ceilings, you look out of your window onto a courtyard with plane trees. The surroundings are full of atmosphere. The mattresses and bed linen are excellent, the rooms are well -equipped and very clean.
Now come the cons: you have to walk along this lovely corridor to reach the bathrooms ( thus was rather dark and spooky in the small hours). The beds are very narrow. We could not manage to get the bedside lights to work. No TV, which was not really a problem BUT the wi-fi went from occasionally patchy to non-existent.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Essentially the wi-fi hardly works.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ron C wrote a review Oct 2015
Isles of Scilly.UK
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were told by email that our bathroom was private, in fact the bathroom was in a toilet block shared by all but two of the rooms which had en-suites. The accommodation is on the first floor of the former Abbey and is to say the least spartan. We were charged £77 whereas another couple were only charged £36. We were given a full refund and found a suite in the Hotels Des Messageries for the same money.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Go for one of the two en-suite rooms or enjoy a youth hostel experience!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lucie F, Manager at Les Chambres de l'Abbaye
Responded Nov 15, 2015
Dear RonC We are sorry that you were disappointed. We do have special offers from time to time, a twin room has been and still is sometimes available at 38€. Please note you booked a triple room at a time when this type of offer was not available. Also please re-read the emails we sent. The Abbaye aux Dames is an authentic historic monument, an unusual and original experience appreciated by many of our previous reviewers. Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maria C wrote a review May 2018
Oakley, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My mother and I spent 2 nights here sharing a twin-bedded room. The site is charming and has a very restful atmosphere. The room was basic but beds comfortable and facilities acceptable when you bear in mind you are staying in such a historic and unique property. You certainly had a sense of its history and could imagine the nuns lined up ready to make their way to morning or evening prayers in times past. The bathroom / shower rooms were located usually opposite your room across the tiled corridor. Bathrobes are provided so you could protect your modesty if needing to nip across in the night! Some of the shower rooms are an odd shape and some are a tight squeeze, but they were kept clean, the water hot and you didn't when we were staying have to queue for one in the mornings. We had the breakfast at additional cost of 9.80 euros for the complete breakfast (complet) and there was a reasonable selection available and the breakfast room pleasant enough to eat in. You can buy breakfast items priced individually if you only want a couple of selections. There is parking at the rear which is near to the steps up to the accommodation. The security of the building is pretty good, as long as people don't leave the entry doors ajar.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would return. On one evening, there was a choir rehearsing and it was a delight to hear the beautiful sounds emanating and filling the air.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
chiaraleva78 wrote a review Jul 2017
County Dublin, Ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It's a simple and beautiful adaptation of the rooms the monks probably used in the middle ages, most of the rooms have shared bathrooms and no hairdryers so it's a bit like a Hostel but a very beautiful one(they have one star but it's the best one star i have seen!). Staff is helpful! Breakfast room closes rigorously at 10 (not very flexible with that) but there is nothing missing and the location is amazing, beautiful white stones medieval Abbey, in the beautiful town of Saints, you can also walk to Saint Pierre and take a stroll along the river..
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Better to go when the music festival is on in Saintes between the 14 and 22nd of July. book in...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pete W wrote a review Jul 2017
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I arrived here feeling pretty miserable and needed to rest up for a day or two. The local bar suggested staying here...I was a little concerned that sharing a bathroom might not be for me...l didn't need to wait once and they were always clean...lovely clean linen and towels, basic comfortable rooms but great wifi! 10mbps...Its been a really peaceful experience and one that l hope to return to...l'm now looking for similar accommodation elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daimw0cri wrote a review Jun 2016
Cardigan, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A great budget hotel,Basic accommodation but very nice, set in a old monastery Great location and very friendly and helpful staff.Not far from the main town which has some great Bars and restaurants.My only complaint is the lack of signage we did find it very difficult to find the main entrance to the hotel which at 2.00 am was very frustrating.
But apart from that i would return.
Merci
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
James P wrote a review Jun 2016
Salisbury, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a stop over in Saintes and stayed here.

