We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunbridge Hotel and Conference Centre Sarnia

Save
Share
1498 Venetian Blvd, Point Edward, Ontario N7T 7W6 Canada
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (49)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (6)

About

#5 of 6 hotels in Point Edward
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel In Sarnia/Point Edward that offers quality service and where you can expect a relaxing stay. Our hotel's convenient location is 10 km from Sarnia Chris Hadfield Airport (YZR). We are located near Starlight Casino Point Edward and Centennial Park, Canatara Park and numerous attractions surround our area. In Sarnia, you can visit the Progressive Auto Sales Arena, see a show at the Imperial Theatre or shop at Lambton Mall. Golfers can enjoy a game at our own 9-hole Golf Course or one of the many greens throughout Sarnia and Lambton County. Lodging here is also beneficial for business travelers working with Aamjiwnaang First Nations, Ontario Power Generation, UWO Research Park, Chemical Valley, the Canadian Coast Guard and more. Our hotel's amenities include over 12,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, business suites and a 24-hour business centre to meet your corporate needs. We go beyond other hotels in Sarnia to bring you the comforts of home, such as the on-site Bridges Restaurant and Freightor's Lounge, an indoor and seasonal outdoor pool, a hot tub, a sauna and a fitness centre. Our hotel's rooms feature work areas with free high-speed Internet access, large TVs, spacious layouts and beautiful views. You'll enjoy a comfortable stay at the Sunbridge Sarnia/Point Edward Hotel and Conference Centre. Local pictures courtesy of TSL.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian

