We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tirimbina Lodge

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Tirimbina Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 97: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked the tirimbina lodge because we heard the Sarapiqui Valley was worth a visit, but we didn't know we would stay in a place with such a beautiful forest attached to it! When you stay in one of the basic and comfortable rooms you can visit the forest whenever you like. To get there, you have to cross a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa B
Saint Charles, Illinois
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited Tirimbina over four days in December 2016. As a biologist looking for some rest and relaxation, I was primarily in finding a place where access to extensive trails, and found Tirimbina in my search. First, as Tirimbina's website points out, it's important to emphasize that the lodge is just part of a not-for-profit field research station. Tirimbina's mission...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
Corpus Christi
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Tirimbina Lodge is a lovely setting to explore nature with a multitude of educational tours available. It was our first stop in CR and we chose to fill our time with the available guided tours and were not disappointed. The rooms were clean and sparse. The air conditioning worked and was the only "luxury" offered. The back patio was lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, rooms are basic but clean and we didnt spend too much time inside it anyway. Do note that the roofs are made of metal so when it rains it is loud, but you just get used to it! This place is all about the nature surrounding It and makes a perfect base for exploring....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MadamMim8
Middlesex, Vermont
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Quiet, great location, friendly staff. We had a lap top and iPad stolen out of our room. Only options were either someone came in thru unlocked window or cleaning staff walked away with the them. Manager promised to reimburse and never followed through when we returned home.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CEM05602
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Tirimbina is a working research station and has amazing rainforest that you can walk around without a guide. You can spend at least 3 hours looking at the beautiful scenery and the amazing wildlife. Unfortunately that was the highlight. Accommodation is basic but adequate although the rooms are now dated and in need of a little work. For example the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgie l
Reserva_Tirimbina, Guest Relations Manager at Tirimbina Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for the comments, it helps us improve, we are going to check the info you gave us and if there is something to fix we'll definitely do it. We're very sorry for the inconveniences. Hope you have a great trip. Greetings from Tirimbina!

soleil2jours
Reviewed 30 July 2016

I wasn't expecting a lot, so fortunately wasn't too disappointed. I had read the reviews and seen the pictures, so I knew it would be a fairly basic room - and it was. The disappointment was the reserve itself. Given that it is off the well-beaten tourist path, I thought it would be bursting with wildlife. We did see several...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soleil2jours
Monchengladbach, Germany
Reviewed 6 July 2016

We went there for a visit of the plantation and it was so much more. We saw and tasted the whole process and developement of cocoa and chocolate production. It was so informative and delicious and a lot of fun. Steven the guide knew everything about it. His English is brillant and the explanation very clear

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mweyer2016
Reserva_Tirimbina, Guest Relations Manager at Tirimbina Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you so much for your comments, we really appreciate it. We're glad you had a great time and hope to see you again soon. Greetings from Tirimbina!

Bow
Reviewed 26 June 2016

We spent two days here with a group of high school students. The bat tour was interesting and helped people overcome their fears of bats. We were able to see bats up close and even pet one! The next day, we hiked the trails with our guide and learned so much about the flora and fauna. We also conquered our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mwestman11
Reserva_Tirimbina, Guest Relations Manager at Tirimbina Lodge, responded to this review

Hi!! Thanks for sharing your awesome experience with us. We're glad you had a great time here and hope to see you again. Greetings from Tirimbina Rainforest Center!

North Yorkshire, UK
Reviewed 22 June 2016

The accommodation is acceptable, clean, with hot showers and the self service style breakfast is good. The main attraction is the suspension bridge and forest walks beyond. Staff very helpful. Safe car parking area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CJL6
Reserva_Tirimbina, Guest Relations Manager at Tirimbina Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We're glad you had a great time here and hope to see you again. Greetings from Tirimbina Rainforest Center!

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Virgen
10.1 km away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 5 in Sarapiqui
548 reviews
15.9 km away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 2 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
110 reviews
18.8 km away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 km away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
1,161 reviews
26.3 km away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
33.2 km away
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boca Tapada
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Sarapiqui region, the Tirimbina Rainforest Lodge along the Sarapiqui River, is contiguous to a Biological Reserve of 852.5 Acres.We offer 12 comfortable rooms with A/C, safe deposit box, hot water, WI-FI, and phone. Enjoy our welcoming atmosphere and discover the exciting tropical forest, walking along several trails and suspension bridges of tropical forest and river discoveries from our study trails and bridges.Services (Restaurant, laundry , 24h security, a be-lingual staff welcomes)Facilities (souvenir shop, parking lot, A/C conference room, library, internet access) Attractions: (More than 9km trails, chocolate tour, bird watching, bat program, self walking tour, guided tour, night walking tour, eco education programs, volunteer and research opportunities and more) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tirimbina Lodge

Address: Tirimbina Biological Reserve, La Virgen 3069, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > La Virgen
Price Range: $63 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tirimbina Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Tirimbina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirimbina Hotel La Virgen
Tirimbina Lodge Costa Rica/Sarapiqui - La Virgen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tirimbina Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
California
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Tirimbina Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I satyed one of the deluxe rooms just a few doors from the reception area and dining room.”
 of 5 bubbles 492miker, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have shared bathrooms & no air conditioner”
  • View from the hanging bridges
 of 5 bubbles Smplysublime213, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an end room to minimize noise from neighbors through the then walls”
 of 5 bubbles EDH_Traveler, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms for the patio and free wifi.”
 of 5 bubbles idrules, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Close to the lobby”
 of 5 bubbles boydr2014, 10 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay