We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rydges Bankstown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Bankstown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

259 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Bankstown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 252: English reviews
Australia
Reviewed 20 November 2014

We arrived very late (close to 3 am) having had our flight been diverted to Canberra and having to drive through the night (thanks Virgin, but that’s another story…). Anyway we had called ahead en-route to ensure someone would be available to check us in and the guy said no problem he would check us in now and have everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank troelshartman
Paultomas, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review

The Hotel rooms are all 100% non smoking, unfortunately from time to time a guest may choose to ignore this policy and while we do fine the guest the harm is already done. Our Rydges Dream beds are fantastic so I’m pleased you found them comfortable. Like most Hotels we would benefit from a refurb and while this is not...

Reviewed 11 November 2014

Booked on-line, read well, checked in on-line, took $10 "upgrade" ... then it all went downhill! Room was OLD, black grot around tiles in bathroom, spoon stuck to coffee residue on the bottom coffee mug, phone didn't work, couldn't send email on wi fi ( received ok) .... and this was the upgrade. Very disappointed. Bordering on false / misleading...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PBR2705
Paultomas, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review

We are not a NEW Rydges having been here for a number of years and certainly do not advertise as such, so I am unsure where you read that headline. However as I commented below we will continue to improve the product as we continue our maintenance/refresh programme. The FREE Wi-Fi across all of the Rydges Hotels is a great...

Reviewed 10 November 2014 via mobile

Tried this place twice and both times the room types were not up to my standards. Paying 160 a night is a joke, should be worth 120. Housekeepers need to vacuum, clean sheets. Staff try to deliver good service but it shows that they know how old the rooms are

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank RNoy
Paultomas, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review

We are committed to continue to improve our offerings and standards across all aspects of the property. Whist there is no plan for a full refurb we continue to refresh the rooms by upgrading many of the fixtures and appliances and we have stepped up our painting programme with 95% of all accommodation rooms now completed. We hope to welcome...

Reviewed 5 November 2014

Where do I start , skid marks in toilet upon arrival , spa bath wouldn't turn off ,had to get reception to the room at 2am to have the spa looked at & when she was shown the toilet she just said "oh sorry", didn't even offer to have it cleaned .. dirty drink coasters under glasses , fridge wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Debbie S
Paultomas, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review

Debbie, its disappointing to read you found a number of issues during your stay particularly your comments regarding the cleanliness. This does not reflect our standard and has been discussed with our Ex Housekeeper to address. The pool is adjacent to the main function room and it would seem was utilised by these guests, however we do not close it...

Nisswa, Minnesota
Reviewed 31 October 2014

This hotel was nice & clean. Both Christine & Alan were very helpful when we needed anything like directions to different places to see. The free parking and WIFI was also very nice. Other stores and shopping mall close by too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
Paultomas, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review

Chris, thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I’m pleased you found the staff helpful and they were able to assist with your inquiries. We hope to see you back soon Paul

Halletts Cove, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed 23 October 2014

A little disappointed with the standard of the building and rooms at first because of the expectations after staying at other Rydges hotels. Did not clean and the rooms look very tired and in need of some updating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony K
Paultomas, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments Tony. We are in the process of painting all the accommodation floors with one floor to go as well as changing all the Lighting to new modern LED lights. We will continue to work on updating and giving the hotel a fresh look to improve on the standard to meet the expectations of our guests. We...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2014

Stayed for a weekend while my wife attended a conference. The room was very comfortable, clean and well presented. It was also reasonably quiet from traffic noise but not from neighbouring room, which you could hear every word spoken. The price of food was quite expensive so we found lots of suitable alternative nearby in the local neighbourhood, prices might...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SometimesSkiing
Paultomas, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review

I’m pleased you found the room comfortable and well presented. We are just finalising our new menu to be released in a few weeks and we have also reduced the pricing to make it more attractive to our Hotel Guests. Thanks for your comments and we hope to see you back soon Paul

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 October 2014

Restaurant is my main area of complaint. it was short staffed and for 3 staff members to service a very busy restaurant was too much to expect. The following day the staff went out of their way to compensate me for the poor service the previous night. Toilet seat was loose. i cannot imagine why the cleaners (i stayed 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelEF
Paultomas, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review

The staffing levels are reviewed on a daily basis to cater for the change in business, three staff most often than not can deliver the high level of service that our customers have come to expect. This may not have been the case on the night of your dining experience so I apologise if this was the case. You’re absolutely...

2101
Reviewed 12 October 2014

Have had to stay here for business...!!!!! More than 6 times in past 18 months..gets worse every time. Bed was lumpy, smelly. Room was dirty and smelly. Restaurant forgot my meal. No one at the bar when i wanted a drink. Security guard was asleep at the door and i got in without waking him. Bathroom mouldy. Toilet water continuous...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank James T
Paultomas, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review

It’s disappointing to read you experienced a number of service deficiencies during your stay as we do strive to deliver a high standard clearly a miss this time, your comments have been discussed with the F&B Manager to review and address. The cleanliness in any Hotel is of the up most importance and our Housekeeping department do a marvellous job...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 October 2014

We stayed at the hotel for the football and could not get any closer. I was pleasantly surprised, was only a quick cab ride away. The hotel is well fitted out, the rooms are a little older but has everything needed for an overnight stay. A few Fast Food restaurants nearby and some restaurants in nearby Bass Hill. Would definately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MBarr
Paultomas, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review

Hello James, We are close to some great sporting facilities including Olympic Park so an ideal location for when they are hosting sporting events, concerts as well as conferences and trade shows. I’m pleased you found it to be of excellent value, we hope to see you soon Cheers Paul

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bass Hill
3.9 km away
Travelodge Hotel Bankstown Sydney
0.3 km away
Gardenia Motor Inn
Gardenia Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Bass Hill
59 reviews
5.1 km away
Holiday Inn Warwick Farm
Holiday Inn Warwick Farm
#1 of 1 in Warwick Farm
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Ibis Styles Sydney Lansvale
11.8 km away
Mercure Sydney Liverpool
Mercure Sydney Liverpool
#2 of 10 in Liverpool
541 reviews
8.8 km away
Rydges Parramatta
Rydges Parramatta
#3 of 4 in Rosehill
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Rydges Bankstown

Address: 874 Hume Hwy | NSW, Bass Hill, Bankstown, New South Wales 2197, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Bankstown > Bass Hill
Price Range: $155 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Bankstown 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Bankstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Bankstown Hotel Bankstown
Rydges Bankstown Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Bankstown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Bankstown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms have soundproofed glass so no road noise. Windows open for fresh air”
 of 5 bubbles 474suev, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Back rooms best. 4th floor good”
 of 5 bubbles margtierney, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“location, retro, '90s”
 of 5 bubbles C9317WAchrish, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a room not facing the highway.”
 of 5 bubbles austag, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a back of hotel room. Very noisy on the highway side”
 of 5 bubbles fersian10, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5