We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 87: English reviews
Vaud
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Despite having a reservation, it took quite some time until somebody noticed our presence and finally guided us towards our table. Waiting again for the menus, waiting even longer for the 1st course to arrive and waiting quite some more for the main course. Very very poor service for a 5* location - definitely not the qualified staff you'd expect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisVD
Nathalie H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, dear Sir We thank you for your feedback on your experience in our restaurant. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. The 31st July/1st August is one of the busiest times of the year for us and we had an unforeseen shortage of staff due to sickness. Unfortunately we were not able to replace the members of...

Marina del Rey, California
Reviewed 7 July 2012

My wife and i spent four days at Beatus and had a most enjoyable experience. The staff is, for the most part, quite friendly and informed. On occasion, they occurred to us as somewhat terse and a bit arrogant but we can concede this may be more their general manner than a poor attitude. The accommodations are above average in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Max_Kitty
Management response:

Dear Madam, dear Sir We thank you very much for your kind feedback on your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that your holiday has been such an enjoyable experience. We sincerely apologize if members of the staff occasionnally made a terse impression, this is certainly never our aim and not our usual standard. Our beds are indeed all...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My wife and I recently spent a few nights in this hotel amd it's lovely gardens right on the shore of Lake Thun. We had a "Spiez" room which was bright and spacious. The bathroom was modern with a huge shower. We also had a large balcony with comfortable chairs overlooking the lake and gardens. The hotel is situated on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrGrumpy76
Management response:

Dear Madam, dear Sir We thank you very much for your feedback on your holiday at the Beatus and your kind compliments on the F&B department. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and hope you have been able to fully recharge your batteries. We would be thrilled to welcome you to Merligen again for another stay...

Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This hotel was recommended by friends and as soon as we returned home I wrote them a note of thanks. Enjoyed every minute especially eating and the hotel's organized day excursions. Beautiful location along side a lake and very friendly staff. Most guests were European and we did not meet any Americans which to me is a good sign. Although...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank regina300
Nathalie H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, dear Sir Many thanks for your kind feedback on your stay at the Beatus. We are thrilled to have been able to convice you with our services, especially in the restaurant, the friendlyness of the staff and our great location. Yes, the cost of living in Switzerland is pretty high compared to other countries, which is why we...

wadhurst
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My wife and I have been returning to the Hotel Beatus for the last 20 years,sometimes 3 visits in one year.I think the fact we have returned so many times indicates our complete faith in the hotel. Over the years problems have been very minor and very few but once mentioned they have been resolved immediately and without fuss. i.e...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ron L
Nathalie H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ron We thank you very much for your feedback on your stay with us. We are delighted that we have been able to convince your wife and yourself with our service for such a long period of time and thank you very much for your kind and touching words, we appreciate them enormously and will be sure to pass...

Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband planned a couple's spa day at this property and, while the spa services were acceptable, the overall atmosphere of the hotel, restaurant and spa was cold and unfriendly. From the moment we landed at the front desk, we were greeted with an attitude that bordered on disinterest at best and rudeness at worst. When, at the front desk,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcapri
Nathalie H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam We thank you very much for your feedback on your stay with us last week. We are very sorry to hear that you where so disappointed with your day visit. Our goal at the Beatus is to treat every guest with the respect and cordiality and to give them our fullest attention in every situation, even if the...

Switzerland
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I recently attended a 2-day business retreat at this excellent hotel. Looking at it from the outside, you could easily mistake it for one of many 1960s-style hotels scattered along the shore of Lake Thun. However, it has been extensively renovated (including the addition of a spa) and offers large, comfortable rooms, many of which (like mine) have big balconies...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swisstravelguru
Nathalie H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you very much for your feedback of your stay and the compliments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. That is our aim! We hope to welcome you to Merligen (maybe with your family) again for another stay and wish you all the best. Kind regards Nathalie Hanslin, Head of...

Cambridge
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We have over the years stayed in many good hotels (as well as a few bad ones) but the hotel Beatus at Merligen was even better than described in their brochure. The staff were all helpful and extremely professional and nothing was too much trouble. The room was lovely (the schilthorn) with a very comfortable bed, everything beautifully clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Katekkennedy
Switzerland
Reviewed 23 July 2011

nice hotel at one of the best spots of Lake Thun, beautiful view, warm in- and outdoor pool with salt water. Even nicer to swim in the clear lake if the weather is warm enough. Rooms are clean with a nice balcony. Tear and wear is noticeable. Average value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DemandingNic
High Wycombe
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We have been staying here on a regular basis for the last 3 years. Spa is great, service excellent and friendly. Didn't want to share with the world before but I just read a negative review which is unjustified. Guests are greeted by name and made to feel at home. Lake position is great and garden beautiful. The hotel offers...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tessie028

299 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (205)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (34)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (94)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (71)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merligen
17.3 km away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
583 reviews
3.2 km away
Parkhotel Gunten
Parkhotel Gunten
#1 of 1 in Gunten
89 reviews
17.4 km away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#9 of 21 in Wengen
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Dorint Bluemlisalp Beatenberg/Interlaken
3.9 km away
Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant
2.9 km away
Hotel Gloria
Hotel Gloria
#3 of 5 in Beatenberg
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
No matter from which direction you approach our hotel, you will always feel the reassuring effect of this truly special place right from the very first moment. If you arrive by boat and walk across the landing jetty, you will be welcomed by our hotel park with its southern flair. If you come through the main entrance, you will have already been impressed by the magical effect of the lake-view from our Panorama Hall. You will instantly be certain of one thing: “Here I will find peace and be able to recharge my batteries.” ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel

Address: Seestrasse 300, Merligen 3658, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Merligen
Price Range: $480 - $814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellness And Spa Hotel Beatus
Wellness Hotel Merligen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all lake view rooms has a great view; ask to offer a room with NO tree in front of the balcony”
  • sunset from balcony
  • picture form the balcony close to the sunset
  • picture from the room
  • room and balcony
 of 5 bubbles Maia0909, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms to the lakeside are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles 311RonL, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a lake view”
 of 5 bubbles colins314, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“A must is a room with a lake view on 2nd or 3rd floor. These rooms are very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 311RonL, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“This isnt beachfront, its a lake.”
 of 5 bubbles J_Chica89, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5