We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gwern Borter Country Manor

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Gwern Borter Country Manor
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Gwern Borter Country Manor
See the most recent reviews
Showing 100: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Exceptionally clean and comfortable rooms, was very relaxing and best sleep we have ever had while travelling. Absolutely Fantastic breakfast. Very centrally located and to top it off, fantastic host. Thanks for such a great stay and see you again when we are back in area.

Thank dwayne a
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Parking had limited space and even with 3 cars and some dodgy parking by other guests we got blocked in! Bit of organising there would be plenty of space! One night stay in superior double. Bed so comfortable. Well presented and clean enough. Areas could do with a bit ofa tougerh clean..... No idea what was on bedroom blind. Whole...

Thank itsmeagianhi
east anglia
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Arrived Sunday and was greeted by Gary who showed us around the premises.Stayed in the four poster bedroom.Bed was very comfy and room was clean and well presented.Breakfast over the 5 night stay was perfectly presented and tasted wonderful. We would definitely return again. Thank you for your hospitality.

Thank cjhEastAnglia
Reviewed 17 September 2015

I stayed here on a 2 night trip. On arrival the building looks amazing and set in 10 acres of ground with its own orchard...apples available if you want them. The hall way is wood panelled and decorative and has a real Old Worlde Charm to it.. The superior double rom however was very disappointing. The walnut crown canopy bed...

1Thank Roy B
gwern, Owner at Gwern Borter Country Manor, responded to this review

This room is let as a double room not a suite so the area where your tea/coffee making facilities are was never meant to be another room for you to sit separately. Originally the wardrobe and dressing table (not desk) were a dark walnut but to much brown furniture can be oppressive so we had them sprayed ivory (they are...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015

We were a group of three and we enjoyed an excellent stay.The Hotel is very nice, we had a wonderful attendance there and the emplacement is amazing. Very close to Conway and LLandudno and in the very edge of Snowdonia national park.

Thank Luciafdez
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

This b&b is set in a graceful, largely Victorian manor house. Peaceful garden and hillside views. The furnishings are amazing with antique furniture everywhere. There is a delightful lounge and if the weather is poor there are videos, books and games. Rooms are large and bathrooms cosy but well appointed. Everywhere is very clean and breakfasts are delicious. Excellent value!

1Thank Rod E
Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

V peaceful on doorstep to Snowdonia. Gary, the manager, is full of tips & advice. Breakfast is excellent. A handful of local eateries- Rowen pub, Gwern Dutch Pancakes, ... Gary can point you in the right direction. There's some great walks in Snowdonia & you just need to walk out of the front gate to start!

1Thank Nigel R
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2015

Stunning location close to village of Rowen and Conway. We stayed in the four poster room which was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very good -cereal fresh fruit and full English also choice of vegetarian options. Also a well stocked fridge for drinks at very reasonable prices-just what was needed after along 4 hour walk and to top it...

1Thank p0llyc5
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2015

this B & B was in a lovely setting , every think was fine until we went to bed, I'm not a good sleeper on a first night, on the second night stay found the bed very uncomfortable On checking the mattress the sides hanging off exposing the springs, the top of the mattress all the materiel had disintegrated this...

Thank teddybears2012
gwern, Owner at Gwern Borter Country Manor, responded to this review

Regarding quality this was a very good pocket sprung mattress with a 2 inch memory foam topper covered with a quilted mattress cover and was very comfortable, however cosmetically left something to be desired as the material cover for some reason had frayed on the sides. I thank you for bringing this to my attention. It has been replaced with...

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Quietly located in the Countryside you are assured of a good nights undisturbed sleep. An idiosyncratic but interesting B&B. The host ,Gary helpful to the end. Breakfast was an enormous affair ,setting oneself up for the day . Would stay there again quite happily .

1Thank Onetravelsdoesntone

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (13)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Room/Suite (1)
View from Room (1)
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (3)
Room/Suite (2)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowen
1.0 km away
Tir y Coed Country House
6.0 km away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,297 reviews
4.9 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
The Lodge Conwy
The Lodge Conwy
#1 of 1 in Tal-y-Bont
169 reviews
4.1 km away
Sychnant Pass Country House
1.1 km away
Coed Mawr Hall Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the foothills of the Snowdonia mountains in the beautiful Conwy Valley, close to the sea, there is a special place well known for it's peace and tranquillity. A place to relax and unwind or enjoy the many wonderful facilities that are found within the grounds and in the Snowdonia area. Gwern Borter Manor is a 4 star Country Manor House offering B&B the accommodation comprises of 3 double bedrooms including a Victorian 4 Poster. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gwern Borter Country Manor

Address: Gwern Borter Manor Barker's Lane | Rowen, Rowen, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8YL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Rowen
Price Range: $139 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Gwern Borter Country Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gwern Borter Country Manor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms good”
 of 5 bubbles jricha_237979, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you want a little bit of added romance, ask for the four poster room.. Lovely!”
 of 5 bubbles ajb67, 13 May 2016 | Read review
“WiFi is hit and miss”
 of 5 bubbles 787royb, 17 Sep 2015 | Read review
“wi-fi too feble”
 of 5 bubbles Luciafdez, 17 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Four poster room quiet, clean and comfortable with a small functional en suite. Very good considering the age of the property.”
 of 5 bubbles p0llyc5, 10 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay