We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Cottage in the Wood

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Cottage in the Wood
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

558 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Cottage in the Wood
See the most recent reviews
Showing 558: English reviews
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Me and my future wife stayed here on the 12th April this year for 2 nights. It was booked to celebrate both my partners birthday and after a successful proposal by Ennerdale lake, it was also a celebration for our engagement. I can't think of a better way to celebrate. Kath was a brilliant host, both before I booked (she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFlyers101
Whinlatter, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review

Hello Frequent Flyeres. As we have stated previously, we love to host a special occasion and we think you got your proposal just right! We wish you both well for the future and remind you that it is now compulsary for you to return to us to celebrate your anniversaries! With our very best wishes Kath & Liam

Reviewed 18 May 2012

We came across this wonderful jewel in the Lakes District crown while driving through the district on our recent trip. I have to say, the two days we spent at Cottage in the Woods were exceptional. We arrived without a booking and we were greeted warmly by the wonderful Kath who made us feel very welcome and as a room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn O
Whinlatter, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review

Hello Kathryn You can't imagine the sense of pride we feel when we read a review like yours and it is always a bonus to host special occasions. We are delighted your stay was so memorable and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to 'The Cottage'. Best wishes Kath & Liam

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I have recently returned from a short break at the Cottage in the Wood and I have to give it ten out of ten for comfort, food and pleasant staff. The location is perfect - quiet yet within easy driving distance of Keswick, Buttermere and all the surrounding places. The hotel is beautifully decorated with a very comfortable lounge area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank southportvisitor
Whinlatter, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review

Dear Southport visitor. We're all delighted you enjoyed your stay at 'The Cottage'. You clearly enjoyed the wild life. The birds and squirrels are 'eating us out of house and home' at the moment. Phil Pheasant has taken to fighting his own reflection in the window of the Garden room and causing all sorts of problems (especially for those guests...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Decided to visit The Cottage in the Woods mid-week on a whim after hearing such good things about it. Was lucky enough to get one of the last tables for two available that evening, and it was a great stroke of luck as it turned into such a memorable dinning experience. Upon arival we were very warmily greeted by all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fixedgear155
Whinlatter, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review

Hello Fixed gear. Thanks for taking the time to review the meal you enjoyed with us. The lighter evenings are really making a difference and tonight our guests have enjoyed a spectacular view of Skiddaw whilst dining. We agree it is a good idea to stay over and we all look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes Kath &...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed here in February 2012. Excellent staff and food. Extremely comfortable and superb food. Brilliant location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VEBT
Whinlatter, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review

Thanks VEBT. It's good to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes Kath & Liam

Gloucestershire U
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This April was our third visit to this enchanting hotel. Since our last stay there has been some major alterations to the reception area which has provided more lounge area without loosing it's charm and intimacy; again we were not disappointed. The quality of the food and service by all of the staff is truly excellent. Such is the reputation...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank McD47
Whinlatter, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review

Dear Dave & Kath Thank you for the kind words and for your continued business. It is particularly rewarding when our guests return time & time again. As you mention, we are always striving to improve our facilities and the service we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes Kath & Liam

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here as part of the Living social deal and had an absolutely wonderful time! We wished we were there for longer and we will definitely be returning, and have already recommended this place to several of our family and friends. The location is utterly outstanding and is brilliantly located for many walks. The service from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ninedegrees
Whinlatter, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review

Hello ninedegrees It's great to know you both enjoyed your stay at 'The Cottage' and that you intend to return. Tree Tops is one of our favourite rooms; it's very private and has a 'den' feel to it. Of course it can be a little 'tricky' for tall folk and we always flag this up when letting the room. We're...

nottingham
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The Cottage In The Wood is a very special dining experience in the heart of Whinlatter Forest. This was our second visit and once again, we were struck by the warmth and friendliness of the owner, from the telephone booking, through to arrival, throughout the meal and right up to departure.  The restaurant has a modern, but warm feel and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ukrebecca
Whinlatter, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca Thank you for your detailed review and we were delighted to welcome you back. Returning customers and personal recommendation are both very important to the success of our business. We are certain TA users will find your review helpful and of course we're pleased to hear you will return in the future. Best wishes Kath & Liam

Carlisle
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Living locally 6 of us came for dinner. It was delish, service excellent and a very warm welcome from all staff. Being foodies it was a delight to talk to the chef, who talks with real passion about the food they present. Also gave me a recipe for chocolate melting pudding which we can recommend along with the orange blossom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steph S
Whinlatter, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review

Hello Steph Thanks for your feedback. It was a pleasure to host your celebration and we're delighted you enjoyed the evening. Hope you had success with the chocolate pudding, it's a real hit here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes Kath & LIam

Congleton
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The Cottage in the Wood is everything and more that you would wish for in a small country house hotel.We have stayed there on a number of occasions and have really enjoyed every one,our only regret having been that we couldn't stay longer. On arrival you are greeted by a friendly member of staff, often the owner,Kath, shown to your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M

300 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (171)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (68)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (124)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Shared Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Standard Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
4.1 km away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
566 reviews
5.5 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
520 reviews
5.9 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.7 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.5 km away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
475 reviews
10.7 km away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
17th Century former coaching Inn located in the middle of Whinlatter, England's only mountain forest. Stunning views of the Forest Valley and Skiddaw mountain range. The Forest hosts a variety of wildlife including Deer and Red Squirrels. This restaurant with rooms has achieved recognition through the award of EnjoyEngland Silver Excellence in Tourism Award 2011, The Taste of Cumbria and Taste of England's North West 2010, and 2 AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Address: Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Price Range: $156 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage in the Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Braithwaite
The Cottage In The Wood Braithwaite, England, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cottage in the Wood staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Chester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Cottage in the Wood staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cottage Rooms are smallest but perfectly adequate”
 of 5 bubbles Geordiedaz, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Tree tops was very quiet with a good breeze, but low ceiling.”
 of 5 bubbles Pinsinamap, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Different sized rooms so chose appropriately. Large rm was upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles AnnO209, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We at he'd in "Ash" which was a nice room but bathroom very small”
 of 5 bubbles 794sandrah, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“we stayed in Larch (cottage room), which was small, clean, cosy with a clever use of storage space.”
 of 5 bubbles 316benh, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5