Location

Full view
61Somewhat walkable
Grade: 61 out of 100
18Restaurantswithin 1 km
3Attractionswithin 1 km
440Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 105
  • 166
  • 92
  • 42
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Al wrote a review Aug. 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Unbeknownst to us upon booking, this hotel has been used to house Sarnia’s homeless population when their shelters are full. We came to Sarnia for a family getaway. It started out as a nightmare because of this place. This hotel has decent reviews (I don’t know how) and photos looked good. Upon arrival to the hotel, there were men loitering outside the entrance. A bit strange but didn’t think too much of it at the time. When we arrived to our room, we were HORRIFIED. A strong lingering smell of smoke instantly. Not only was the room not cleaned thoroughly (stains on the bedsheets, dirt on the floor), but the room should have been gutted long ago!! The furniture was old and scratched up. The worst part was the carpet. Blood stains. EVERYWHERE. and what looked to be caked in spackle (who knows what it really was though). It *seemed* as if addicts were staying in this room for a long period of time. We could not get out fast enough. I felt like I needed a shower even after only being in the room for a short period of time. We were refunded our money and will not be returning. I understand there is a homelessness crisis but the hotel should be honest about that in their responses to these reviews. Especially when considering children and families in a booking. The transparency is extremely disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hilary S, Owner at Sunbridge Hotel and Conference Centre Sarnia
Responded Aug. 26, 2021
Hi alexo, Thank you taking the time to provide such a detailed response of your experience. As I extremely shocked and somewhat confused by some of the specifics you have describe in your review, please call me directly so we can discuss in detail. None of our carpets are in the shape you describe and I am not sure what to make of the "caked in spackle" comment. The hotel is, in fact, undergoing a multimillion dollar renovation and rebranding to a Four Points Sheraton so we have many construction workmen on site in some areas of the hotel. I look forward to hearing from you for clarification and a better understanding of your experience. Geoff Eisenbraun General Manager (519) 336-4130 (hotel switchboard)
Read more
kielmoreau13 wrote a review Aug. 2021
Sudbury, Canada6 contributions11 helpful votes
Sad to say I came to this hotel expecting it was going to be like it was 25 years ago when I was a kid. Back then it was a Holiday Inn, had a nice outdoor pool, and an active golf course in the back of the property. Going back now it looked like they are still using all the same furniture in the lobby and the room we checked into. It is now being used to house the overflow homeless population, which can easily be seen in local articles if you Google it. I am not snobby, but it was sketchy for the short period of time we were there. Old middle aged men smoking cigarettes and loitering around the property. This is not a happy environment to be in for guests or for staff who I feel bad for having to deal with and tolerate these people. Going back to my experience, check in was ok. We booked adjoining rooms and we called the hotel earlier in the week and asked for adjoining rooms and if we could check in early. When we got there only one room was "cleaned" and ready to go to. After checking in and getting into our room we were pretty horrified. The walk down the hallway to the room was smelly and the room itself was small and also smelly. The room "242" on the second floor was a total catastrophe. The floor was not clean at all (see picture). The floor was sticky and there very well could have been blood stains on the floor. The TV stand was literally a crusty old wooden thing that was probably 25 years old. The leather chair in the room had holes in it. The deadbolt lock on the door was completely broken (which is a complete safety hazard). The door frame to the adjoining room badly needed to be repainted. The worst part of all this was the used Tylenol syringe my wife found behind the bathroom door amongst dirt and other debris (bathroom clearly not cleaned properly). Did I mention we had an infant son with us! The bathroom was also pretty terrible to be honest and not somewhere I would feel safe or sanitary to bath in. After this short 10 minutes of disgust, my wife frantically called the front desk to arrange a seperate room. They agreed to move us, but before seeing it we decided to change hotels. My wife called back and the gentleman at the front desk was understanding in why we were so unhappy and wanting to leave. Fortunately he agreed to refund our money and apologized. Clearly this has happened before with other guests who were put in one of these dumpy rooms. Dealing with him was honestly the only positive part of this ordeal and I'm saddened to see how dilapidated this hotel has become. The golf course is overgrown and literally abandoned, and the outdoor pool was closed and looked deserted. I understand this hotel is being converted into a Four Points, but honestly it is nowhere near that at the moment and it should be shut down to the general public if they are housing the overflow homeless population. The room we were going to stay in was a disgrace and I plead if the hotel manager reads this to please go see the room we were in. It was room 242. It is completely unacceptable and public health concern to let guests stay in it. I felt totally misled by the website and other reviews on this site and other sites. The room we stayed in needs to be shut down and gutted. As I mentioned, the only good part I can say was the staff who clearly have alot to deal with and are somewhat doing there best. I truly hope this place can get turned around, but it's a long way off.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hilary S, Owner at Sunbridge Hotel and Conference Centre Sarnia
Responded Aug. 12, 2021
Dear Kielmoreau13, Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your experience at the hotel. I apologize that we fell short of your expectations as this certainly isn't the level of cleanliness we provide to our guests. Quite frankly, this sounds like you were checked into a dirty room which is our error. I am pleased at how our Guest Service Team handled this error and will pass along your positive comments. Unfortunately, the golf course was sold and has been closed for the last two years. The outdoor pool and other areas of the hotel are being readied for renovations. I apologize that these facilities were not available to your family. The large heated indoor pool is open to our guests as well as the whirlpool and fitness room. We are all looking forward to the launch of the Four Points Sarnia in the next year and we look forward to welcoming back. Geoff Eisenbraun General Manager
Read more
Americana wrote a review Feb. 2021
1 contribution
We booked 2 rooms and were so disappointed! When you walk in it looked ok...however under the bed were baby bottles, cereal, condemns....so many random crumbs! I hope up you like the smell of pot because that’s ALL you smell!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid staying here!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Hilary Higgins, Owner at Sunbridge Hotel and Conference Centre Sarnia
Responded Mar. 1, 2021
Hello Americana0174, We are sorry for the cleanliness and pot smell issue you experienced. This is certainly not to our positive experiences we are better known for. We appreciate your feedback and have addressed your concerns on our end.
Read more
Zman2000 wrote a review Sep. 2020
BRANTFORD2 contributions1 helpful vote
We go to hotels quite often...we usually pick Best Western but because the receptionist was nice on the phone we decided to give Sunbridge Sarnia a try....while it is a bit old the rooms are renovated nice and staff is very nice, the layout is good, pool and spa are awesome. We truly enjoyed our stay and felt safe and comfortable. Food from the restaurant was also good....we will definitely be back. Last hotel we stayed at was the Marriott Fallsview in Niagara Falls and we all liked this hotel better......see you soon, thanks for the nice stay!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
MarshaSamiyah B wrote a review Aug. 2020
67 contributions46 helpful votes
This hotel advertisement says scenic view from hotel room, the view is of the US/Canadian border crossing not the waterfront. Older decor but very clean and well maintained hotel.parking free and nice location near the highway on off and border crossing.we stayed in jacuzzi tub king suite and it was nice and enjoyable
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hilary Higgins, Owner at Sunbridge Hotel and Conference Centre Sarnia
Responded Sep. 1, 2020
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Hilary S. Guest Services Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$68 - US$109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn sarnia hotel & conf sarnia, holiday inn sarnia hotel and conf center, sarnia holiday inn
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioPoint Edward
NUMBER OF ROOMS
216
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sunbridge Hotel and Conference Centre Sarnia
Which popular attractions are close to Sunbridge Hotel and Conference Centre Sarnia?
Nearby attractions include Centennial Park (0.8 km), Sarnia Bay Marina (0.9 km), and Ah! Some Art Inc. (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunbridge Hotel and Conference Centre Sarnia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sunbridge Hotel and Conference Centre Sarnia?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sunbridge Hotel and Conference Centre Sarnia?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sunbridge Hotel and Conference Centre Sarnia?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunbridge Hotel and Conference Centre Sarnia?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fionn MacCool's, Salvatore's Trattoria e Ristorante, and Ice Cream Galore.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sunbridge Hotel and Conference Centre Sarnia?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Sunbridge Hotel and Conference Centre Sarnia located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Point Edward.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sunbridge Hotel and Conference Centre Sarnia?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sunbridge Hotel and Conference Centre Sarnia offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sunbridge Hotel and Conference Centre Sarnia?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Italian.