We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cocomar Beachfront Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Cocomar Beachfront Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 140: English reviews
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We only spend a night but the service, attentions of the staff, the meals (dinner and breakfast) are delicious! The room was a suite (beachfront view), with a complete kitchen, living room, dining room, bathroom, and two double bed size in the room. There's a/c on both side of the suite. And the sunset view from the balcony was unforgettable!!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SaraLee82
San Diego, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I thought we were lost driving down the dirt road and over the single lane bridge but we were headed the right way. We were greeted warmly and given exceptional treatment. The hotel was not very busy so our room was upgraded. The room was simple yet had everything we needed. It was very clean. You opened the door and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
Pocatello
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived and had to wait for our room as we arrived a bit early. They said the room was ready and so we were taken to our room. We went in and put our things down. The room definitely had not just been cleaned. There was bits of sand in the bed and the bed cover was dirty! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank freedurt
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Cocomar Beachfront Hotel was everything we read and expected from viewing their well put together website and reading other reviews. It met all our expectations and then some. The staff and crew where more than welcoming, friendly, and very helpful. If you are looking for an all inclusive wait on you hand and foot kinda place then Cocomar is not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ginaglenn
Cocomar-Beachfront, Guest Relations Manager at Cocomar Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for the great review. I know that our Manager Chad in particular, and all the Cocomar staff, are dedicated to making guests feel comfortable and welcome, not only at the hotel but when and however we can make them happy with their entire Costa Rica experience.

Concord, North Carolina
Reviewed 16 July 2016

We weren't sure what to think as we wound our way through a ramshackle looking neighborhood and down a dirt road seemingly to nowhere. But once we got to Cocomar Beach Resort, we were greeted by the warmest of smiles and the sound of ocean waves crashing and we knew we had made a good choice. The staff is warm,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pricefam08
Cocomar-Beachfront, Guest Relations Manager at Cocomar Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and Sara (the girl in the office) thanks you for the kind comments. It is our pleasure at Cocomar to make every visitor welcome and happy with their experience. Please visit us again!

Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed my time in Costa Rica. The staff at Cocomar was great & did anything they could for whatever you needed. Well informed on things to do & great connections with them also. Thanks again Chad we didn't get to see you before we left

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
Cocomar-Beachfront, Guest Relations Manager at Cocomar Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice words. Chad, our Manager, does everything he can to make every guest experience a pleasant one. I am sure he wishes he had been able to say goodbye (or until next time) as well.

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff. The tour they recommended was fantastic! Breakfast was yummy. Beautiful room. Super close to the beach. Pretty much had the beach to ourselves. Loved it! Great swimming pool also.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
Cocomar-Beachfront, Guest Relations Manager at Cocomar Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We at Cocomar hope that all our guests have a positive experience. Come back soon!

Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewed 22 June 2016

All the staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make your stay a memorable, pleasant one. The Manager, Chad is fantastic! Victor, his assistant, lent us his hats for an outing since we forgot ours. We saw a family of monkeys (maybe 20 of them) minutes from the hotel coming back one day from an excursion....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 551cynthiaf
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewed 12 June 2016

Wow! Did we enjoy this hotel. I was with my sister and two young adult nieces. We stayed 9 days in room #5 which has a bedroom and bathroom on both sides of a large living/kitchen area. We were on the ground floor with glass doors facing the absolutely beautiful, clean beach. We were usually the only people on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 1tiahlou
Cocomar-Beachfront, Public Relations Manager at Cocomar Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of Cocomar and our Manager Chad Martz I want to thank you for your kind review. You "want to return soon" and we sure would like to be your hosts once again really soon as well! Noel Montagano

Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel around 4PM. Chad, the owner who also works the front desk made us feel like home. He physically walked us to our 2nd floor room. To our surprise, the a/c in our room was not working. After several attempts by the staff to get the a/c working, we were moved to a 1st floor suite,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ernesto A
Cocomar-Beachfront, Guest Relations Manager at Cocomar Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

Sir, thank you for your comments and let me express our disappointment that you did not have a pleasant experience at Cocomar. Might I say that our Manager reacted quickly to find you a different room when the original one had a faulty air conditioner. You found that the sliding doors did not lock. All of our sliding doors have...

299 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (268)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (77)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Seco
1.9 km away
Clandestino Beach Resort
1.0 km away
Beso del Viento
Beso del Viento
#2 of 4 in Parrita
221 reviews
19.9 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
Hotel Playa Bejuco
Hotel Playa Bejuco
#3 of 5 in Esterillos Este
200 reviews
17.4 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,339 reviews
14.8 km away
Delfin Beachfront Resort
Delfin Beachfront Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Bejuco
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a small boutique property with only 20 units and hence very personalized service. We are located on the beach of Isla Palo Seco of Parrita, just two hours from San Jose, Costa Rica with nothing between you and the ocean except a few palm trees. We offer 1, 2 & 3 bedroom units. Anything from a standard hotel room to a full 2,200 sq ft. living area with full kitchen and dining area. Isla Palo Seco is still one of the undiscovered authentic beach destinations unspoiled by loads of tourists, yet has a local community to fulfill basic needs while vacationing. The city of Parrita is a ten-minute drive away and has banks, supermarkets, restaurants, shopping, churches and a medical clinic. There are taxis and bus service to Quepos, Jaco and San Jose. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cocomar Beachfront Hotel

Address: beach of Palo Seco | Beach of Palo Seco, Palo Seco, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Palo Seco
Price Range: $110 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocomar Beachfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cocomar Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cocomar Beachfront Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Charleston, South Carolina
Bridgewater, New Jersey
atenas Costa Rica
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Cocomar Beachfront Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go beach front!”
 of 5 bubbles 170chucks, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a corner room facing the office and it was perfectly fine.”
  • View of office
  • I want this sink! Hand painted ceramic
  • Getting ready to leave
 of 5 bubbles pricefam08, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The suites are roomy and have fantastic views!!”
 of 5 bubbles 551cynthiaf, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms face the beach....we loved our ground level view through our private patio to the beach.....room #5.”
  • The view from room #5 through our private patio to the beach
  • The parking side entry to our room #5
 of 5 bubbles 1tiahlou, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ocean front views in every room”
  • Beautiful beachfront views, lovely to wake up to every morning!
  • My husband and I were here on our honeymoon, we came back to our room and saw this beautiful dis
 of 5 bubbles 788zoeg, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay