Seehotel Kastanienbaum

Seehotel Kastanienbaum

St. Niklausenstrasse 105, Kastanienbaum 6047 Switzerland
Traveller (240)
Aussicht
Room & Suite (66)
Dining (37)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Kastanienbaum
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Seehotel Kastanienbaum is located directly on Lake Lucerne with a view of the impressive mountain panorama. The hotel not only has its own vineyard, but also a landing stage for course boats and private boats. The comfortably furnished rooms with lake view open up a breathtaking view of Lake Lucerne and the mountains and invite you to enjoy the peaceful Horw peninsula. Sunbathing on the hotel's own beach rounds off the all-round vacation experience. The kitchen is dedicated to classic dishes, and the service team is particularly happy to serve wines from regional vintners to accompany them.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Beach
Boating
Highchairs available
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian
376Reviews6Q+A38Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 158
  • 119
  • 59
  • 22
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Robert P wrote a review Oct 2021
San Francisco, California2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Do yourself a favor and stay here, just a 15-minute bus ride from the Lucerne transportation center (buses, train station, boats); the bus stop is right at the hotel, and parking at the hotel is free. Parking for other hotels in central Lucerne is usually at public garages and runs about 40 Euros overnight.

The hotel itself is very charming, with a large patio restaurant/lounge overlooking Lake Lucerne and a small vineyard that runs down the steep slope to the banks of the lake. The restaurant's food is quite good; service was so-so one night in the larger dining room, but much better when the very personable Rogerio served us in the smaller sunroom dining area the following evening. The guest rooms are very nice, we chose balcony rooms and had great views of the lake. The facilities are modern and well kept. The Reception staff was very helpful and informative.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: A balcony room with a lake view is worth the upgrade cost.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Seehotel Kastanienbaum, Guest Services / Front Office at Seehotel Kastanienbaum
Responded Dec 8, 2021
Dear Robert P, WOW - Thank you so much for your kind words! We are very glad, that you enjoyed your stay so much! We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Seehotel Kastanienbaum! Greetings from the whole Seehotel Kastanienbaum Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
louise k wrote a review Aug 2020
luton64 contributions86 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I visited with my family for 1 night. There is a large car park. We had lake view rooms with balconies & they had spectacular views across the lake & mountains. The rooms were very clean & spacious with very comfty beds we could have done with some extra pillows in the rooms though. There was also a coffee machine with a selection of pods. With the hotel stay we recurved a free bus pass which we took advantage of & travelled into Lucerne in the evening which was a lovely city with a large choice of shops & restaurants. The breakfast was delicious with an excellent variety of hot & cold food on offer & sitting outside on the terrace overlooking the lake was a lovely setting.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fabienne Koidl, Gästeservice/Empfang at Seehotel Kastanienbaum
Responded Aug 26, 2020
Dear louisek493 WOW - thank you so much for this nice review which we really appreciate! It is very nice to read that you enjoyed your time with us! It would be a pleasure to welcome you back soon! All the best for you and take care! Your Seehotel Kastanienbaum Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin O wrote a review Jul 2021
Folkestone, United Kingdom14 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
There is building works next to the hotel that was not pointed out before my stay and the huge tower crane is slightly off putting combined with the general construction noise. Also, there were roadworks on both approach roads to the hotel which made me have to U turn on leaving one morning to go back in the opposite direction. Not the hotels fault obviously but nevertheless rather annoying. The rooms get very hot as there is no A/C but the supplied fan made the room bearable if noisy. The balcony blind in my room was very tatty and needs to be replaced. Supplied fruit in the bowl was bruised so I did not eat any of it but was a nice touch. Breakfast was ok but no more than that. On the one meal I ate at the hotel I was shown to a table in the middle of the walkway outside next to the restaurant check in. This left me not only overlooked by guests standing next to me waiting for a table but also subject to passing cigarette smoke. I had not reserved a table so presumed that the empty and better positioned tables were reserved for people, but they remained empty all evening. This was a business trip so I was not overly disappointed in my stay however I stayed here three years ago and the hotel seems to have deteriorated in that time.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: You will want to stay to the left of the hotel to avoid the construction site on the right...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fabienne Koidl, Guest Services / Front Office at Seehotel Kastanienbaum
Responded Jul 29, 2021
Dear Kevin O First of all, we would like to thank you for your honest and constructive feedback. It is nice that we were able to welcome you for the second time! Of course, we would have hoped for a better review. However, we are always very keen to improve. Therefore, we also depend on criticism like yours. We will discuss your individual points internally with the department managers . We would be very pleased if you would give us another chance and let us welcome you again! Best regards Your Seehotel Kastanienbaum Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
462lux wrote a review Oct 2020
Trier, Germany50 contributions43 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stay for the view only. The hotel had a sterile cheap commercial enterprise feel and atmosphere. Nothing inviting. My wife and I woke early with backaches from the very poor bed / mattress.
Supper was a complete disappointment. The entrecôte was clearly not an entrecôte. When I asked the waitress what the Black Tiger fish was she did not know (it was prawns). The entire meal had the prepackaged microwave taste, appearance and texture to it. Unfortunately at 157 francs it did not have a price commiserate to quality.
Overall the hotel could use some care as carpets are dirty in places and small trees were growing between the tiles on our balcony. Overall not bad on cleanliness.
I travel through region frequently, already four times this year (in the year of COVID lockdown). Value for money in Swiss accommodations appears to be difficult to find.
I will however never return due to bad bed and poor food quality.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fabienne Koidl, Gästeservice/Empfang at Seehotel Kastanienbaum
Responded Oct 8, 2020