If you fancy something a bit different from the norm and don't mind a shared bathroom then this could be the hotel for you.

It was a pleasure to stay somewhere with history and atmosphere all around you. I couldn't help thinking of all the nuns that would have lived here previously.

The hotel was spotlessly clean. The bathrooms where a little basic but also very clean. The bedrooms where again basic, but also had a special feel to them. I don't really know how to describe, other than to say try this hotel for yourself and you will see.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria C wrote a review May 2016
Plymouth, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were warmly welcomed and the check in ran very smoothly. We were issued with the security code for the outer door and two room keys, lots of information and a town map before being directed to our room.

Our room, located up one flight of impressive stone stairs and along a very wide, vaulted corridor, it was more than adequate. We did get the double ensuite 'confort' room that we'd booked and although a bit Spartan - no TV but excellent wifi - it served our purposes very well.

The abbaye is very close to the centre of town so once parked ( free) we didn't use the car for the entire, two night stay. This is always a bonus! Finding restaurants wasn't difficult and we would recommend the Breton gallettes from the restaurant in the street at back of the abbaye. There are lots to choose from in and around the town so I'm sure you'll find something.

There's lots to see in Saintes but we would definitely recommend the audio guided tour of the abbaye as a priority! Great architecture and very comprehensive guidance, all for just 6€. Well worth it. Also, check out the amazing loungers down by the 'Roman Archway' really comfortable and good for people watching too.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Abbaye aux Dames
Saintes, France10 contributions
Bonjour, Je vous confirme que nous avons encore de la disponibilité de chambres pour le lundi 25 décembre. Vous trouverez nos meilleures offres tarifaires directement sur notre site internet abbaye aux dames. Effectivement, notre tarif le plus bas concerne nos chambres « Lits Jumeaux » ou « Double Standard ». Celles-ci ne disposent pas de sanitaires privés. Les chambres avec sanitaires privés sont nos chambres « Double Confort » au tarif de 77€. Cordialement, Karine Ségui
775Jenniferruth775 wrote a tip Oct 2018
Penzance, United Kingdom117 contributions64 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Essentially the wi-fi hardly works."
Read full review
chiaraleva78 wrote a tip Jul 2017
County Dublin, Ireland30 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Better to go when the music festival is on in Saintes between the 14 and 22nd of July. book in advance!"
Read full review
Ron C wrote a tip Oct 2015
Isles of Scilly.UK4 contributions14 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go for one of the two en-suite rooms or enjoy a youth hostel experience!"
Read full review
MartinSW wrote a tip Nov 2014
Carcassonne Center, France150 contributions76 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All teh rooms are very simialr"
Read full review
Whirnot wrote a tip Jun 2013
Sunriver, Oregon111 contributions42 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I read in another review that there are some ensuite rooms. we did not know this but if I was to do it again I would not care. Well set up and private."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Saintes area.
PRICE RANGE
C$134 - C$139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceNouvelle-AquitaineCharente-MaritimeSaintes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Les Chambres de l'Abbaye - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Les Chambres de l'Abbaye
Which popular attractions are close to Les Chambres de l'Abbaye?
Nearby attractions include Abbaye aux Dames (0.07 km), Arc de Germanicus (0.4 km), and Jardin Public (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Les Chambres de l'Abbaye?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and meeting rooms.
Is parking available at Les Chambres de l'Abbaye?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Les Chambres de l'Abbaye?
Conveniently located restaurants include L'iøde, Sukhothai, and Le Batiâ.
Is Les Chambres de l'Abbaye located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Saintes.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Les Chambres de l'Abbaye?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Les Chambres de l'Abbaye?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Abbaye aux Dames (0.07 km) and Fontaine de la Roche (7.2 km).
All Saintes HotelsSaintes Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SaintesHotels near Les Chambres de l'Abbaye
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars