We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Swinside Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Swinside Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Swinside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 152: English reviews
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We visited at the height of the floods but media coverage did not deter our visit. How glad we are that we kept our booking to stay at the Swinside Inn. A roaring fire welcomed us and our room was warm and clean with a very comfy bed. Dogs are allowed at the Swinside which is very important to us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much Julie. See you in March

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2016

The room was large and clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and very generous portion sizes. A lovely place to stay in the heart of newlands valley. Although we visited during the winter floods, this did not effect our stay. The rooms are a little dated but this is part of the character and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

That's great. We really appreciate your review. Thank you

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We stayed in Catbells, a lovely room with a view, comfy bed and a great shower. It rained a lot while we were there, just before Christmas, but there is no flooding problem here as the Swinside is in an elevated position. Food portions were large and very good and they do small portions too which I enjoyed as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sophielou2211
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to right your review. We're glad the bad weather didn't spoil your holiday. We'll try to arrange different weather for your next visit!

Ulverston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Had a lovely stay @ Swinside we were there the weekend of the storm but this didn't spoil anything for us. The staff were really easy going & friendly. The food was superb & the bedroom nice & cosy with a great view up the valley. It's a perfect location for walker with Catbells on the doorstep. I have recommended...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jules1947
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much. You can come again too! (Especially if you're bringing friends)

Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

We loved our stay at Swinside Inn. The views from the pub were amazing, the pub itself was warm and cosy. We ate three meals there during our two night stay (not including two breakfasts) - that's how much we loved the menu! The staff made us feel very welcome and we enjoyed our drinks whilst chatting to them, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Excellent, and we'd love to have you back. Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review - most appreciated.

Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

We visited in mid December with our elderly dog. He got treated like a Lord with treats on a plate in the hallway and laid by the fire. Whilst it rained constantly, this did not change our stay and we were extremely glad we didn't cancel. The food was fantastic, we both couldn't ask for better grub. The beer was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rusty R
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your first review! We're very glad that you came.

Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

After the hustle and bustle of Christmas it was wonderful to spend two nights at this old favourite Inn. Despite the stormy weather and the devastation left by the unprecedented storms the folk of Cumbria were not going to allow their visitors to be disappointed. We left the wind and wet outside when we walked into the warm, cosy, inviting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scousegrannie
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for another great review - you certainly paint a picture. By the way, it's stopped raining!

West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Visited at the time of the floods so only managed a little walk and then we had to head back to the Swinside Inn. Couldn't have asked for a better place to be stranded, lovely food, plenty to drink and friendly staff too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimkimberleee
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review. We were very glad to have you. If you com again, you should find better walking again.

Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

My husband and i visited the swinside inn a week after the flooding in December not sure on what to expect. On our arrival after a clear run from London we were pleased to have arrived to an area clear of flooding. This area was not affected nor the surrounding area that we visited both on foot and by car....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dippe76
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Aww, thank you very much. We all really appreciate the review.

Cramlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2016

Quite a difficult place to find but perfectly placed for walking. The weather was against us high winds and pouring rain. The Lakes have really suffered the past couple of months. We were given a warm welcome and the pub was what you expect in the Lakes. Open fire, beams, but decor, carpets etc needing attention and the smell of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valtona12
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry if it wasn't clear in the booking process that we do allow dogs in all areas - I appreciate that the occasional wet dog smell isn't for everyone

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands Valley
4.6 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,990 reviews
3.6 km away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
570 reviews
5.2 km away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
896 reviews
4.5 km away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
485 reviews
2.7 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional, over 300 year old, lakeland pub,with bed and breakfast rooms. We're a short walk from Derwentwater and the iconic Catbells. Traditional bar with open fire places. The location of this hotel is perfect if you want to explore the lake district, with mountain views from some rooms and all bars. We also have a six bedroom holiday let available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swinside Inn

Address: Newlands Valley, Keswick CA12 5UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Newlands Valley
Price Range: $153 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Swinside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Swinside Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Swinside Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Views in the front would have a lovely valley view...but we only slept in ours so overlooking the back and trees was not a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles KathrynT, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The 'Causey' has just been fixed up so all new and lovely”
 of 5 bubbles Sheila1951, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“For the view stretch a bit and stay in Catbells, plus get the cheese board!”
 of 5 bubbles Jonno1910, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All have views I think, I don't think there's a bad choice.”
 of 5 bubbles 945georgeh, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were in Barrow, and were very disappointed. I am sure there were better rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles GillianP968, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5