Dear 462lux Thank you very much for your review and the time you have taken for it. Negative feedback is also very important to us. Because we always want to improve ourselves. We are very sorry that you did not have a good experience in our hotel. We would be very happy if you give us a second chance so that we can show you that we can definitely do better. We wish you all the best - take care! Your Seehotel Kastanienbaum Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SJM wrote a review Nov 2023
31 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I enjoyed a relaxing stay at Seehotel Kastanienbaum. It is very easy to reach by bus from Lucerne. The staff are friendly and helpful. The food is good, and the atmosphere is comfortable. It is definitely worth paying for a room with a view or balcony on the lake; the views are gorgeous.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah F wrote a review Jul 2023
Boston, Massachusetts49 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We could not have picked a better hotel for our stay on Lake Lucerne. We were happy to be outside the city in a peaceful location with a beautiful view and lovely room looking at the lake. The restaurant was so nice and the staff very friendly. We were given free bus passes to Lucerne where we toured the city and picked up a boat excursion. Highly recommend Seehotel Kastanienbaum for anyone coming to visit Lake Lucerne!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Direktion Seehotel Kastanienbaum, General Manager at Seehotel Kastanienbaum
Responded Jul 15, 2023
Dear Sarah Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us at Seehotel Kastanienbaum. Our goal is always to exceed your expectations! If there is anything we can help you with on your next visit, please do not hesitate to let us know. We hope to see you again soon! With best regards Your Seehotel Kastanienbaum Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lyrebird_13 wrote a review Aug 2020
London22 contributions21 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Like the title says, you pay for the view. I guess this is one of very few hotels in Luzern by the lake shore, and they make you pay for it! The hotel looks outdated and our room needed some revamping, new furniture (especially on the balcony!) and a lick of paint. The breakfast was disappointing, not much variety. I stayed at this hotel years ago and I remember they even served prosecco for breakfast, not anymore........The only plus is the view and the swimming pool area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fabienne Koidl, Gästeservice/Empfang at Seehotel Kastanienbaum
Responded Aug 27, 2020
Dear Lyrebird_13 Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We are very sorry that we did not meet up your expectations for the breakfast. We have noted your feedback regarding the room and renovation and are going to forward that to our management. We wish you all the best and take care! Your Seehotel Kastanienbaum Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Johnvw1 wrote a review Jun 3
Madison, Connecticut29 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here on our first night after flying into Zurich from NYC. The location was excellent and a short 15 min drive into Luzern. The hotel is located in a beautiful and quiet area on Lake Lucerne. The rooms are OK but not exceptional. Our views from the balcony however were exceptional. If you enjoy bike riding this is the place to explore the shoreline and dining in Lucerne is an easy and short drive. Parking is plentiful
And easy. Staff was very friendly. Would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Direktion Seehotel Kastanienbaum, General Manager at Seehotel Kastanienbaum
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Johnvw1, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful location of Seehotel Kastanienbaum and had a pleasant stay with us. It's wonderful to know that you appreciated the exceptional views from your balcony and found our staff to be very friendly. We take great pride in our serene surroundings on Lake Lucerne and convenient access to Lucerne city. Thank you for recommending us. We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable experience. Warm regards, Seehotel Kastanienbaum
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BGB63 wrote a review Jun 2021
Tombolo, Italy38 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent restaurant! Little and clean room but without air conditioned. In summertime this means VERY hot in the room. The fan, available in each room, is not enough to let us sleep well. No water available in the room. People very kind! Three stars only because the people and the restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Add the air conditioned and some free water in the rooms. At least!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fabienne Koidl, Guest Services / Front Office at Seehotel Kastanienbaum
Responded Jul 10, 2021
Dear BGB63 Thank you very much for your review and the time you have taken for it. We are very sorry that your stay with us was not as good as it should be! We will discuss your inputs internally. All the best for you! Kind regards Your Seehotel Kastanienbaum Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
victorwibawa wrote a review Mar 2023
Jakarta, Indonesia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice hotel. The staffs also were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was incredible. Very well prepared. The lake view from the room is beautiful. The location also in only 10-15 minutes drive from the downtown Lucerne.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kastanienbaum area.
PRICE RANGE
C$317 - C$489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Kastanienbaum Swiss Quality Seehotel
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of LucerneKastanienbaum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
43
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Seehotel Kastanienbaum - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Seehotel Kastanienbaum
Which popular attractions are close to Seehotel Kastanienbaum?
Nearby attractions include The Riddle Escape Games (5.6 km), Pilatus Luzern (5.3 km), and Gameorama (5.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Seehotel Kastanienbaum?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Seehotel Kastanienbaum?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Seehotel Kastanienbaum?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Seehotel Kastanienbaum?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Seehotel Kastanienbaum?
Conveniently located restaurants include Antons Restaurant, BOLERO Restaurante, and Ampersand Grillrestaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Seehotel Kastanienbaum?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Is Seehotel Kastanienbaum located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.06 km away from the centre of Kastanienbaum.
Are pets allowed at Seehotel Kastanienbaum?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Seehotel Kastanienbaum offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Seehotel Kastanienbaum?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Italian.
All Kastanienbaum HotelsKastanienbaum Hotel DealsHotels near Seehotel Kastanienbaum
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars